We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regnum Residence
Ranked #83 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the floods and so were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The room was absolutely fabulous with plenty of storage space, spacious bedroom and sitting room areas, separate bathroom and toilet, tea making facilities and balcony with a beautiful view of the Fisherman’s Bastion. The room was clean and was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable stay.
The staff were so helpful and happy to answer any questions we had. They made some lovely recommendations about which restaurants to eat in and were more than willing to give us directions, help us read maps, etc. At breakfast they would never rush us even though we always left it until last minute and it was almost time for them to clear the food away.
The buffet breakfast was delicious every morning. There was a great selection of fresh bread and pastries, hot foods, cheeses, cold meats, salad, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, dried fruits and drinks. As soon as anything ran out it would promptly be replaced. There were outdoor and indoor seating areas so overall there was plenty of selection at breakfast time.
The location of this hotel is perfect as it is within walking distance of most of the major attractions and the city. It is situated just a couple of streets away from the river Danube and although it was flooding it was lovely to walk along side it on the way to the attractions in Buda and Pest. The red metro line is located nearby and there are also a variety of bus routes quite close.
This is by far the most pleasant stay we have ever had in a hotel and a lot of its charm can be attributed to the friendly, warm atmosphere created by the staff and the attention to detail in ensuring that the guests have access to everything they need. Should we visit Budapest again there is absolutely no doubt but that we will be staying in the Hotel Regnum Residence and we would recommend anyone visiting Budapest to do the same.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 983 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This relatively small hotel is in a quiet part of Buda, but close enough to metro, tram and HEV stops to provide easy access to all parts of the city and beyond. The outstanding characteristic is the helpfulness and pleasant attitude of the staff - nothing was too much trouble for them, and they gave us accurate help and guidance on a number of occasions. The rooms are also pleasant and very clean, and the air conditioning kept us at a reasonable temperature even though it was >35C outside! A wide range of foods for breakfast in the large and airy dining room. Hard to criticise in any significant way!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_M190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived a week after the flooding so upon our arrival we had been upgraded to suites (2 twin rooms for four friends travelling). This was great.

The rooms are great value, although as we had been upgraded this was difficult to tell. We paid around £65 a night for each twin room. They are very clean, sleek, modern.

A few issues though:

1) The air con is extremely weak. We had it on "10" degrees- the coldest setting, and maximum power, but although we could feel the cold air coming from the vent the room was incredibly hot still. I went down to reception explaining the problem and the receptionist came up straight away and recognised that the room was too hot so she offered to get us a portable fan which was sufficient. Great service, but still annoying to be in that situation.

2) The breakfast is relatively poor, where the only hot offerings are generally eggs and a few cheap sausages. No bacon, potatoes etc.

3) The bar man was average at best. He never seemed to be at the bar when i wanted a drink, so i had to ask reception "to go and find him". When he came back i asked for a mojito, one of the most common cocktails possible and although he could understand me he didn't know how to make it so instead of apologising or asking for how it was made he tended to other customers (very few people), and then would just keep walking around. I ended up asking him three times before giving up and having tea. This is quite embarrassing for a 4* hotel....

A nice hotel though and we really appreciated the upgrade. Breakfast needs to be improved though, as well as the air con and possibly a new barman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went there during the high-water a month ago and had wondered whether we should cancel the trip. But luckily, we did not!
Although only a very short walk away from the river, the hotel was perfectly "safe".

Our room:
We had chosen the hotel based on a special offer and thus had an awesome suite on the top floor of the hotel with a huge and very nice balcony. The bathroom and the toilet (yes, separate rooms) as well as all the rest of our suite were clean.

The hotel:
We had free WiFi in the entire hotel! Breakfast was OK.

The staff:
The staff was very friendly and helpful. As nearly all restaurants in that area were closed due to the high-water, they ordered for us food from an Italian restaurant that delivered the food to the lobby and we were allowed to eat it downstairs either in the bar or their own restaurant (where they serve breakfast and lunch). The second evening, we had it delivered to our room and the hotel provided us with cutlery and vinegar/oil (as the delivery service forgot the sauce for my salad), so that we could eat it in our living room in front of the TV. They had also organized a taxi from and to the airport.

The location:
The hotel is located close to the river and also close to the stops of the tourist busses. However, if you are mainly interested in the center, you can even explore the city by foot starting from here.

Although our short vacation in Budapest was nice during high-water, we will surely go there again and we will probably stay in this hotel again - with or without discount voucher.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramona_P-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A barely passable hotel in the listed star category No restaurant in the hotel . Rooms rather big with a AC vent 12in. By 4 in. Which is grossly inadequate to cool the room. All complaints are fobbed off
To top it all used the hotel to call a taxi for the return flight . While on the flt credit card ( used to book the hotel) was hacked and used fraudulently Coincidence?
Somebody has tripped up in awarding it the best hotel in its category
STAYAWAY ESP. If not from Europe

Room Tip: As I said before stay away unless this is the last one standing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ignacio L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I had five nights in this outstanding hotel. It was perfect for us: a quiet hotel in a quiet area (I've never slept so well in a hotel before!), with a lovely and big room, free wifi, free bottles of water in the fridge each morning, and a substantial and tasty breakfast, all included. All of the hotel staff spoke excellent English and were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The air-conditioning worked really well, which you will need in the summer. The hotel is close enough to walk to the tourist part of the city, but only five minutes from a tram and the underground if that's what you prefer. I just wish all hotels were this good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1971ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#57 of 334 in Budapest
1,715 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Fraser Residence Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#81 of 334 in Budapest
1,468 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#82 of 334 in Budapest
1,346 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Address: Ganz utca 8, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $74 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing