We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

i would recommend this hotel. its very close to the castle and has a very nice garden. the rooms are large enough, clean and comfortable. the lady in the front desk has been very helpful. she also arranged us a cruise tour which was very nice. parking is also available at the hotel. the location is about 10 min walk to the metro station. when coming back to the hotel you need to walk up a hill which maybe tiring after a long day of walking. so think twice if you dont like walking. other than location, great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear ’Efo85’
Thank you very much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you especially for your nice words regarding our helpfull receptionist, I am glad to hear she could make you stay memorable in our beautiful city! I truly hope we can welcome you back in our Hotel Castle Garden**** soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    306
    35
    20
    5
See reviews for
127
452
74
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is adjacent to Buda Castle precinct and it is only about a 20 minute or so walk to Chain Bridge via the funicular. The location is far superior to any other hotel we saw while in Budapest.

The hotel is modern, clean and efficiently run. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent and we had the benefit of a balcony. The hotel has a bar and restaurant with an outside seating area where there is also a pizza oven. Breakfast was fine although the hot food was a bit overcooked, in common with most smaller hotels. Evening meals in the restaurant were good quality and value for money.

Getting around is easy. A very frequent bus passes the hotel and travels to one of the metro interchanges in Pest via the castle and Chain Bridge. Alternatively, it is only a short walk to Szell Kalman Ter transport interchange which provides access to trams, buses and the metro.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the door or window open, the rooms that face the castle are probably quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear ‘Stephen G’,
First and foremost let me thank you for this nice review you wrote us! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden and you were delighted with the location of the hotel. Also we are proud that we could meet your expectation regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the efficiency of our staff! My colleagues and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in Hotel Castle Garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel really is in the perfect spot. Although it may not be what some reviewers consider to be 4 star it has many benefits that for me warrants an excellent rating. It is spotlessly clean, the friendly and knowledgable staff all speak good English. Rooms are fine. Nice touches such as complimentary tea,coffee and soft drinks available in foyer at certain times. Fabulous being able to sit out on the lovely terrace of the hotel's adjoining restaurant called Riso. They have a wide selection of dishes on the menu and hotel guests receive 15% discount. We had dinner one evening and lunch once. Food was well presented, tasty and not too expensive. Breakfast however was fairly average, shame considering quality of evening meal. The Castle Garden has a relaxed and pleasant ambience and is sensibly priced, great choice for those visitors wishing to max value within a budget.

Top of the list of reasons why I would certainly stay again has to be its perfect location. Just 1 minute walk from Vienna Gate, all of the many sights within Castle District and fabulous views over the city are right on hand. Easy to go down to the Danube, out of hotel turn left, don't go thru gate, instead cross road and head down Hunfalvy, go down first flight of steps, a couple more flights and you will be on Batthyany, past Post Office & you are right opposite Parliament, took us 5 mins (tad longer going back up!) Getting over to Pest side also easy, No 16 bus from outside hotel takes you over Chain Bridge and into city. Feels strange but you catch the bus going up the hill, goes around Castle District before going down other side. Many other transport options such as Metro 2 close by, ask at Reception for more details.

A great little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinski321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear ‘karinski321’,
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how our friendly and helpful staff ensured that you had a pleasant time in our Hotel Castle Garden****. It was also great to read your kind comments relating our quiet location and reasonable prices and that you liked our complimentary coffee corner. Of course we are also delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your meals in the Riso. We truly hope that you will return to visit our Hotel Castle Garden in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and her mother and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was so close to the castle wall that we were inside the wall in 5 minutes walk. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the ins and outs of Budapest. The room was larger than most rooms we have had in Europe and had some nice appointments. The area was in a nice quiet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear ’George H’,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, rooms and facilities and that our staff provided an exceptional service for all of your needs. We would be very happy to welcome you back again in our lovely Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a three nights in the Hotel Castle Garden, an amazing location and I would most definitely visit Budapest again. A stunning location located on the hills, room is slightly basic but with a gorgeous balcony to see the sights. You are paying for the view, however reasonable rates and the staff speak good English which helps. The breakfast is basic, although we only had it once.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear ’K M’,
Thank you for posting your review about your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden****, which we managed to make special and memorable for you. I am delighted to hear, that our staff provided an exceptional service throughout your stay and you had been pleased with our location. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this small, quiet hotel just outside the castle wall in Buda. Great value, multilingual staff and fine Piso restaurant attached. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, and quiet neighborhood. Only 3 blocks to the metro and tram and 3 stops into downtown Pest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear ’Margaret G’,
Thank you very much for sharing your review with other travellers on TripAdvisor! I'm pleased that you found your room spacious and that our location suited your needs. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden****!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed here several times during the last years, for a weekend in October. Last year, the restaurant were closed on Friday, reason a private party. Well, no problem, there are plenty others to choose from nearby, and the party was done when we returned to the hotel in the evening.

When we returned this weekend, we got again information that the restaurant would be closed on Saturday, reason a private party. Again, no problem, we enjoyed a night out in Budapest, and returned to the hotell around 11:30 PM, since we had an early flight out on Sunday. However, this time, the party at the hotel restaurant continued to 2:35 AM in the night, playing loud music the whole time, and a lot of screaming as well, both inside and outside the restaurant. Since our room was on the floor above the restaurant, not much sleep for us that night, since the alarm was set to 06:15:am

I will still recommend this hotel, if you want a hotel centrally placed, just call in advance and make sure that the restaurant is not booked for a private party, lasting all night long, if you want a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear ‘Linda D’,
First and foremost let me thank you for your comments both positive and constructive which are appreciated. I am really sorry to hear, that the restaurant was closed due to a private event during both of your stays in our Hotel Castle Garden. Unfortunatelly, as Riso Restaurant’s management is separated from the Hotel, we do not have any influence on the events held in the restaurant area. I would like to apologize, that you could not really have a rest before your flight, but I promise that if you stay with us next time we will provide you one of our rooms on the top floor, far away from the restaurant! I am delighted to hear, that you would still recommend us. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
883 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
575 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing