We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money”
Review of Firkasz

Firkasz
Ranked #307 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The name means scribbler in English; referring to journalists. Internationally known artists and writers preferred haunt one, this cozy Hungarian restaurant, where other celebrities are reversed. Every night the famous bar pianist Otto Okros provides the pleasant music for dinner.
Leysin, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went there with my siblings to have a relaxed lunch. We ordered our dishes but we didn't even get certain courses such as the starters; we didn't even mention it to the waiter cause he seemed like he is living on another planet. After 40 minutes we got our main course where we didn't even get what we ordered exactly. The food was OK. I would like to mention that yes mistakes can happen and it is normal if you have a full house but there were only us (3 people) and another table (2 people). I work in hospitality and I don't think serving 2 tables correctly could cause trouble. At most of the restaurants in Hungary the service charge is 10% in here it is much more... I don't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fruity1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    110
    47
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic and Charming”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I entered this restaurant having just been pick pocketed on a tram which meant I was rather distracted and still attempting to report the theft to the local police. The owner of the restaurant made various telephone calls for me and I was given considerable advice by locals sitting at the bar - you may be able to imagine their responses.

The food is creative, generous of portion, accommodating to especial requests, well served and the wines first rate. The pianist invited requests although his British repertoire was limited to WW1 songs - but all with great enthusiasm.

A long convivial atmosphere - quite made me forget the robbery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Culverhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Scam”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the hotel recommendation. All was well until the arrival of the bill, which as it was hand written, set my alarm bells ringing - these days all are printed out. On checking we had been charged for an additional glass of red wine (we had ordered 3 glasses of white) plus 3 times the price of the white wine (I had been careful to point to the wine price on the menu) - an extra £9 on a £30 bill. The staff did not seem very apologetic over a deliberate effort to rip off foreign tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went for dinner to this restaurant the first night we were in Budapest last year. It's a small place, with an intimate atmosphere, and a guy playing piano in the corner. The guy who ran the place was really friendly and helpful, and spoke English with us. I had the most fantastic dish while I was there, with a sort of warm, soft, spicy cheese and bread, and I've been trying to find out what kind of cheese it was ever since. The food was delicious, I'd definitely recommend it. It's perhaps a little bit pricier than a lot of the places in Budapest, but we found Budapest to be particularly cheap by European standards, and it's certainly not expensive compared to most European cities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadameGateaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yes, this is a touristy place. But the service and the welcome were genuine. Food was excellent, a good variety, if fairly expensive.
The place feels good, with the newspaper as wallpaper; apparently it was a place that journalists used to frequent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firkasz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Firkasz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing