We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Town Hall Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay in Town Hall Apartments was everything we could ask for and more.
First - the location is right at the center of things.
We walked (with two toddlers, mind you) to the Opera house, to St. Stephen's basilica, to vorosmarty square and probably many more of the "must-see sights" I can't remember now..
We booked a 1br apartment for the entire family, and felt comfortable from the first moment.
The lovely receptionist at the office told us all there was to know in perfect English (that's pretty rare in Hungary), we got an underground parking place and a fully equipped apartment. Everything was clean and neat and we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanasoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Manager at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    142
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
144
187
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

After making a long research on hotels and apartments in Budapest, we decided to give the Town Hall Apartments a try mainly because of good reviews and fair price. Also an apartment sounded more comfortable for a week stay with our 11 months old toddler. I confirmed with the THA a couple of days in advance prior our arrival that a baby cot and a high chair will be provided, as well as inner yard appartment - and was promised by email (Zsofia) that everything will be arranged.

However, as we arrived quite late in the evening with a very tired toddler, got the key, checked the apartment, no baby cot or high chair either was there. The male staff was not very active either and blamed his colleagues on the lack of information. After I told him that I have an printed email with me with the confirmation, he started to look for these highly important things for us. After some time, we got the baby cot, first a broken one, then we got the high chair and a new baby cot, which he could not assemble at all. All in all, not a very good start for a trip. After we all got to bed, we could not sleep because somebody had a party on the balcony next to our apartment. Again, I went to the office and asked the guy to do something about it and also asked about the house rules. He explained some crap that I am the first one ever to complain about the noise in the inner yard apartment - and made no actions at all. Luckily at the same time a security guard arrived and he asked him if the guy knows something about the noise (the male staff could not hear it, because his office is on the street level). The security guard was informed about the noise from several neighbours and he was on his way to the apartment to stop the party. All in all, my point is that the male staff sucked a lot, as he is so lazy he is just not willing to do anything without asking. Fortunately, I did not see him anymore at the office after the first night.

And now about the apartment. The building is very nice and it seems like it has been built (or renowated) in 2005. If you have a baby or a toddler and a stroller - be happy - the place is totally baby stroller-friendly and there is an elevator! However, the rest of Budapest, starting with grocery stores, public transport, metro and even a zoo etc. is a nightmare for families with baby strollers. Also it seems like baby safety seat is not compulsory in taxis, remember to order one by phone (we used Fötaxi only). The apartment itself is nice, with a baby - it's an excellent choice, because of the space you get, kitchen equipment (dishwasher is there, but no dishwasher tablets are provided), good washing machine (no washing powder), a high chair and a baby cot that we got, also the location is excellent - close to main attractions, main metro station and lovely Kiraly street, a playing ground across the street, a cheap take away restaurant in the same house (Trofea Grill: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g274887-d712562-Reviews-Trofea_Grill_Restaurant_in_the_City-Budapest.html) in case your toddler is too tired or you are too tired to go out or cook at home, also a 5 star restaurant in the same house (Fausto's: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g274887-d951525-Reviews-Fausto_s-Budapest.html), a couple of 24/7 grocery stores on the street, a German DM-drogerie shop (http://www.dm.de) across the street that offers you everything you will need in the kitchen or bathroom and lots of baby equipment (dipers, organic baby food and so on). The apartment again is nice, but outdated, not cleaned very well, but it worked out for us. Very basic apartment by Scandinavian standarts fully appointed with IKEA furniture and kitchen.

Pros and cons:

+ Location (we liked the neighborhood, close to main attractions, Jewish neighborhood and metro)
+ Safety (the house is locked and also a security guard is always present)
+ Stroller-friendly facilities (elevator)
+ Playing ground across the street
+ Excellent kitchen equipment, all needed kitchenware were there, and a dishwasher was a big plus
+ Spacious
+ Restaurants and cafeterias nearby
+ Washing machine and draining rack (essential with a baby/toddler)
+ Quiet house, almost no noise from the street (at night you could hear some noise, but it was OK)
+ Female staff members were always really helpful

- Male staff at the office
- It seems like the apartment is not cleaned at all, a lot of dust under the sofa and bed
- Uncomfortable IKEA bed without mattress pad + weird pillows
- Dirty baby equipment (baby cot and high chair)
- Outdated furniture, a bit dirty sofa, a bit dirty bathroom - all in all, the apartment is outdated now (it was a great apartment around 5 years ago)
- Towels were not changed during the week as promised (by the male staff)

All in all, liked the place and would definitely recommend it to my friends. Thank you, THA!

Room Tip: Try the inner yard apartment to avoid the noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Owner at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about Town Hall Apartments.

I am very sorry about your bad experience with our male staff. As you can see from the other reviews our aim is to look after our guests in the best possible way. High quality service is absolutely crucial requirement from our staff. Unfortunately you happened to meet somebody who was in training and as it turned out could not provide the service Town Hall is so proud of, therefore we have taken actions accordingly. I am happy you have found the rest of the staff helpful.

I am very sorry that the cleaning was not up to neither your nor our standards. Thank you for your comments though as we could look into it and take relevant action.

I am also sorry you did not share your experience with us on the spot as we could have rectified them then and make your stay more enjoyable. 

I hope you will give another try to Budapest sometime in the future. We would be very happy to welcome you, and provide a deferent experience this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a wee treat as we found it was cheaper to fly via Budapest to Malaga rather than fly direct. (Jet 2 to Budapest, then Wizz air to Malaga, so we decided to have a three day stop-over.
We spent a while researching apartments, trying to find one in a good location at a reasonable price, with a balcony. (Nothing worse than being cooped inside on a lovely evening at the end of a hard days sightseeing, prior to going out to dinner).
Arrived at the apartment (via taxi located in the airport), entry is through a secure door. The arrival "welcome room" and staff are located on the first floor, which is accessed by a lift to all floors. Staff are English spoken, and very freindly. We were offered guide books and leaflets to help plan our stay. There was no charge for this...excellent so really not a lot of need to buy a tourist guide book prior to arrival. 10 out of 10 for service.
The apartment was lovely. very clean, spacious and modern.
Had everything we could wish for to make our stay comfortable within the apartment.
The bed.....excellent! I like my huge comfy bed with lovely downy duvet and duck down pillows............this was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in while abroad. It was almost as though the pillows had been picked to suit the mattress! My husband is 6ft 6 so the king size was a bonus. 5 stars!
The location was excellent. Very central, located in the Jewish Quarter which gives exellent access to the main visitor attractions on foot. As the area is flat it is easy to get around for those with mobility problems.
24 hour supermarket at the end of the road, with a couple of small local type shops inbetween, alongside resturants, cafes, bars etc. Its a lively shopping street:-)
There are plenty of eateries around, with an "all you can eat and drink" resturant almost next door to it. Well worth a visit..cost aound £15 per person.
Try the bars on the street alongside the park adjacent for really cheap freindly bars:-)
Do take the time to speak to the barstaff.....they are excellent and so freindly and informative.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests, like I requested a room with a large bed, then ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Manager at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your experience. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very centeral location, which was perfect for all the ammenities. The apartment was really comfortable and all the staff in the office were really helpful with everything we wanted sorted.
We would recommend it as a location to stay in.
We also availed of the taxi return to the airport which was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Manager at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Hope to welcome you next time as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The apartment is close to many tourist attraction. All are within walking distance. There were many small groceries shop around, which was very convenient for us.

The apartment is located in a residential building, therefore we have to keep the noise at the minimum to respect others. The room was well equipped. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment. Although the room was a bit small but the living area gave us extra space. The apartments have balcony, although there's not much view from the balcony, but it is nice to have.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Owner at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and opinion with us and with other travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I and my boyfriend were in Budapest at the last week of August.WE were in studio flat and we were very well,because the apartment in very near to the center of city and to the market(it's open 24 hours).The apartment is very nice and it has everything you need to cook and for the bathroom.
The reception is very nice because he's very hepful to give us informations to visite the city.
IN the future,if we return to Budapest we will return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 227Chiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Owner at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you Chiara. You are more than welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Excellent location. Rooms are clean. Kitchen well-equipped. Supermarket about 5 minutes walk. Close to many tourist locations. Walking distance to West End shopping mall (very huge mall). Hop on Hop off station only 5 minutes away. Subway too. The Manager, Andrea was a great help. Washing machine a plus. We got a senior apartment (2 bedrooms) which is located at a corner and quiet and that was what I requested for. There were 5 of us but only 1 bathroom. There was a separate toilet though. There were aircon in the living room and one bedroom. The other bedroom has no aircon. Luckily, the weather was not so hot when we were in there in July, so it was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelineTanMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemoke, Owner at Town Hall Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you Adeline for being our guest. We believe in happy customers. Hope to welocome you next time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
1,068 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,586 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Apartments

Property: Town Hall Apartments
Address: Kiraly utca 32, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Town Hall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe, that leaving your home, is not equal with leaving your comfort zone too. You have to find your home away from home. We specialize in providing short-stay apartments for leisure and business travelers who want more from their stay in Budapest. Our clients enjoy spacious, comfortable, well-managed accommodation in the one of Budapest's finest central locations. Balcony, free wifi, free bicycle ... all included to feel yourself just like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Town Hall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Hall Apartments Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing