We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“wonderful place”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place and great location. Very pleasant and helpful service. Strengths: the proximity of the castle, delicious food, all-day coffee bar, mini spa, underground parking. I would recommend a room with a terrace. We will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAiMarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    310
    36
    21
    6
See reviews for
129
460
74
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights whilst on a trip around Central Europe. By far this was the best hotel we stayed in. The service was second to none from reservation to check out. The hotel concierge was efficient and extremely helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, had everything that we required and was looked after by the housekeeping staff with meticulous detail. The reception staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient. The hotel restaurant food is great, breakfast was a pleasure and on the last night I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. I recommend the steak Budapest style.
The location of the hotel could not be better. Within a few minutes walk you can be in the castle area which is worth a day of exploring alone. From outside the hotel you can hop on a little bus, which runs every few mnutes, that will take you down to the river or across the bridge to Pest.
The hotel organised our taxi to/from Keleti station and that worked perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucketandSpade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location is perfect. I stayed here twice. Once on the side of the castle and once on the other side. You should request for a room on the castle side. The other side was so loud from the street with bus stops. I had dinner at the restaurant twice. Consistently tasty food. The room was very clean and I slept well. Breakfast is great too. Internet was also fast. Reception was multilingual and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stray_vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Situated very close to BUda Castle, very easy to find. The room was clean, the bed was very comfy. We stayed at upper floors, there was no wedding or party at the restaurant during our stay there, so sleep quality was very good :)

Breakfast was very rich. It's "all you can eat" and there was plenty of food to chose from.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floors (from floor 1 upwards) ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avenger1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear ‘Avenger1314’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden and you were satisfied with our room and services. I am pleased to read we could meet your expectations regarding the breakfast offer and we would be happy to welcome you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just a few metres away from the Buda castle wall, this hotel is a great value for money proposal. Nice rooms, wifi, free coffee/soda during the day. A short walk away from the Metro. Very friendly front desk staff.

Restaurant is good too, although the coffee with the breakfast is terrible. In fact the free coffee (not available during breakfast) is freshly brewed and far better. Other meals at the restaurant were excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EagleEye_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear ‘EagleEye_007’,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this positive review. My team and I are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in Budapest, our historical location and our services such as the inclusive coffee corner. We regret to hear we could not meet your expectations regarding the coffee at breakfast, but it is still nice to read you were pleased with the lovely offer of the restaurants kitchen! We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Castle Garden prior to a cruise. We found it on the internet and from the start, all our interactions were wonderful. We booked a superior room which gives you a very large patio off your room and is well worth it when the weather is nice and you can utilize the space. The hotel is a two minute walk from the Vienna Gate entry to the Castle District. It was so easy to tour the entire Castle District on foot from our hotel; very convenient. The hotel arranged for our pick up at the airport which was extremely convenient and not expensive. It was a great way to start our trip after a long overnight flight. We were especially delighted with the restaurant which had a wonderful menu, a lovely patio to sit out on for dinner, and the staff were great. We enjoyed the restaurant so much that we ate there both nights. The breakfast provided was extensive and very good. All the staff were helpful and friendly. You can't go wrong with this choice. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with the terrace which is quite large and provides a lovely private space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear ‘Carolyn012’,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read you were satisfied with our services, our helpful staff, our location and the room as well. It is nice to hear you enjoyed sitting outside on the patio adjacent to the room and the restaurant. We are really glad to hear you had a lovely stay in our Hotel Castle Garden and we would be happy to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach california
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent 2 nites here at the end of a Danube cruise. We checked in early, but it was no problem storing our bags until we could get in our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The adjoining restaurant was delightful, with an Italian flavor. The hotel was offering a 15% discount at the restaurant during our stay. Loved being a little removed from the noisy, busy part of the city. But the Underground is just a short walk away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear ‘tlc244’,
Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay in our hotel. I am delighted to hear our offer to store your luggage until your room is available was well appreciated. It is a pleasure to read that also our quiet and peaceful location and our friendly and professional staff helped you to enjoy your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. We would be happy to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
909 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 334 in Budapest
1,300 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#81 of 334 in Budapest
965 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
310 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing