We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

After booking this hotel for a city break, myself and my partner were very excited by all the fantastic reviews on here, and it's safe to say that this hotel lived up to every single one of our expectations.
The rooms were gorgeous, the staff were amazing; nothing was too much trouble! We took advantage of the free breakfast in bed on our last morning and it was lovely. The bar that opens at 5pm made made some of the best cocktails we've ever had, and during the day, there is a free coffee, tea and water service which was a lovely touch.
The battery on our card reader in the door needed changing and the staff were fantastic, because of the small inconvience they upgraded us to another room and couldn't have been mpre apologetic if they tried (even though it wasn't their fault at all!) they even sweetened the deal with giving us some free drinks at the bar!
The hotel was ideally located for seeing all the sights (we did walk most places) and close to some lovely restaurants.
This hotel is hugely deserving of the ratings its recieved; we struggle to see how anyone could have a bad experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank Deya L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „Deya L”,

Let me thank you for your praising words and for your generous review left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the battery of the door lock once again; I am glad that my colleagues could solve the problem quickly.
It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again!
Please do not hesitate to contact us should your plans bring you back to our beautiful capital.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,773
    696
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
491
2,748
151
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Palazzo Zichy and it was wonderfull, it's one of the best hotels we stayed in.
Rooms are very very clean, the service is EXCELLENT , the staff working there are very hospitable and kind... WE LOVED IT. everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „B S”,

First and foremost let me thank you for taking your time to leave a positive comment about your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, it was our pleasure to serve you whilst visiting Budapest. I was especially happy that our hotel and the staff could live up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your plans bring you back to our beautiful capital!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jutland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Palazzo Zichy was fantastic. The hotel was spotless, lovely decor, very appealing, and the hotel staff were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful, especially the girls on reception.
The safe in the room is huge and can easily accomodate a full size laptop computer. I had a slight issue with the safe (its electronic), and the receptionist was there literally 2 minutes later sorting it out, on the phone with the technician. It took her a while, and for my inconvenience I was given a free drink in the bar :)
The breakfast buffet catered for ALL tastes.. from breakfast cereals, fresh fruit, salad items, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, bread and pastries, fresh juices, bacon, eggs, sausage, vegs etc to champagne.
The fitness room is very small, but the equipment is good quality. Didnt try the sauna but the wellness room looked really good.
We found it easy to walk to most locations from the hotel, again, with helpful tips from the receptionists :) I would definitely stay there again.
We took a travel kettle so we could make coffee in the room, although the hotel provide free coffee and mineral water in the lounge until 5pm every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ishish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „ishish”,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was happy to see that you liked our rich buffet breakfast as well as the guestroom. I was also delighted to read that you have been pleased with the location of the hotel. Let me thank you again for your kind comment. We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice new designed hotel. The hotel offer excellent service and everything is almost perfect. Also the rooms were very good designed in a very modern stile. The staffs in the reception were very service-minded and talked very good English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riisandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „riisandersen”,

First and foremost let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community.
I was happy to see that our hotel and the services provided by our staff met or even exceeded your expectations.
It would be our greatest pleasure to serving you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, please do not hesitate to contact us, should your travel plans bring you back to our capital city!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fab hotel in a good location. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Very clean comfortable room, huge bed and very nice bathroom with good shower. Good choice of breakfast, with a good variety of hot and cold food options. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulGHeysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „PaulGHeysham”,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I was glad to read that our staff provided you with an excellent service throughout your stay and you liked our location. Your kind comment on our breakfast service is highly appreciated.
Thank you very much for your patronage and I sincerely hope to meet you in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the future again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

As per the other reviews the Palazzo Zichy is a great hotel in a good location. Could not fault it & would thoroughly recommend. Breakfast is very good - lovely coffee (not the usual stewed rubbish you get in hotels). The all day tea & coffee facility in the bar is also a good idea & a nice touch. Staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent hotel all round and deserves the good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkers-Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear „Walkers-Wombourne”,

I am so happy that you have chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy encouraged by the TA travellers and you did not leave our hotel disappointed.
It means a lot for us if we receive such comments, like yours, as it is our greatest goal to keep or even to improve the high standard of our services.
Let me thank you for your kind words and for your patronage. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel is located not in the save area. There is a darkness around this place.
I have no idea why I have chosen this place, I could stay in the mortuary.
From the 4 star brand hotel in Eastern Europe I would expect more. In my previous stay in Prague I have got a very nice large room.
I do not enjoying drinking coffee or tea downstairs even is it is for free, why? Because I have to go downstairs and I have only time till 5 pm. Under staff Should not be the guys problem , if management like to Save some money than they should find saving somewhere else. This experience is so far the worst from this part of Europe, in my opinion this place has long way to achieve some basic from British Standards.
My advice for you future guest of this place : do not stay There!


Main Disappointments :
First floor ( I requested the hight floor room and I got it on the first).
No welcoming letter.
No complements from the hotel in the room.
No stationary in the room.
No city guide.
No concierge.
No upgrade offered.
Small room for 2 people
Small TV les than 16inch
Not enough English tv. ( except news channels)
No bath, just a shower.
No security on the window ( feel free to jump)
Not working air condition in the room.
No kettle
No tea
No coffee in the room.
No security in the hotel.
No bellboy service.
No room service menu in the room.

Room Tip: I would suggest to stay on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DavidLondon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Flesch, General Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

It indeed is our goal to fulfil or even exceed our clients’ expectations; however, I am sincerely sorry that we could not meet yours.

I believe that the type of our property does not suit your personal taste and needs. Despite of this I wish we had been able to have a discussion of your problems upon arrival or during your stay. I am convinced that we would have been able to find solutions for some of them and provide you information about existing services that you were missing.

I hope that despite of the negative impressions you had a good time in Budapest and you were able to enjoy your city break.

Best regards,

Gabor Flesch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,814 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing