We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just come back from 3 nights at the Palazzo Zichy. We booked based on Tripadvisor ratings and we were not disappointed. The hotel was within 5 minutes walk from the Metro but in a quiet square. The reception staff were helpful and welcoming. Room was good, functional city hotel but not small. Free wi-fi in the rooms and all parts of the hotel was an added bonus.

Breakfast was very good, a wide selection of hot and continental, fruit, selection of pastries and sparkling wine on our second day and smoked salmon on the third. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water during the day in the bar.

Near a number of transport links (metro, hop on hop off bus, tram and bus hubs) and within walking distance of many of the main squares and attractions.

Overall the hotel is fantastic value given the small touches,helpful staff and the great location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear „Steve W”,

I am so glad that you have chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on the opinion of our previous guests; it makes me even happier that you experienced the same high standard of the services. Your kind words regarding our rooms, the rich breakfast buffet and our favourable location are highly appreciated.
Let me thank you for your positive comment and I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy again. Please feel free to contact me directly should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,770
    694
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
491
2,746
150
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a fabulous staff, wonderful breakfast, and other amenities. It is within walking distance of many very good restaurants and local attractions. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear „Frank P”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your praising words. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your city break with us and you were pleased with our location. It was our pleasure to host you and we truly hope to meet you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are in our second night of a 3 night stay and would move in a heartbeat.
Despite the great location and friendly staff this hotel has a serious problem with noise.
All that separates you from you neighbours above is a sheet of plaster and a floating timber floor so you will know every move of your neighbours above.
We were woken up on the first night at about 10.30pm when someone either came home or checked in, after complaining we were quickly moved to a new room and that seemed ok. On the second night it was 1.00am in the morning......Who knows what tomorrow night will bring.
Literally you can hear every step and cnversation; when they go to the toilet, have a shower, put down a glass and well.....when they walk with shoes on or move a bag its dreadful.
If you need your sleep I would consider another option despite its seemingly good reviews.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Chris W",

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. I am also happy to have met you in person upon checkout and to have had a chat about your experience.
I have to say that we had a large group of unusually loud people in house and I have to admit that it was a bit challenging for us to control their noise level.
I am truly sorry for the situation and I do apologize for the inconvenience.
I fully understand that this had a negative impact on your stay, but rest assured that we take every complaint very seriously and we will do our best in the future to react faster in order to ensure a relaxing time for all of our guests.
In case there is anything I could do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly anytime at ibogyo@hpz.hu

Best regards,
Istvan Bogyo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel last week for one night. The hotel is exactly what we like. Fashionable design, clean, quiet, downtown... Only to be paid a little more attention to the room bar because there was no beer in it. Also the hotel has no restaurant, but it is not a problem because the surrounding streets are full of excellent restaurants.
Good thing is that we parked our car in the underground garage in a neighboring street for only 8.5 euros.
There was no noise from the street because the aluminum windows of excellent quality. Digital air conditioner works perfectly and at the same time does not matter because it is located high under the ceiling
Bathroom was great, modern, newly design and a mattress were very hard what we love. There is free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel.
All in all, we paid 79 euros for a room for two with breakfast + 8.5 for the garage, which is by far the best deal we found. Do not forget to mention, the breakfast buffet is one of the best we've ever had, including the more expensive and better-known hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obrad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear „Obrad L”,

Let me take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor travellers.
I was delighted to learn from your kind comment that our hotel met or even exceeded your expectations in all aspects. Your kind words are highly appreciated and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again, and next time you will stay with us longer than one night!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with a friend for 2 nights. It was about 200 euros in total. Very beautiful hotel in the heart of Budapest's Jewish district. Its located in a relatively quiet street. It came with a great buffet breakfast for both of us. location is great, walking distance to all major tourist sites. The staff were very helpful and attentive. I would recommend this to any traveler going to Budapest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erics0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear „Erics0n”,

I can not be grateful enough for your kind words and compliments; let me thank you for your generous review left on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to read that you found our location to be perfect for a sightseeing weekend and you enjoyed our rich breakfast buffet. Let me thank you for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and I hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

a real gem of a hotel with great staff, huge rooms,decent location and the BEST freshly made croissants i have ever had for breakfast( just request the server to ask the chef to make them fresh for you)....this hotel is incredible value for the price that you pay- well designed,understated and in my book miles ahead of the four seasons which looks tired and kitschy in comparison....cannot recommend it enough...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritu617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear „ritu617”,

First and foremost let me thank you for generous comment left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I highly appreciate your kind words and compliments. I am glad that our hotel could meet your expectations in all aspects, and you liked especially our breakfast service.
I am so glad that you saved great memories about our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,801 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing