We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #3 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a 5* hotel banded as 4* as it doesnt have a restaurant.We were upgraded as it was my birthday and there was a welcome card and fruit in our stunning room.Very large room with an enormous bed.Beautiful bathroom with lovely toiletries.The staff are so frindly and helpful.The breakfasts to die for.The atmoshere is relaxed as are all the staff.They have transformed an old noblemans palace into a stylish hotel retaining the history.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor room 520...large room and enormous bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trisha28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,628
    672
    67
    7
    2
See reviews for
466
2,645
146
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from 29th January and had a wonderful time.
I chose the hotel due to it's top rating on Tripadvisor and the hotel and it's staff exceeded all expectations.
We transferred from the Airport using a shuttle service, being met in the arrivals hall and then transferring to the hotel for 18 Euros for a private transfer.
At the hotel we received a warm welcome and stayed in room 111 which overlooked a small square to the front of the hotel.
We took advantage of the complimentary free tea/coffee and water until 5p.m. in the bar area and then went out.
We bought a hop on hop off bus ticket from the reception staff which cost 5000 HUF and gave you 2 days bus travel and a free 1hour Danube river cruise.
On the second day we went to Szechenyi Thermal Spa by bus, getting off at stop number 6 on Heroes Square.
On day of checkout the staff will store your suitcases free of charge.
We ate one night at an Italian Restaurant not far from the hotel called Trattoria Venezia, where they do fantastic pizzas.
On the second night we went to a little restaurant called Darsham Etterem, which is a few yards from the hotel and had a very nice meal. Overall we found that Budapest offers very good value for money when eating out.
Opposite the hotel is a small cellar bar/pub called Kamra Klub, where we went and this place is very friendly and the drinks are ridiculously cheap, paying £1.00 for a pint of Tuborg and the same for a large glass of wine !
The hotel has a wellness Centre downstairs and a small gym. We used the Sauna which was very good and not at all busy.
The breakfast as has already been said was excellent with a super choice of cereals, hot cooked items, pastries, breads etc.
We have stayed in many 4* hotels in the UK and abroad and this is amongst the nicest, cleanest and friendliest we have visited. The hotel building itself has been restored to a very high standard and is immaculately kept. The outstanding staff helped make this a very enjoyable stay. We would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was beautiful from top to bottom! It's in a quiet area of town, but close to anything and everything.
The breakfast was delightful - lots of fruit, pastries, cold cuts and juices.
The best part was the hotel staff. They were absolutely perfect!!!! Very friendly and helpful.
Only problem was that the rooms weren't soundproofed, so we were woken up early every morning by the cleaning ladies - don't let this deter for you from staying here though. Just a minor detail.
Great value for your money; would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This place hits a lovely balance of palatial and pared-back boutique.
You'll land in a very grand entranceway and reception area, that makes checking in feel quite momentous.
The regular rooms are not big, but they are pleasingly laid out, carefully dressed and impeccably maintained.
The breakfast room — in a kind of sunken pit with an atrium-full of light above — is buzzy and comfortable. The buffet has it all.
There's a cocktail bar off reception, with couches and newspapers and good coffee.
Beyond breakfast the food offering is limited, but there are plenty of good options locally. And it's possible to order food from a neighbour's restaurant, to eat in your room or in the bar. Not much for veggies though.
The staff are courteous, warm, and exceptionally helpful. Late checkout, for example, was easy to arrange and cost nothing extra.
Terrific hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dylancotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel, well-renovated. Great service -- we didn't have many requests, but they met all of them cheerfully and promptly, and really tried to make sure we enjoyed our visit to Budapest. They'll lend you umbrellas when the weather's lousy, and they left a short apologetic note for the inconvenience when we asked them to replace a burnt-out light bulb, which they did almost immediately despite the fact we said we'd be out all evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hh_drw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our reminiscences exceeded our expectation. We were very pleased by extremely lovely and helpful stuff, perfect service, wonderful interior. The exeptional service made my stay memorable and special. I hope to come again very soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monika236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend.

We got a very good deal on a room but unfortunately after the first night we asked if we could move.

Although our room was lovely and comfortable it was baking hot (we think it must have been above a kitchen or some kind of boiler). We told the staff and they were very apologetic but could do nothing about the heating (as they were in Winter mode for the entire hotel) and recommended we open a window. This would have been fine however we were on the ground floor and facing onto a road - which although not busy - did mean that there were loud cars and motorbikes speeding past - and the smell of fumes.

The next morning we asked to be moved and they were unbelievably efficient and we were given an upgrade - and boy what an upgrade. Our 2nd and 3rd nights were spent in incredible luxury - the biggest bed I have ever seen and a spa bath. They did not have to treat us so well but the fact that they could and that they did is testament to how lovely this hotel and its staff are.

The breakfasts (and the setting - with the courtyard rising above you) was very good and sets one up for a good day of city exploring.

Even though the first room was frankly not fit for purpose everything after this completely made up for it.

If you do stay here just make sure you are not on the ground floor - or if you are then get a room facing into the courtyard - not out onto the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#4 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing