We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #44 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Decent rooms, free WiFi in the rooms, free parking during the weekend in front of the hotel.
Breakfast pretty weak for a 4 star hotel, but the price is according to the 4 stars.
Location is good if you want to visit historical sites, but a bit far if you want to go clubbing, or for a walk in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atypoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear ‘Atypoli’
First and foremost let me thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. I do hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    300
    34
    20
    5
See reviews for
125
441
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I will start off by saying that this has got to be one of the top 5 hotels I have stayed in, and I have stayed in a few!

The hotel itself is a very nice building (it looks just as good as it does in the pictures). We stayed in a superior room which had a lovely balcony, a huge bed, lovely décor and an amazing bathroom. The air conditioning worked very well, and the room was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

I would recommend anyone thinking of staying at this hotel to stay here. The location is great, it is located just a short walk from the metro and buda castle.

Staying at the Castle Garden Hotel was a surprise 30th birthday present for me from my partner, we had a very lovely time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy1234567975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear ‘Amy1234567975’
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us about your experiences regarding your recent stay. Your comment, that we are one of the top 5 hotels you have stayed in, is very much appreciated, thank you! I was pleased to read, that you were satisfied with the location of our Hotel and our helpful staff and I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your over all stay; it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel Castle Garden for your next stay in Budapest. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can do anything for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay here again. The room was clean, the restaurant food and service were excellent. The location cannot be better for exploring the Buda Castle and all the offerings on this side of the city. My daughter and I loved our stay here. The hotel front desk was very helpful and treated us so kindly. We didn't have small children with us, but there were several families staying with small kids. The staff are wonderful with the children and the restaurant patio was great for kids, with a small playground in the enclosed gardens. It was fun to watch the little ones and drink great wine and have a lovely meal. I can hardly wait to go back. Thank you Hotel Castle Garden.

Room Tip: We didn't sue the swim pool or fitness centre. We booked online the day before arrival and got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear ‘Angela W’,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read, that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. On behalf of our whole team, thank you for your kind words regarding our services and hospitality. We would really appreciate to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel Castle Garden soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This cozy hotel locate right at the door of castle hills. Steps away from shops, bus and restaurants. What impress me most is the service. The girls at front desk are very helpful.

I had a good time in Budapest and the choice of hotel is the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear ‘Lulu_mango’,
Thank you very much for staying with us on your last trip to Budapest, I am grateful for the lovely feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us! As we always strive to make every guest feel welcome, we are very happy we managed to do so during your stay with us; we all hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in our lovely Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in mid-June and had a wonderful time! Perfect location near the castle, and within five minutes of a metro station that takes you all over the city. Staff was pleasant, helpful and always courteous. Nice, clean rooms at reasonable cost. Highly recommend it, and will stay again next time we travel to Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear ‘Travelou42’,
First of all let me thank your for your TripAdvisor review about your stay in Hotel Castle Garden. I really appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly, always helpful staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you very much again for staying with us and for your positive feedback which is much appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcome you soon back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel Castle Garden is situated on the Buda side of Budapest,but this has the advantage that it is much more peaceful than those situated in Pest.There is a bus stop outside the hotel,and a short walk down the hill is a Metro station (can feel like a long walk up the hill on return,if you have been walking to sightsee). Most days we actually walked into the city via the castle area,down a hill and then across the bridge (15 mins).
Room was clean,spacious and when booking given a choice of twin beds or a double bed,chose double ,which was very comfortable.Did not eat breakfast there but had one meal in the evening which was delicious and good value. Complimentary drinks in reception 11.00-17.00) are a nice touch. Talking of drinks if you are a standard tea drinker take your own tea bags,as only had a variety of tea bags ranging from herbal to caramel (was nice to experiment),but no Ceylon/Indian.
In conclusion would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Budapest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room floor up from reception which is probably better than those below from point of vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear ‘vcollins’,
We truly thank you for your time and effort to share your detailed feedback with other readers. I am pleased to read your all-embracing positive comment, your kind words and compliments are greatly appreciated. We are lucky to have a good location near to the castle district, so as you said getting aroud with public transportation means never a problem. Regarding the coffee corner let me thank you for your tip, we will concider to widen our selection of teas. I look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose the hotel for our wedding anniversary stay in Budapest.
We were extremly happy with the hotel.
The reception staff were very helpful, nothing was too much truble.
The hotel was very clean, good location too.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear ‘EWA S’,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences wth the traveller community on TripAdvisor. It’s always great to hear that our team created a lasting impression to a valued guest. We highly appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay in our Hotel and hope to meet you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#20 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing