We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #38 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is modern with 38 rooms which are all vey well appointed. The hotel is located about five minutes walk from Buda castle and about ten minutes from the nearest shopping centre and from there you can pick up a tram or bus to almost anywhere in Buda or Pest. The hotel also had a nice restaurant with seating both inside and out.Service was very good. The only criticism I would make is that the breakfast was not always that good. Occasionally they ran out and although they would replenish you had to wait.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first or second floor and preferably one that faces Pest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guitarhero98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear ‘guitarhero98’,
I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to write us a review about your recent stay in Hotel Castle Garden, Budapest. I am delighted to hear, that you liked the location of our hotel in the beautiful castle district. Also many thanks for your kind words about the Riso Restaurant next door, having breakfast or lunch outside on the terrace when the sun is shining is very enjoyable. Regarding the breakfast I would like to apologize, if we were not able to meet your expectations, but thank you for your remark; we will do our best to improve our services. We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future to correct our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 981 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Everything was as it should be. Nice room, friendly and helpful staff. Nice location near the Castle in Buda...less nice if you are walking to and from the shopping district in downtown Pest 45 minutes walk from the hotel. Stayed for at business trip and it was perfect for that. Good bed, quiet location, free wifi, helpful reception. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear ‘Anders K’,
First of all let me thank you for your kind review about your recent business trip in Budapest. I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to write us some words regarding your experiences during your stay. I am delighted to hear you were satisfied with the location of our hotel while walking in the Castle District, but of course I absolutely understand you were a bit tired after walking back from the city centre! Thanks again for staying with us, we hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

3 nights spent in Budapest, in Hotel Castle Garden, both the city and the hotel was wonderful. The hotel is located on the hill of Buda side, just 100 metres from the castle district which is one of the tourist center of the city and has an old and super atmosphere with small streets, ancient buildings and good restaurants (we tried the 21 bistro restaurant, recommended by the kind receptinist girl). The hotel was modern , cosy, spotlessly clean, and with lovely helpful staff at the reception. The breakfast was OK, we had it in the garden of the restaurant which was a unique experience, a good start for the day. A lot of good programs were recommended by the reception, the best was the 2 day city tour package. Altogether: we were absolutely satisfied with the hotel and the city, it is recommended for everyone. We will return :)

Room Tip: We were in the Panorama room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear ‘Sonia N’,
Thank you very much for staying with us on your last trip to Budapest. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I am grateful for the lovely review! As we always strive to make every guest feel welcome, we are very happy we managed to do so during your stay with us. It is nice to hear, that you especially liked the location of our Hotel Castle Garden, the old and beautiful architecture of the buildings in the castle district. I also really appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly, always helpful staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you very much again for staying with us and for your positive and enthusiastic feedback! Both are much appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcome you soon back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Castle Garden May 1-6, 2013. The room with private balcony was comfortable and clean, and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. They're really paying attention to the needs of the guests. We had dinner twice in the hotel restaurant, and found it convenient and just as good as other local restaurants. Truly excellent dinners on the outdoor patio. The included breakfast was delicious and had plenty of variety each morning. We were staying with a group of fifteen people that had negotiated a rate, and had not paid attention to the rate before we checked out. On checkout I was quite surprised that the rate was about half of what I had expected for a hotel in such a location with such a good facility. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends traveling to Budapest, and will stay there on next year's trip. I rarely can say that after hotel stays in other cities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david28995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear ‘david28995’,
First of all let me thank your for your TripAdvisor review about your stay in Hotel Castle Garden. On behalf of our whole team, thank you for your kind words regarding our services and hospitality; also many thanks for your compliments relating to our rooms and facilities. I am pleased to hear, that you were satisfied and enjoyed your stay with us, we would really appreciate to have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends again in our Hotel Castle Garden soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first trip abroad with our two small boys. Booking this hotel was easy and the communication was fast and friendly. They gave us two joined rooms with a cot. The rooms were great with king sized beds and a patio area. The area was quiet and we had very restful nights. Breakfast was included and in the continental style. Free coffee and bottled water were in the lobby, nice touch. Swings and slides outside which kept the boys happy. Again, nice touch. The restaurant was mid-range with a combination of Hungarian and very nice pizza. Quite tasty. I would definitely come back to this most reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinisterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Sinisterpete,
I was absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in Hotel Castle Garden. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such nice feedback. I am happy to hear, that you were satisfied with our hospitality and services, for example our complimentary Coffee & Tee Corner. I am also glad to hear, that even the kids enjoyed their stay; we are pleased, that we met your expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in panorama room, the view was very nice. Friendly personal, nice food, very close to everything. We had a problem with a light on the staircase that didn't get fixed after we requested it but it didn't affect us too much. We also had to put the beds together as we booked double but got twin room. After all we would still recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear 'Steve M',
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us about your experiences regarding your recent stay in Hotel Castle Garden. I was pleased to read, that you were satisfied with the view from our panorama room, the historical location of our Hotel and our helpful staff. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the defect light and twin bedded room; I can assure you, that we will pay more attention to the mentioned remarks in the future. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your over all stay; it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel Castle Garden during your next stay in Budapest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews & also the manager takes the time to comment on these reviews which shows he cares & is in the right job!! Yes the position of the hotel is excellent as said before, the Buda side of the city is more residential. An excellent facility of the hotel is having cold & hot drinks available for guests free of charge in the reception area from 11am to 5pm. On our last day the manger kindly let us use the shower in the mini wellness area as our flight wasn't until the evening 7 we had to understandably vacate our room in the morning as they were fully booked. It was a real treat to be able to sit outside for breakfast in a city hotel. For me personally, the breakfast could have varied a bit more but this was not a real problem.

Room Tip: Our room faced a car park which wa svery quiet. I'm not sure if the rooms facing the road which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Jeanette P,
many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your stay at the Hotel Castle Garden. After you chose the hotel because of the good reviews it is a real pleasure that we didn’t let your expectations down. I was delighted to read that you got a great service from our stuff and that you appreciated the location, so as the complementary coffe corner. Regarding the breakfast we can assure you that we will consider your comments about the variety. Thank you again for your feedback, we truly hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 335 in Budapest
363 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 335 in Budapest
1,353 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 335 in Budapest
647 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $54 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing