We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel at the Buda side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regnum Residence
Ranked #84 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Budapest in early September 2013. Hotel Residence Regnum located in a quiet neighborhood on the Buda side. The hotel is as the pictures show. Nice clean and large rooms. Good friendly and courteous service. Located close to the Danube River. The only small thing I can think of that can be changed for the better is the room's minibar containing only a few bottles of water. However, it is not at all something that destroys the good impression we got to the hotel. Hotel and staff is our warmest recommendations. We would like to reserve a hotel room at the Hotel Residence Regnum another time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienn H, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback especially for your "warmest recommendation".

We are delighted that you were satisfied with the cleanness of our spacious rooms and that you could enjoy the quietness of the Hotel.
Sorry you found the contain of the minibar poor. We have an ongoing project to improve the quality of supply services. Thanks for this remark that confirmed my idea regarding the minibars.

We are looking forward to be at your service again.

Kind Regards,
Adrienn Heller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regnum Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 981 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

What i liked:
Hotel is nice on a quiet and nice street close to the Danube.
Room was spacious and clean with a nice design.
Breakfast ok.

What i didn't like:
The only thing i didn't like is that i waited too long to check-in.
After a long day of travel i waited for 25 minutes to check-in.
There was only 1 receptionist at that time and talked to another client this full time.
It seemed that she was doing this on purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

good position, quiet and close to the spa, spacious rooms, only the relaxation area was not the greatest, the staff was very helpful. he breakfast was good and the dining room clean.
excellent starting point for visiting the city

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is centrally located near river.you can walk to main visit points.the rooms are very comfortable and the price is very good.you have cable internet free. The breakfast is reach.hotel staff is friendly.Ut is a good choise for budapest visit

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a package so it would not have been our usual choice as it is modern and we usually go for older character hotels but we were very pleasantly surprised. The facilities were excellent, we had a suite with separate living area. It was well equipped and the bathroom was modern and clean. The included breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is in a quiet area of Buda but within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants and very handy for the Castle district area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to stay here because the price was great and breakfast was included, unlike with some of the other hotels. What a good choice! Don't let initial fears about the location of the hotel stay with you too long. It is in a more quiet, authentic part of the city, where lots of locals live and this is, indeed, one of the many advantages of staying here. The Canadian Embassy is directly opposite. The underground was a 5 minute walk along the river, looking at the marvellous Parliament buildings....an absolute pleasure every day, I can tell you. The underground is fast, efficient and you can get from a to b cheaply and happily. The hotel is near Margaret Island, with it's parks etc. A 10 minute walk along the river northwards will get you to the best well-kept thermal baths secret in Budapest...the Veli Bej baths. No tourists, no bathing caps needed and no sandals/flip-flops needed. Just take a towel. Elegant and quiet.The Regnum staff were so incredibly friendly and efficient. Nothing was a problem for them. Good quality breakfasts with some great breads!!! Lots of choice for veggies and meat eaters alike. We slept like babies as, not only is this a quiet part of the city but our room also overlooked an unused garden/courtyard. The corridors are all beautifully carpeted and there is mediatation music piped throughout the hotel. A lovely, relaxing ambiance and the place feels like a real retreat when you come back after pounding the streets for the day. Everything about it has the feel-good factor. Well done Regnum!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived on a late flight via the hotels taxi transfer service and when we went to check in were pleasantly surprised to hear we had been upgraded to a suite. This was fantastic as we were staying for a week. The suite was a generous size and had a balcony which I had wanted but when we were there Budapest/Hungary was in the middle of a heat wave and it was too hot to sit out. As others have said the location is very quiet and safe but it is easy to travel across Margit Hid on the tram into Pest, or walk down to the metro and go under the Danube, for more excitement/ shopping etc. We were in Budapest for the Sziget festival and the Regnum Residence was ideal for travelling on the HEV to and from the festival as the HEV was running all through the night - so no taxis needed!!
Breakfast was a buffet style with an assortment of hot and cold foods. My husband relished the scrambled eggs which usually had two styles to choose from. I enjoyed the pastries and the watermelon which was sweet. My only negative comment is about the coffee because I have to drink very strong espresso and the machine although convenient was not up my usual Nespresso at home.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The top floor has the large balconies and good views of the Var.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#60 of 332 in Budapest
1,697 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#17 of 332 in Budapest
1,179 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 332 in Budapest
945 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#79 of 332 in Budapest
1,324 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 332 in Budapest
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Address: Ganz utca 8, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $76 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing