We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

i was really impressed by the design of this hotel. the reception. the lobby, the rooms..then i must say that the employees are really polite and helpful. the rooms are little small, but not the bathroom. usually it is the other way around.it is a very clean hotel and the location is not very far from the center.
breakfast offers a great choice of products and i have to note that coffee, tea and water are free till 5.00pm on the lobby area.
a great choice in a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitsopoulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,058 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights over the Easter holiday, the choice for our stay was either The Boscolo or here, we couldn't agree, no surprise!! As I had selected the destination, Mrs MM choose the hotel.The hotel is a steady walk, from the centre of the city.

On reflection, a good choice, the hotel in a converted Count's Palace, the interior is tastefully modern.

The service and the greeting at reception were first class, staff were cheerful and unassuming, this contrasted slighty with the bar staff, who lacked some oomph and zeal. There were free refreshments available in the lounge until late afternoon.

The room was large, we were located on the fifth floor with a view of the small square in which the hotel is located.The furnishings were modern and sleek.There was only a shower in the bathroom, it was a drench shower which resulted in us drying the floor everytime we used it!! The bed was exceptionally firm, in fact, it was too hard, it took a 20 minute walk each morning to get the stiffness out of my back, the old back is a problem.The relative comfort of the bed is of massive importance, it is difficult for any hotel to meet the sleeping whim of every traveller. A choice of pillows is one thing, varying styles of mattress is something else, given a choice a firmer mattress is a better option.

Breakfast was an abundant and busy affair. There was a vast selection of hot and cold dishes,every morning the room was full, there was an overspill located near the main breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was great. The service was great and the rooms were modern and spotlessly clean. Breakfast also good, variety of things available including lots of different types of fresh bread.There are some bars with outdoor seating doing good food a very short distance away. Metro close by for getting around town though we preferred to walk. Budapest is quite spread out though so metro best if you don't like walking long distances. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We were upgraded free of charge because they weren't full and the room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MONKEY0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very impressive clean lines and soft lighting in the lobby areas. Nice bar, with free coffee, tea and water until 5:00 PM. Rooms are small, ultra modern and immaculately clean. The staff is extremely helpful. (Zsofia was of great assistance in booking massages and admission to the baths.) Breakfast consisted of a wide variety of fresh and high quality foods. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Originally posted a review in the Budapest Forum. Palazzo Zichy was a great hotel choice. Comfortable room, great location and friendly staff. I have stayed at many hotels that include a breakfast with the room. But none as good as this breakfast. Choices of cereal, breads, pastries, coffee (also de-caf), meats cheeses, fruits both fresh and canned, yogurts with fruit and also plain, fried eggs, bacon sausage,omelets. On Saturday ans Sunday morning there was even champagne. Very often it is necessary to check out before breakfast to catch a flight at the airport, the PZ offered and provided a sack breakfast of a cheese sandwich, ham sandwich, yogurt, an apple the size of a softball, ans a bottle of water. Great place to stay. Read my review also in the Budapest forum as there is more.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in over 50 years of travel to Europe and 10 trips to Budapest

Room Tip: This hotel has very tastefully done minimalist decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Budapest, and walking distance to many attractions and shops. The lobby and rooms are breathtaking, and very well designed. Breakfast was the best I've ever seen at any hotel, and included a 'squeeze your own juice' option, several different hot and cold choices, and just about anything you could want. Internet worked well, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. My two complaints are (1) the bed was very hard, without much padding between you and the mattress, and (2) getting into the parking garage with anything but a compact car would be impossible (I had about one inch on either side of my car driving through the archway leading to parking). These negatives would not prevent me from returning to this hotel. I did not have a chance to visit the spa, but it looked like their spa services were exceptionally well-priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkmerrifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,486 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,537 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,553 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $111 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing