We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This very pleasant hotel is just a 10 minute walk away from some main tourist areas or streetcar, or hop-a-bus stops. It is just far enough away to allow Budapest's charm and neighborhood amenities to be available. The local restaurants are great and very affordable compared to the more "touristy" areas. The rooms are very nicely appointed with wifi that actually works. Breakfast is ample and very nicely presented. The staff is very helpful and considerate. Very relaxed atmosphere lends to the overall Budapest experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeneandRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „GeneandRox”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to leave a positive comment on TripAdvisor about your Budapest stay.

I was delighted to read your throughout positive comment of our hotel, location and services. It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,479 - 2,485 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This 4-star property has a wonderful charm from its classic palace refitted with a chic modern interior that works flawlessly. Smart and English proficient front desk personnel give this hotel a wonderful personality. The rooms are spacious with contemporary bathrooms of the latest style.
The Wifi system is excellent, and the only complaint is only two English language television stations. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of tasty choices from various egg dishes to fresh squeezed juices and wonderful breads and pastries. Only downside is that the park across the street did attract some grass smokers and transients. Nice place to stay while touring Buda and Pest.

Room Tip: Hotel has a fixed rate program for taxis to and from the airport and boats on the river which is bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichWoodinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „RichWoodinville”,

Let me thank you for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am truly glad that our hotel, the unique design and our guest rooms could live up to your expectations. I am also pleased that my colleagues with their professionalism and service-minded attitude could make your stay even more pleasant.

Your patronage and your compliments are highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the very first contact we had with the hotel the staff couldn't do enough for us: we had requested a car park space but as they couldn't accommodate us they emailed back with an alternative arrangement two minutes from the hotel; when we got to the hotel we had a warm greeting from the staff who invited us to check in before parking the car; the room was large and comfortable and the shower fantastic. Breakfast is excellent: I recommend the smoked salmon. The hotel is well situated and we were able to see all of the major sights on foot. At just over a hundred Euros per night it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „tmg513”,

Let me thank you for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your recent Budapest-visit and for sharing your experiences with the travelling community.

I was glad to read that you were happy with your hotel choice, it was our pleasure to serve you whilst visiting our beautiful capital. I also would like to thank you for pointing out the favourable location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

a gem of a hotel in a nice neighborhood, with cafes right up the street. It is a little way from the Danube, but only a 10-15 minute walk to the main tourist areas and a couple blocks from the closest streetcar stop. If we went back I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheremike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „sheremike”,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

I was pleased to read that you liked the neighbourhood of our hotel with its nice local bars and restaurants.

I would like to thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We hadn’t been to Budapest before and found it quite difficult to work out which would be the best hotel/area to stay in. In the end, we picked the Palazzo Zichy as it had excellent reviews and had air conditioning and free wi-fi. Even before we arrived, the staff were excellent, helping me with some sightseeing queries and taking a note of our room preferences. We ended up in room 512, a standard double with a lovely view of the church and square opposite. The room was very well appointed though we would have liked a little bit more storage space. The bathroom was great as well, especially the shower and we were very thankful for the air-conditioning. The whole hotel felt like a lovely little oasis of calm in a hot and hectic city and was near to various tram, bus and metro stops which helped us to get around easily. There is also a small supermarket nearby.

The breakfast was also excellent – lots to choose from and constantly replenished by the staff. I would agree that the seating area seemed a little small in relation to the size of the hotel but it was only ever half full when we had breakfast at about 8:30 each day. The free drinks and snacks in the lounge bar were a nice touch, but we only got to make use of them once as the rest of the time we didn’t make it back to the hotel before 5. Since we’ve been back, we’ve had a couple of emails from the hotel, thanking us for our business and referring directly to the comments we made on our feedback form. It’s nice to know that some businesses actually take notice of what you’ve written! All in all, we had a fabulous stay at the Palazzo Zichy and would definitely consider staying there in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „Corinne76”,

First and foremost let me thank you for your generous feedback posted on TripAdvisor. Your kind words and compliments on our staff, facilities and complimentary services are highly appreciated.

I am very grateful for your kind words regarding our customer care, it is indeed our greatest goal to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. It is also very important for us to know how we could meet our guests expectations. I am glad to read that you had been pleased with the service provided by my colleagues throughout your stay.

We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!
The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice in late July early August for a total of 5 nights. Hotel is stylish, rooms are clean, spacious and very well appointed. Location was perfect, in a small quiet side street but not too far (15-20 minute walk) to main tourist attractions. Lots of eateries and bars close by, A sumptuous breakfast was included in the price - the range and quality of foods available for breakfast was outstanding. However, the thing that sets this hotel apart is the quality of the staff. Without exception they were friendly, knowledgeable and keen to assist. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The only drawback for some travelers will be the lack of in-room tea/coffee making facilities and the 10 pm close off for room service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romaxho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „romaxho”,

Thank you so much for your generous review left on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to see that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent enjoyable time in Budapest. It made me especially happy to read that you recognized the professionalism and enthusiasm of our staff.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

We are pleased to stay at your disposal, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

exellent boutique hotel. very clean hotel. the room very clean and the size is o.k
Rich breakfast and tasty , The front desk staff was charming and ready to help with every question. the hotel is about 2 miniutes walk to the tram station ( tram no 4-6 ), and about 5 miniutes to tram station ( tran no 47, 49 ).
If retrieval Budapest definitely return to this hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baron00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,486 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,537 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,553 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $111 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing