We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't go wrong.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hands down the best hotel in the category I have ever been to. I don't care for gyms and swimming pools as much as I do for clean, comfortable and updated bedrooms , bathrooms, and facilities. Their breakfast is also incredible, with espresso machines (courtesy coffee and water are also available all day long), juicer, at least three varieties of eggs, cheese, fruit, breads, cakes, greens, you name it. Walking to the chain bridge took us ~15 minutes, but the Jewish quarter, ruin bars, and restaurant strip are only ~5 minutes away. There is a subway station nearby but we never bothered going there. We walked pretty much everywhere from the hotel. We had early departure flights but the staff had breakfast packed for us! About the staff I will just say that they alone are a great reason to come back. And I will.

Room Tip: This is a quiet neighborhood and there are no panoramic views or anything, but we were at room 305 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,850
    705
    73
    7
    2
See reviews for
503
2,800
154
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is difficult to find a fault with the Palazzo Zichy. It is located in a peaceful area of Budapest, around 20 minutes walk to the city centre but close to numerous transport options. We walked around to most places as it was really quite enjoyable to walk through the streets and didn't take very long. The hotel itself is located on a cobble-stone street surrounded by lovely old buildings but is extremely modern and comfortable on the inside. The rooms and bed were quite comfortable, despite having 2 single mattresses instead of one large double as requested. Bathrooms extremely modern with large rain shower heads. The hotel staff were very quick to assist us with any of our requests which was appreciated. Checking in and out was very straightforward and breakfast in the mornings is excllent, with a full selection of hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes. Overall we had a fantastic stay in Budapest and were very happy with our hotel choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Historic building with modern decor. Exceptional customer service with great attention to detail. I booked this hotel for 4 nights for my Husband's 50th Birthday and it did not disappoint. If we visit Budapest again this is where we will stay without a doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We paid so little in comparison to the amenities we received. This place really was a palace and you get that feeling when you enter the lobby which kind of takes your breath away. The place is more than just a design hotel, its a real luxury hotel at a bargain price. The breakfast alone is worth half that price, with smoked salmon, fresh squeezed juice, about 10 kinds of bread and pastry, fresh fruit and great coffee. The rooms are fine and bathrooms are brand new. Staff snaps to attention when you enter the lobby and generously offers you information. Its in a great location too, on a peaceful little plaza but in the heart of the city, near tram, metro, restaurants, etc. I'd go back to Budapest just to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
356 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights here and the hotel was excellent in every aspect. Nice friendly checkin , we were 3 hours early but our room was available. Very smart modern room ,great bathroom , great bed and very tastefully furnished. The buffet breakfast here is again excellent with numerous choices of cold meats, cheeses,smoked salmon ,eggs ,bacon, great fruit section and all usual breakie options with the staff constantly topping up all the selections.Another nice touch is the free Wifi that even has a strong signal in your rooms with the addition a free to use computer lounge are with 4 pcs and a printer. Free coffee , teas and bottles of water till 5 pm in the bar area. The location of the hotel we found excellent as it just a short stroll Kalvin and then you can use the metro or trams but we chose to walk to most sights as it really was all close enough to reach. We found every aspect of this hotel excellent in every way, the location, all the members of staff, the room and sleep quality as its easy to sleep in as the curtain blackout the rooms and you do not here a sound, the quality of the breakfast and free coffee and waters and free room safe. Total faultless stay and so cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

You have read the other reviews, and yes it is that good. I was fortunate to get a great deal on a junior suite, which was fantastic, king size bed, jacuzzi bath separate shower excellent. Staff and service is excellent on our arrival I was informed we had one of the best rooms in the hotel, due to the price I paid I wasnt too sure what to take of this comment until we seen the room. The reception who said it was correct it was a fantastic room, no problems with noise. Location was within walking distance of many restaurants and by eating local to here was a lot cheaper than the centre. You can walk into the centre in about 20minutes, although this is dependent on were you consider the centre. Trams, underground within 5 minute walk. Airport is approximate 1hour via underground and 200E bus and cost about £1.50each or taxi about £20

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 176Bluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Modern hotel in an old building. Excellent rooms, though quite small. Staff, particularly female receptionists and catering staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent location .Everywhere within walking distance but still feels it is in Budapest not an anonymous modern centre. Loved Budapest and its bridges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susa029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing