We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations and superior staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and superior staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Our room was spacious, especially the bathroom. Unlike most hotel rooms, ours was very dark and we had an excellent sleep, inspire of being situated just above the main street. The reception staff was very helpful, even to the point of helping us find city offices we needed to contact for information. They were most patient and friendly. Excellent breakfast, though a bit crowded in the breakfast room. We loved the elegance and convenience of the public rooms. Be sure to visit the statue just outside to learn more about the original owner of the palace.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bocajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „bocajane”,

I am so glad that you have chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on the opinion of the travelling community and you spent a great time with us.
I was especially happy to read that you slept well and liked the size and the design of the room. Your kind words regarding our staff and the brekfast service are highly appreciated.
It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we could do for you.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,895
    720
    74
    7
    2
See reviews for
505
2,839
155
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

everything was OK ,first of all very kind people at the reception desk,the room,cleanliness
we'll be back!The Palazzo is also located in a very pleasant area,nearby museums,restaurants,gardens metro and buses

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383christianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „383christianb”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we do hope to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had 6 nights in a superior room on the 1st floor looking out to the front. Location is ideal for the city centre and public transport. The inital wow factor when entring the grand foyer and receiving a warm welcome couldn't be sustained once we got to our room. Let me say firstly that this is a hotel of 2 parts - the public areas and the private areas. The former are stunning including the internet room on a mezzanine above the bar and the sunken breakfast room under a glass ceiling. On these alone I can understand some of the superb reviews on here for this hotel. Price was excellent as was the whole booking experience direct.

But all is now what it seems in the room - 1. very noisy plumbing (I can accept that in an old building which this is but when so much has been spent in decor and furnishings couldn't something have been done to insulate the sounds of people doing their business all through the night?):2. bad sound insulation (we could hear every time a glass was put down on the sink next door as if it was in our own room): 3. a bathroom that was very 3 star - sure it was fully tiled but the floor flooded when the shower was operated and the controls for the shower were the most complicated I had come across when all you want really is a reliable and powerful shower at the end of a long day sightseeing; 4. light switches all over the place operating the host of light displays but try reading in bed without all the lights on and you'll struggle: 5. no tea/coffee-making facilities - there are free hot/soft drinks to 5pm in the bar but after that you are charged and there is a 10% service charge! Finally, we seemed to have random furniture which didn't seem to fit the room like a dining table with 2 benches in the (lovely) bay window. Just trying too hard to be a boutique hotel and it didn't come off in my view.

Breakfast was good and varied and the option of squeezing your own fruit juice was a simple but very satisfying idea. The room does get very busy around 9am and it really is not big enough for peak periods but the staff battle on to get everyone seated. The contrast between 8.15am and 9am is considerable. Location, price, breakfast and public areas warrant 4/5 stars but on room set-up, shower and sleep quality I'm not convinced and they would be lucky to get 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skelghyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „skelghyl”,

First and foremost let me thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences with the travelling community; your balanced review is highly appreciated.
I was glad to read that you spent enjoyable days in Budapest, and you liked the public areas of our hotel and our breakfast service as well.
However, I regret to learn from your comment that the design and overall the facilities of the room did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank you for your note and I truly hope that despite of this we will have the pleasure to hosting you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is hard to imagine a place like this without tripadvisor. Thanks to tripadvisor, the hotel can invest in the best marketing - providing the perfect service and quality.
I traveled with my wife and 1 year old baby for 1 week, and we were delighted staying at palazzo Zichy.
Baby cot was arranged for us for all the stay. The reception staff is super-super-super nice and helpful, always with a smile on their faces. Breakfast is very good, and the room is super-clean, and designed very nicely.

Thanks for a lovely stay,
Itay Ortal & Yahav from Israel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaycohentevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Itay Ortal and Yahav,

I can not be grateful enough for your kind words and for your generous review left on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you and your family spent an enjoyable week at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and my colleagues provided you with an exceptional service throughout your stay.
I would like to thank you for your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future. The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time. Please do not hesitate to conct us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just as described the hotel was brilliant. We booked this hotel following reviews from Trip Advisor. Would definitely recommend! The breakfast was really nice offering quite a large variety. The lobby bar offered free water & coffee up untill 17:30 which we found really handy. Free wifi facility for the whole of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montanna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „Montanna13”,

I am glad to read that you have been happy with your hotel choice after reading the reviews about our Hotel Palazzo Zichy on TripAdvisor.
Your kind words regarding our hotel, the facilities and our complimentary services are highly appreciated. It was our pleasure to serve you and I hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked based on great trip advisor reviews and wan't let down. Beautiful hotel, great rooms, super friendly staff, good location. Inclusive breakfast was the best i have had, it got me out of bed after a few rough nights. One of my best hotel experiences and very reasonably priced. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „Quincy F”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to recommending us to the travelling community.
I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest. Your kind feedback regarding our rich buffet breakfast is also highly appreciated.
It was our pleasure to be at your assistance and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent three nights in March 2013 at the Palazzo Zichy. It was just as described by the many Tripadvisor members. The staff really makes the difference. Karolina was exceptional at the front desk with answers to questions and making sure all of our needs were met. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the breakfast is one of best from our many European hotel stays, and attention to details are unsurpassed. We stayed in room 508, a Junior suite, overlooking the Church spires. A beautiful view. No complaints here, only praise.

Room Tip: Room 508 overlooks the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear „sae”,

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your city break in Budapest and our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and the services provided by our staff, especially by Karolina met or even exceeded your expectations. Your kind words and compliments are highly appreciated, a special thank you for highlighting the quality of our breakfast buffet.
It would be our greatest pleasure to have the opportunity to welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, should your plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,234 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,031 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing