We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
70
67
13
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
67
13
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margaret bridge sun deck parliament building shower curtain floating hotel buda side river view boat hotel beautifully lit up at night river cruise ship margit hid unique hotel deluxe room make tea following morning hungarian parliament rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 161 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Had a twin room at river level with view of Parliament. Room clean and petite, just what we expected. All staff helpful & friendly. Breakfast was hot, lots of options. Parking was difficult, but we managed. Rooftop deck at night was fantastic! Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontariofam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear “ontariofam70”,

Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – MS Maribelle**** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to see that you loved the unique experience in our hotel. Your kind words are much appreciated, let me thank you for highlighting the clean room, and the helpful and friendly staff. I was also glad that you mentioned the hot breakfast with lots of options and rooftop deck at night. Glad to see that you would stay again in our hotel.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting the wonderful city of Budapest; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Best wishes,

Klementina Béldi
Assistant Front Office Manager
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Just checked in, walked into our room and there were three HUGE spiders inside the room on the drapes and windows. Management offered to kill the first one we saw but then another two giant ones were hanging from our ceiling. We had to leave immediately and book another hotel. Super disappointing start to our trip.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear "Michelle J",

First of all thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – MS Maribelle**** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

We are terribly sorry, that you decided to leave the hotel, because of the spiders. Unfortunately because of we are on the river, in this part of the year there are more bugs and spiders could be around the hotel.

We would like to kindly inform you, that because of you leave the hotel within 1 hour, we have refunded the full amount to you. You did not stay any nights and did not use our services, so we do not consider to legitimate to write a negative remark about the whole hotel, because of this inconvenience. It is our first goal to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and that was the reason, why we did not charge you. We always do our best and we are really sad to see, despite of that you leave this feedback.

We really hope, that will have the chance to welcome you again and earn a top rating from you next time.

Best regards,

Lilla Szalai
Front Office Manager
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Was here year, and because it was so enjoyable just had to return. Nothing has changed, spotless, great lounge area with bar, and although the shower curtain wants to make love to you, I just can’t fault the place. As I said last time, the Maribelle is unique and the views are spectacular. Special mention for Klementina on the front desk. She’s a star.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank vagrant22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear "vagrant22",

Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – MS Maribelle**** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay again. Let me thank you for highlighting the great lounge, the spectacular view and highly appreciated to mention Klementina.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back, to make you feel at home in the city.

Best wishes,

Lilla Szalai
Front Office Manager
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I needed somewhere cheap to stay as I had to be in Hungary at my own expense for 5 days dental treatment. I also live sometimes on a narrowboat on the Thames so home from home. The Maribelle used to be the Viking burgundy touring France and Germany from 2000 (when it was built) onwards. It’s now tied up opposite the parliament building in Budapest. The pluses are excellent staff from reception to bar to cleaners. The ship in general is very clean if not a little dated. Excellent location... within 10 minutes can get to a supermarket and the train and metro stations. But please be careful as the nearest set of lights are lethal. The breakfast is only very mediocre and facilities very limited. I presume I was given a poor room because I had dared to book through hotel.com rather than direct with the boat. I stayed for 5 nights at 60 euro per night excluding any food. For that my room 102 was at the bottom of the ship..next to the cleaning station. It was halfway below the waterline and I coul see flowing water and the wall of the embankment along the Danube. It was half the size of anything I could find in the publicity pre booking. The room was cold and several of the bathroom fittings were loose and had to be removed by staff. The worst was the dank sewer type smell in the bathroom that the cleaners tried to conceal with air freshener each day. I won’t be staying here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Don’t let them put you anywhere on deck one.
Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear "andrewbr2",

Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – MS Maribelle**** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent staff and the location.

We are terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services. You booked our "Economy cabin", which is the cheapest one and both of them are the lowerdeck. This type is for single use, so this is the smallest one. Beacuse of the "Economy cabins" are the lower deck, it could be colder than the others. Our chambermaid always do their best to clean the room and freshing the air every day.
Please next time if you have a problem with your room, tell it at the Front Desk and if we have available room, we will change it for you immediately.

We really hope, that will have the chance to welcome you again and earn a top rating from you next time.

Best regards,

Lilla Szalai
Front Office Manager
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Fab stay once more,stayed with daughter for 9 days attending Sziget festival.Plentiful breakfast,nice staff and of course ,Gorgeous setting on Danube with the benefit of a sun bathing area in the city centre

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Dear "Margo C",

Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – MS Maribelle**** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and let me thank you for highlighting the plentiful breakfast, nice staff and the gorgeous view of the river.

We hope your future travels will bring you back to Budapest again and we will have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Lilla Szalai
Front Office Manager
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews