We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel should be rated as a 3 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sint-Katelijne-Waver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This hotel should be rated as a 3 star hotel.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel jas a nice lobby, the building is gorgeous the staff is very attentif but...
Rooms are small, there are no bathrobes, the matras is extremely hard.
No eye for the details, like plants? The right lightning. The small details are missing. Therefore its more a 3 star then a 4 star. Breakfast is good and the hotel very clean but you will have to take a taxi to get to center it costs about 7 euro.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Syl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,809
    700
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
498
2,767
154
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We took a risk of staying away from the center of the city and stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy which is tucked away in District 8, as we had read great reviews for this hotel on tripadvisor. Our stay was wonderful. Not only was the hotel good looking but was accompanied by equally great service. The staff was always friendly, had tips and suggestions on things to do...helped with anything from how to get to any place, what to see, ... where to buy Hungarian Currency at good rates! They also suggested a lovely place for dinner close by with authentic Hugarian Cuisine that my husband loved...! The two times that we wanted something in the room...it was delivered like a breeze.

I just wish we had room with a better view considering there was a beautiful church right next door! We stayed in room 503 which only looks out to some vague building...

And the only reason I may be tempted to try another hotel on my next visit to this city is to find something closer to the city center or facing the Danube River..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsgMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear „nsgMumbai”,

We are so glad that you had granted us with the opportunity to host you whilst visiting Budapest in December 2012. I was delighted to see that our Hotel Palazzo Zichy could live up to your expectations; I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our greatest goal is to make our guests’ stay as pleasant and memorable as possible, so your compliments regarding our staff are highly appreciated. These really show us that it is worth to work wholeheartedly.
Let me thank you again for staing with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Palazzo Zichy is located in a quiet yet rather central neighborhood in the Pesht side side of Budapest. The hotel used to be a nobleman's residence and it has been converted into a very modern and stylish hotel. The decor is quite remarkable as it is very distinctively modern, yet has some touches with historically accurate details.

We arrived early, and while our room was not ready yet, we were invited to rest in the lounge area and help ourselves to the many offerings, including mineral water, all sorts of coffees, fruits, and nuts. We were able to then leave our suitcases in storage, and strolled to the nearby Museum of Applied Arts. It is a short walk from Palazzo Zichy Hotel, and the building itself is very remarkable with its green tiled roof. Palazzo Zichy is also within walking distance of the Hungarian National Museum, which is an imposing building with an impressive collection. There are also subway/metro stops near each of the two museums, meaning that metro is also within walking distance of Palazzo Zichy Hotel.

There are quite a few restaurants in the neighborhood, some of which are touristy, while others are not. Having said this, Palazzo Zichy is located within a very authen tic residential neighborhood that is both quiet and central.

Our room was more like a suite with a bedroom area and a living room area. The bathroom was immensely large, had a jacuzzi, and very stylish red details. Overall, the room exuded modern chic, and everything appeared to be newly redone. The wi-fi connection was quite decent and dependable.

With all the upscale elements present in the hotel decor, it was the service that was so superb it managed to impress even more than the ambiance. The front desk ladies (particularly Sofia) were so willing and ready to help. They even offered to prepare take-away breakfasts as we had a very early morning departure, and so on the morning we were leaving they handed each of us lovely bags fully packed with various breakfast items, and we could get coffee from the lounge area to take with us. They did all of this with such effortless grace that made you want to come back to Budapest and stay at Palazzo Zichy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy for 5 nights in December 2012. Before we even arrived at the hotel the concierge were able to provide us with reccomendations and advice for our trip! This hotel is in a great location (just minutes from everything). When we arrived they advised us that they had been able to meet our request of a room looking at the front of the hotel. As this was a trip for my birthday my partner had emailed the hotel to mention this and they had left a lovely note and a beautiful bowl of fruit! Perfect after travelling! The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was great, after coming in from the cold you just had to press it to come on and the room was heated pretty much instantly!! Breakfast was really good at the hotel and at the weekend they had sparkling wine! The free hot drinks and water facility is great also! The staff at the hotel were really helpful and all spoke English. They made taxi and restaurant bookings for us. The cleanliness of the hotel is one thing that stuck out for us, there were toilets situated downstairs from the lobby and I do not actually think that they could get any cleaner! Top class hotel and if we return to Budapest we will be definitely staying at Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th Floor overlooking the front of the hotel. No issues with sound apart from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Omi_Maj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel provides excellent value for money, you are paying budget prices for top quality service. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and thought it was amazing. Rooms are clean and spacious, the location is central and we managed to walk to all attractions in Pest within 45 mins. Breakfasts are great, everything you could possibly want is on offer, and very delicious! The service is also of a higher standard than the price suggests, the staff will endeavour to help you with any requests, for example extra pillows brought up within minutes of asking. If you want a great quality stay in Budapest at considerably lower prices than the big name hotels, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115 and had an excellent view over the square, with no street noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia-Gill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Palazzo Zichy is a boutique hotel near the downtown area of Pest. It is close to extensive public transport and is quite a new property, fitted out with beautiful design. The tariff, which is extremely reasonable in low season, includes a very good buffet breakfast, both continental and American. The rooms themselves are a little on the snug side but are well outfitted. The hotel boasts a fitness area (no pool) a good bar and a lounge to relax in on the entry level. All of the desk staff are courteous and speak very good English. Although this was a very comfortable hotel, there were some things that could be improved upon. There really should be in room coffee/tea for hotel of this caliber, and the heating system in my room was temperamental. In the dining room, the cutlery has thin handles which makes it look elegant but almost impossible to hold for comfortable eating. But the food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

lovely hotel in a quiet, yet rather central street.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful: recommended us several restaurants, left the wellness area open longer on our request.
The breakfast was delicious, service was freindly and prompt. On one of the days there was a bit of a rush hour, but the staff managed to solve the problem swiftly.
The room is lovely: shower bein my favorite part. The only dowside for me were the pillows: a bit too small and uncomfortable.
The lounge had a nice atmosphere. Wellness area was nicely done.
Next time I am in Budapest, I'll stay at Palazzo again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
873 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,880 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing