We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #35 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Our honeymoon in Hotel Castle Garden was really marvelous. The hotel is in a charming surrounding, you can reach the castle district with 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff is very helpful and the food in the restaurant was very delicious. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear Olga073,

thank you for your valuable review. It is a great honour for us that you chose our hotel for your Honeymoon. We are happy that you were satisfied with our services, thank you for the kind words. We wish you many happy years with your husband, and we do hope that you will choose our hotel again -maybe at your Wedding Anniversaries.
With best regards
Geza Fejes - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    264
    26
    14
    2
See reviews for
106
402
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Lovely hotel with nice, friendly rooms,the staff was polite. The restaurant is very good! Castle district is just 5 minute walking distance, it's a really beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoody1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear Valued Guest cmoody1972,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your Budapest stay, and also tanks for sharing your experiences with the readers of Tripadvisor. We are glad to have met your expactations, and we could make your holiday good here in Budapest. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.
With best regards
Geza Fejes - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

When I arrived in this hotel I was disappointed pleasantly, the staff was receiving kindly, was competent, and everything was superb, I found a mistake in nothing. this was my best travels. thank you for the hotel's staff :)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear Alice186338,

thank you fro your kind words regarding our services. We really appreciate that you shared your positive experiences with the travel community of Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel at your next stay in Budapest.
With best regards
Geza Fejes- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had reservations here for almost a year based on reviews from various websites. We were greatly anticipating a lovely, small hotel experience. On arrival the room wasn't ready, which was fine because we were early (2pm). So we had lunch at the restaurant. The food at the hotel was good. Then we were shown our room. The room had several large stains on the carpet leading to the beds. The chair had a large stain. The walls had long black marks along them. The traffic could be heard from the street outside. That problem can be solved by turning on the heating unit throughout the night . When asked to see another room Sylvia was very nice and did show us a double room which was available and clean. Unfortunately we needed twin beds and we were told no other room of that type was available. Sylvia and one other person who worked in the restaurant were very nice. The rest of the staff was courteous most of the time but very cold. One person was rude when asked a question that most travelers need the answer to. We felt insulted and uneasy being in the shabby, dirty room. The staff wasn't , for the most part, welcoming. We were extremely disappointed after reading so many positive reviews and having had kind e-mail exchanges though out the year. This was our second trip to Budapest. We travel extensively and have been in and seen many hotels, pensions, resorts etc. around the world so we feel we know what to expect at a minimum and what we didn't receive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caracat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in the middle of a 2 week holiday. It is a great location right near to Castlehill and despite being a long walk from Pest it is only a 5 min walk to the underground/metro system.

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and kind throughout our stay.

Our room was lovely as we were fortunate enough to get one of the balcony rooms - which I'd recommend if you can get it.

The restaurant food was exceptionally good - I'd particularly recommend the goose. It was very well priced for such excellent quality.

A small quibble would be that our room wasn't serviced one of the days we were there but the reception staff were quick to provide us with anything that we needed.

However, my major quibble would be over the way the hotel handled our bill. We'd been told our rate included breakfast but then an extra charge was added for breakfast when we came to check out. The other part is that they quote the room cost in Euros but you're charged in HUF, you're very much at the mercy of their exchange rate on the day you depart.

We were told we'd have got a discount for cash but they didn't tell us this until we were paying and we didn't have enough cash.

My recommendation would be to get a quote from them for your room rate in HUF not Euros and then ensure you've cash to pay for the room and also any meals you have in the restaurant (they levy a 10% charge for meals charged to room or card).

All this being said, it is a great hotel and I'd still recommend it but with the above words of caution.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Jilly1970,

thank you that you chose our hotel and also thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! It is always very important to know the opinion of our guest (even if it is not so positive) because this is the only way to provide the best possible services.
So thank you for sharing your negative experiences with us. Regarding the breakfast charge: my colleagues always check the reservations as we have breakfast included and beakfast excluded rates, but sometimes we make mistakes. If you do not mind, please send me a short e-mail to the geza.fejes@castlegarden.hu address with your name and I can investigate whether we charged a breakfast rate "officially" or not. If we make a trouble we will recharge this amount of course. Regarding the credit card charging: we can charge the credit cards in our local currency, the Hungarian Forint. We use the official selling rate of UniCredit Bank, which is 3% higher than the middle rate. This exchange rate is always published on a sheet at the reception. But if you send me an e-mail, I'm ready to investigate your charges and we are ready to retransfer the amount of our failure. I'm looking forward to reciving your kind e-mail on geza.fejes@caslegarden.hu
With best regards
Geza Fejes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is probably the best value for money that I have ever had in my many years of (academic and personal) traveling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malamost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest malamost,

thank you for your review, we are glad, that you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here in our hotel.

With best regards
Geza Fejes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is situated in a brilliant location, in Buda, at the foot of the Castle. It is fairly new so the room was still in an excellent decorative order, with a private large decked area straigth out of the bedroom. It had tea and coffee making facilities and an excellent buffet breakfast in the morning.
The reception staff were extremely helpful with the many questions regarding directions which were thrown at them.
The hotel is also situated within 5minutes walking distance from a huge shopping mall, and near the bus/tram/metro station. Within 10 minutes walk, on the way to the castle, you can enjoy dinner at one of the numerous hungarian restaurants, to sample the local cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Front Office Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Freddy048,

thank you for your kind review, we really apprecaite it, and also thank you that you chose our hotel for your stay in Budapest. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services, and we hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Geza Fejes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#19 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#43 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing