We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wildboar tenderloin dish”
Review of Aranyszarvas

Aranyszarvas
Ranked #637 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Wonderful wildboar tenderloin dish”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The lonely planet advised us to visit Tabani Terasz, which turned out to be closed, so we ended up at Aranyszarvas across the road, without any expectations. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter who spoke very good English. The menu showed interesting dishes: deer, wildboar, venison stew. We chose the Wildboar Tenderloin with cauliflower and shallot onion, which was just amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant. Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcbapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    68
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Deer is awesome!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very delicious! Very delicious! Very delicious! Very delicious! Very delicious! Very delicious! Very delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Oleksii S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

How kind of you, you have shared your experiences here! Thanks a million for your praising words! See you soon!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant in Budapest”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have just returned to New York after 1 1/2 months in Budapest. There are lots of great restaurants in the city but I have to recommend Aranyszarvas as the best. The food was exactly my style Hungarian-German haute cuisine with a game-centric entree list. I had a red wine venison stew and it was heavenly.

The staff are very generous and friendly and really know their wines. Their extensive list includes several gems by Lenkey, including his famed 6 Puttonyos Aszu from 1999. Tucked away in Buda about 15 minutes from Erzsebet Ter, I highly recommend seeking out Aranyszarvas (The Golden Deer). You will not regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilege to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The restaurant might look like an ordinary restaurant. It's not. The food is made by people who obviously enjoy doing what they do. The staff was very friendly. Just great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1435mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us! I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef, who will be definitely delighted about it!
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you the same quality!


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“high quality, lost by emphasis on game”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The traditional location, fame and decor is misleading: this is an innovative, fine restaurant run by enthusiastic young professionals. The emphasis on game is a pity, and should be reconsidered - we did not choose any of it, and everything was excellent. These people know what they want to do, and do it very well. The wine list is excellent (the enthusiasm for Tokaji producer Lenkey is a bit exagggerated).
The only negative point is the appearance of the ?owner, in strand attire, as if "I own this place, and I can dress as I please when coming here". Someone should tell him this is not really professional, and undermines the good work of the others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Aranyszarvas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us! I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef, who will be definitely delighted about it!
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you the same quality!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aranyszarvas also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aranyszarvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing