We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Firkasz

Firkasz
Ranked #312 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The name means scribbler in English; referring to journalists. Internationally known artists and writers preferred haunt one, this cozy Hungarian restaurant, where other celebrities are reversed. Every night the famous bar pianist Otto Okros provides the pleasant music for dinner.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great find. Excellent food and service. Recommended by our hotel with supporting views from previuos reviewers. A little out of the way but a restaurant that seems to be a local eating establishment for locals. Food was outstanding, service excellent, terrific atmosphere with live music. Highly recommend for a nice meal in budapest

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    96
    45
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A truly wonderful restaurant which was true to it's Hungarian clientele.

We were very lucky to find it having been given a recommendation by a local in Pest.

The food was simple but truly fabulous - given that I am a notoriously fussy eater, this in itself is a miracle!

I feel disloyal somewhat reviewing this as a non-local as I fear it will popularise a wonderful local secret but it was so fantastic that its a shame not to share....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
417 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

meat is very good...also some international food available...very good quality of raw material, prices are med-high level (compared to Budapest avg), very good choice at footwalk if you're staying close to Váci út (e.g. Hilton west end. NH hotel)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Host29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky but Fun”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having visted here twice previously and enjoyed the food and relaxed if not quirky character I recently booked the restaurant for a private dinner.

I was a little dubious that the 47 Euro all inclusive rate per head would whatever was ordered from the menu and unlimite drinks but thats exactely what it was.

Don't be afraid to ask your waiter/ess to talk you through the menu. I recommed chicken with noodles and pork with pickles.

The staff coped well in serving 40 people at almost the same time with our different choices and made sure that the Palinka kept coming!



Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Newspaper themed restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good restaurant serving typical (I think) Hungarian fare.

Good food. Excellent atmosphere, with a piano player on duty throughout.

Good service.

I recommend Firkasz.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firkasz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Firkasz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing