We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, delicious food!”
Review of Delhi Darbar

Delhi Darbar
Ranked #1,105 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
2 reviews
“Small place, delicious food!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I try not to give 5 stars freely, so please keep that in mind.

Myself and a coworker were heading somewhere else for dinner, but while walking by had a sudden impulse to have Indian food. We were quite happy with our decision!

If/when I return to Budapest I am likely to eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Tj Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    57
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why is this place so quiet ?”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went there today for lunch and was the only customer. With dedicated service I have no complains on the delivery. Ordered my usual veg dishes and nan breads. Arrived quickly and hot. Great taste, good spicing good portions, good price. No complaints - just can not understand why I did not have more company.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Following tripadvisor advice, my girlfriend and I ended up in this restaurant on a Monday night. It was empty, only one other couple was there.

The only people working there that we saw were Hungarian... The decoration was a strange mix of Hungarian and Indian, but we didn't come to it for that so it was okay. All we were interested in was Indian food at a good price...

My girlfriend ordered a veggie dish, with tofu and spices that was really good at a good price.

I ordered a more expensive dish, made of lamb marinated with mint, coriander and various spices... At least that is what it was supposed to be on the menu! I received several pieces of red meat that was sausgage tasting, everything but lamb and the spices it said on the menu. I asked the waiter if it was really the dish I ordered and unfortunately it was... Eatable, but not Indian at all and I doubt it was lamb either...

The waiter was not nice, he seemed bored to still have to work because of us.


To summay: You should probably avoid this restaurant unless you order something veggie or you dont mind surprises

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamuelK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

very nice indian resteraunt, ordered our meal that was delicious and we all enjoyed this, took a while to come but the staff was all pleasent and fit

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“what a find!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went there twice for lunch... both times it was after rush hour (if there was one) because each time we were there it was super quiet. But, the food was great! The service was fine and I would go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yankabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Darbar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Delhi Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing