We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #44 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to return to”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here recently when we visited Budapest for the first time. The hotel is modern and very well maintained. The staff friendly and extremely helpful, going out of their way to give directions and assistance about public transportation. Our room was quiet, totally comfortable with lots of cupboard space and well appointed. We enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant, self serve with ample variety and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemima18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear jemima18,
thank you so much for leaving your nice comments regarding your experiences at our hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the team. As we always aim to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay, it’s always a pleasure to hear that we didn’t leave any disappointment in them. Many thanks for your compliments on the roomfacilities and the restaurant too. We look very much forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    298
    34
    20
    5
See reviews for
125
440
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
340 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a wonderful modern hotel located at the bottom of the castle area no more than five mins walk. The bathrooms are well apointed as are the rooms. Minibar is cheap and the hotel restruant is good also. We didint take any breakfast but we did use the free drinks between 11-5.

The downside to this hotel as in other reviews the rooms are very very hot, we opened the window and its been snowing and it was still very hot. The other gripes to this hotel was you have to pay to use the sauna and its the only hotel I have ever heard of this and the safe didnt work which was reported but never fixed.

We will be going back to this hotel as it is first class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormsklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ormsklad,
thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent stay at the Hotel Castle Garden. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your time here and that the facilities of the hotel met your expectations. I really am sorry about the inconveniences you had to experience during your stay, however it is very much appreciated that in spite of these facts you find our hotel wonderful. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the reception staff to the breakfast waiter who offered to cook whatever we wanted when we arrived down late on our first morning we were delighted with how friendly and helpful all the staff were. The hotel was spotless, bright and modern and our room was large and comfortable with a fantastic huge shower. Only minor "complaint" would be that our room was so warm but opening the window soon sorted this. The food in the adjoining restaurant was delicious with local and international dishes on offer(the veal stew with the cottage cheese deserves a special mention) and we ate there on 3 of our 4 nights it was so good. The hotel is ideally placed for the Castle area and we felt we really struck lucky with this wee gem of a hotel. We really enjoyed our first visit to beautiful Budapest and the Hotel Castle Garden and will be sure to recommend both in the future

Room Tip: Room 412 also has a wee ante- room with a single bed-plenty of room for parties of 3 without a silly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Cara08,
thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is so delightful to read how our friendly and helpful staff ensured that you had a pleasant time, I will definitely pass your kind compliments on our breakfast waiter. It is also great to know that you found the room facilities satisfying and that you enjoyed your dinners in the Riso. We truly hope that you will return to visit our Hotel Castle Garden in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we checked in straight away with no problems, the hotel is only a 10minutes walk uphill from the Metro.
The hotel was very homely, well kept and clean.
The room had a minibar at decent price, two single beds pushed together for a double, a bath and shower.
The tv had few English channels, the bar was also reasonably priced.
We used the spa facilites which is £5pp, the jacuzzi and sauna both worth the money if you want to relax after a long day walking.
The location for the castle etc is amazing, only 5 minute walk, there you get lovely views of Pest.
Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hannahm2013,

many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you titled us as an excellent hotel. Regarding your positive comments it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you received good service at reasonable price. Thank you for choosing us and we truly hope you will return to our Hotel Castle Garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel that provides everything you need at a very reasonable price. You get good value for money and the staff are all very caring. Let them advise you on bookings and taxis. The restaurant at the hotel is as good as any in the area. Here you will find some of the locals stopping by for a meal, which I always find is a positive sign.

The rooms are not large but they are comfortable. The bathrooms are neat and clean.

There is a bus stop right near the hotel entrance and the Metro is about ten minutes walk.

We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area but our room faced uphill which would seem to be quieter than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear MikeMouse2910,

thank you for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us in Budapest. Already your title makes us feel that you had a great experience at our hotel. It is true we are so lucky with our location, we are very proud of being a gem of the historical Buda. Our team takes huge efforts in ensuring that our guests feel welcome and comfortable and it is always so nice to be recognised of it. It was also a joy to read that you were satisfied with the quality of the room and that you feel you got good value for money. I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have just stayed 5 nights as a last minute break with my friend. The hotel is perfectly located in historical surroundings but the metro and tram station is a 5 minute walk away making it really easy to get into the city centre with the tram running all night making it easy to get back after nights visiting the enchanting ruin pubs in pest. The staff have been helpful and the food in the restaurant is lovely (you get 15% off if you are a resident). Wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear leannedrew,
thank you for your positive notes left on Tripadvisor from your recent stay with us. As we are very proud of our location, it is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about it. I am also glad that you found our staff helpful and that you were pleased with the food in the Riso. We would be very happy to welcome you back to the Castle Garden on your next visit in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

From check-in till departure, we experienced the up-most in care and professionalism. I travelled with a large group of friends, staying in spacious and well presented twin rooms for the weekend. A speedy check-in meant that we got into the city in no time and in the end, saw more in three days than most would do in a week; sleeping 10 hours over two nights but feeling fresh as a daisy.

The receptionists (all 3 of you!) were simply excellent, whether it meant assisting one of my injured friends or helping me out last minute in printing out a boarding pass. We were allocated 4 rooms on the ground floor. Even though the view was slightly limited, each room was presentable and as the proverb goes, "does exactly what it says on the tin"! Not being on the upper floors was not a problem at all because our rooms were next door to each other which created a great party atmosphere in our corridor. Budapest is a beautiful city with beautiful people and Castle Garden is the catalyst which lets one capture it all :-)
Best Wishes and See you Soon!
Tarik S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tarik,
thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your recent stay at the Castle Garden. It was delightful to read that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us and specially that you felt looked after from the moment you checked-in to the hotel. It is a real pleasure that we were able to contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you all back in the near future. Congratulations on your wedding , we wish you all the best for the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 342 in Budapest
269 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 342 in Budapest
1,271 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
1,101 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#43 of 342 in Budapest
887 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing