We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hotel with an amazing location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“amazing hotel with an amazing location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel Castle Garden is located right at the footsteps of the castle grounds. While being located right outside of the castle walls, it provides a nice get away from the tourist driven castle hill while positioning its guests in the perfect location between the metro and all major castle hill attractions. The hotel is a modern gem in a very historic city. Rooms are very spaceous and have the newest ammenaties to match. The staff does not miss a beat with the cleanliness and presance of the hotel, everything is perfectly attendend to. I personally do not speak any Hungarian but the hotel staff made me feel right at home and spoke amazing English and were always ready to answer any question I had. The breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was also very impressive with a variety of cereals, meats, and hot items (eggs, sausage, etc). Overall, if you are looking to stay in Buda, I would highly recommend the Hotel Castle Garden. My family stays here every year!

Room Tip: Rooms with the balconies are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear sgaray!

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our hotel. It’s always great to hear about how our team created a lasting impression to a valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly hope you are staying as a returning guest in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    297
    33
    19
    5
See reviews for
125
437
74
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

the hotel is in a wonderful position, just below the castle walls. It was very clean, and our room was very spacious (though we were given the Panorama room as a special treat to celebrate my husbands birthday - upgrade to it if you can, SO WORTH IT!!!)
The staff were excellent, really helpful, polite and welcoming.
I do agree with previous comments that most of the sights are on the Pest side of the river, but as the city is very walkable, this did not make a huge problem for us.
We enjoyed eating locally in the castle grounds, and maybe a tad more than in Pest - but what a setting!
In all a lovely short break away, in a really lovely small friendly hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get it ask for the panorama room, it comes with it's own private terrace, with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jantosh0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jan!

We are appreciated by your compliment, we are happy that we could be your part of this special occasion leaving unforgettable memories in you. We honestly hope you will celebrate with us next year, as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was very nice. It is right outside of the castle walls which is convenient. The rooms are nice as well. Well taken care of. I would say that the majority of the things to do in Budapest did seem to be on the Pest side which was way down the hill. There is a metro station to take you there but it is a little hike. However, it is a lovely hotel in an uber quite and safe part of town. The only incident that I had was when my laundry bag never returned with my laundry when I sent it off through the hotel but that was a minor upset.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFloJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear landaflowers!

Thank you for your posting of your review. I was glad to see you returned home with nice memoreis of our city and our hotel. I was sorry to read that your laundry bag was lost and you did not receive it back. Probably it has been lost in laundry service provider what we have realized too late..We look forward to the opportunity of serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This smaller modern hotel's foremost quality is its stellar location, calm in the greenery just outside a gate of the Castle area, and at the same time within easy and quick reach of everything. We also appreciated the excellent standard of the room and bathroom, the perfect cleanliness, and the staff's readiness to help.
Negative points include the breakfast menu which leaves much to be desired, and the informality of the morning call booking (a simple note in the receptionist's smartphone) which, in our case, almost led to a catastrophy.
We would suggest that you ask for a standard room, if possible facing south towards the castle and trees. Superior rooms, like the one we had, are less worth their price, as they are facing north, get more street noise, the view of the Danube is hidden by buildings, and they aren't really bigger, their main feature being a large but closed up terrace, the purpose of which wasn't really clear to us.

Room Tip: Standard rooms facing south might be a better choice than superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Daniel P!

Firstly, let me thank you for your time to write you review of your recent stay in Hotel Castle Garden.
We are so sorry that our receptionist colleague left to wake you up. We always take the guest’s note as a helping guide what still needs to be developed (in this case we have already been talking with the owners about a more modern system of the wakeup call.) The purpose of the closed window based terrace is on one hand against noise, on the other hand it is built for security reasons. We are sorry if we left some disappointment in you although we truly hope you we can welcome you back leaving only with better and more pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed three times in this hotel for two years, every time in different room. Every time it was excellent. The view on city from panorama room balcony is beautiful especially by night.
Breakfast is very good. During nice weather eating breakfast on terrace is also very nice. Small playground for children is in front of it. Personal from hotel are very friendly. Bathrooms are big and clean. Beds are comfortable for sleep. Connections to public transport are very good, in front of hotel is bus stop which take you directly to Moskva square (Szell Kalman square) metro and tram line. This is small and quiet hotel and we recommend it for family stay on Buda side of Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Sabina729,

I was delighted to read that you are our returning guest for two years. I was pleased to read your all-embracing comment, your kind words and compliments are greatly appreciated. We would like to keep our personnel and warmly service as a most valuable asset of our hotel to make more travellers visit us. We are also proud of our recently refurbished outfit Panorama room. As a family room option, our connecting rooms can be a very good choice. We are happy we could provide some unforgettable moments for you and for your family. We wish you hundreds more in our hotel any time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in two different rooms. In a twin room, 102 which you can see the pictures, the room is big with a very nice bathroom. The other room was 410, which it was even beeter with a king size bed. The hotel is a small and cosy place in the Buda area. Not far from a big shopping center and the river.

The hotel is new, I think it was open in 2008 and the staff are friendly. The best part of the hotel is probably the restaurant / terrace. The breakfast is good, but the lunch and dinner menu are just outstanding. In fact, I had dinner the four nights I stayed there.

They also give you free wifi, with good connection, besides they have a laptop you can use in the lobby area.

I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atleti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear atleti73,

Thank you! Your title is appreciated; just short giving the main point of your positive experience. We are happy you were satisfied with both of your rooms. The restaurant has been renovated recently providing new and new menu week by week. We truly hope we can welcome you back as a returning guest in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Close to the metro. Be aware that the name of the Metro stop has changed to Szell Kalman Ter. You can then take a bus from the Metro stop if you go up the stairs to the left after exiting the station. Otherwise it is a short walk up the hill. We loved being on the Buda side of Budapest and by the castle. It was very quiet up on the hill. Every night we walked up to the Fisherman's Bastion for the views of the city at night. Very safe neighborhood and some excellent restaurants on the side street. The hotel was very nice. Clean and quiet. Internet in the lobby was good. Desk staff was good, although their English was not excellent, they were helpful and kind. Rooms were clean and modern. No breakfast but there is a Match grocery store just behind the Metro station in the Mammot shopping mall so we would just buy cheeses, bread, yogurt, fruit and keep it in the mini fridge in our room. Excellent stay over all.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor just off the lobby. It was very quiet as long as the window was shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealybob73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Nealybob73!

First of all, let me thank you to write your description of the location and of our hotel. We are proud of our location; we can be a part of the medieval and historical Buda. I do apologize if you met with some inconviences regarding the language skills of our staff. All of our team are spoken pretty good English though. We do always pay attention to the personality of our team to provide warm and family service to the guest. Sorry if you have find the room too noisy then as a room tip let me pay attention to rooms on the second floor with side of Castle. Please feel free to contact to us if you need room availability (providing a quiet room of course)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#31 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing