We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be adventurous”
Review of Aranyszarvas

Aranyszarvas
Ranked #637 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Be adventurous”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A decent restaurant with good service. I chose the vegetarian dishes on the menu and was definitely not as impressed as the guidebook or other reviewers have been. Seems it pays to choose some of the more exotic (to an non-Hungarian) dishes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d0nsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    68
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“excellent bistro - away from the madding crowds”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Quiet bistro at the bottom of the hill leading away from Buda Castle heading towards the Elizabeth Bridge. Good menu and service - not a cheap place to eat (12,000 HuF for 2 at lunch) but high quality food, not the usual European repetitive fare. We had the wild boar tenderloin and chicken with mushroom - both dishes well prepared and presented.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fonzpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time in our Restaurant and were very satisfied with the meal you had. Our Chef and his entire team always pay special attention on the quality and presentation of the dishes they prepare. It is our hope that you will return and have more of their delicious creations.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining at budget prices!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A sophisticated and elegant restaurant conveniently situated between Castle and Gellert hills so a great place to eat if visiting both on the same day. Great local wine, fantastic elegantly served flavorsome food, with restaurant specializing in game and fresh water fish all beautifully presented and for a very reasonable price. We ate late afternoon in early October and had restaurant and staff virtually to ourselves, but guess this must be very popular at other times. Subsequent "stroll" to citadel for dusk over the city was beautiful with views down across the Danube with all the lights coming on, stunning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilege to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant was my fixed stop every time I went to Budapest, so needless to say this time I went back. However, upon hearing that it had changed hands, I was very skeptical. But, the restaurant was fantastic, the waiter was very helpful in choosing items off the menu as well as helping us choose a nice wine. We had the lamb knuckles which were to die for and leg of deer which melted in your mouth. My next time in Budapest will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us! I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef, who will be definitely delighted about it!
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you the same quality!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Wonderful wildboar tenderloin dish”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The lonely planet advised us to visit Tabani Terasz, which turned out to be closed, so we ended up at Aranyszarvas across the road, without any expectations. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter who spoke very good English. The menu showed interesting dishes: deer, wildboar, venison stew. We chose the Wildboar Tenderloin with cauliflower and shallot onion, which was just amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant. Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcbapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aranyszarvas also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aranyszarvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing