We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Hostel-Happyflat
Ranked #143 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really great place”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Me and my 7 friends stayed in happy flat in March 2012. The accommodation was great; it was clean there was plenty of room. The location was great; the flat is easily within walking distance of the tourist sites. The owner Csaba is a great guy he offers some really good advice on places to go and was more than happy to help you with anything that you need. We played Csaba for transfers from the airport to the flat, he was there promptly and didn't let us down at any point during our stay. I would highly recommend happy flat to anybody; the amazing cost defiantly doesn’t reflect how good this place is!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here for a 3-day trip to Budapest from the UK in March 2012.

This is probably the best hostel I've stayed in. Travelling with a friend, we had booked a twin room but due to redecoration we had the dorm for 8+ people to ourselves. This included a bathroom, a living/social area and a kitchen. (I will upload the photos I took).

The entire place was extremely clean and well-furnished. Free WiFi, a TV and all the facilities you would want in your kitchen. The social area is very spacious. Although we were just 2 people, I can imagine that staying here as part of a larger group would be a lot of fun.

Centrally-located, this Hostel is in a great position from which to explore Budapest. A short walk over the river takes you to Gellert Hill from where you can venture north to the Royal Palace and the beautiful Old Town. Or, staying on the East side, you can walk north to see the stunning Parliament building as well as find restaurants, cafes and some of the many Baths that you've probably already read lots about. (I ended up going to the Szechenyi Baths and have written a review on that page also. If you are planning on going to a Baths House then you may find my review there worth reading).

Transfer-wise, we opted for the airport minibus which I was very impressed with. Turned up at their desk at the airport (it's easy to find, next to the front door, and you'll see lots of advertising boards on your way through the airport). We gave them our city-centre destination and within 5 minutes we were on a bus with two other people being taken to our door. To book your return slot you call (or, in our case, our Hostel Host called) 12-24 hours before departure. It's always worrying putting your airport arrival in someone else's hands, but they turned up on time and it was a very smooth, efficient trip.

The Hostel is located within a courtyard behind a main door at number 8 on the street. That means it's relatively quiet once you're inside and free from traffic noise.

However, what really made this trip was the host. Csaba was so welcoming and friendly and his English was excellent. On our arrival (he had just finished cleaning) he showed us around the flat and sat us down to provide us with lots of information and plenty of local knowledge to ensure we enjoyed our trip. He gave us a map and marked out some highlights and also gave us some discount cards for various places. He was also able - should we have wished - to book places for us. As an example, he booked our ticket and massage slot at the Baths. This saved us queuing when we got there which was definitely worthwhile.

He was a terrific host and Happy Hostel was excellent value for money, very clean, very comfortable, well-located and very well run. I cannot find fault with any aspect of this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richp670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed there last week and it was great. We booked a double room but since they are redecorating the place at the moment, we got the apartment for 10-12 people and we had the whole place for just the 2 of us. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The location is great, really close to all the main sights. We were picked up at the train station, Csaba was waiting for us at the hostel and he gave us a bunch of useful tips and information about where to go, what to see and where to eat. He was very friendly so if you need any help, feel free to ask him - he's always around. Next time I go to Budapest, I'm definitely going to stay there again. :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanja_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarpsborg
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Since arrived from Norway the 14th.oct ..Great services at airport.
Csaba is a great person,deep in heart,sociable and helpful,all the time looking after the customers comfort and assistance together with Gabo the night guard.
The place is centrical and safe,no noise,no troubles.Very clean,really comfortable
Prices are v.cheap.In summary make your reservation and be sure that its done properly,Csaba the owner is very gentle.

Room Tip: Allrooms are excellent ,be sure to specify well your request to Csaba,so avoid misunderstandings.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghazi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Absolutely wonderful, central, clean and brilliantly decorated. Csaba (the host) is wonderfully obliging at every turn, whether one needs halal meat or a can opener, also is usually around if any job needs doing. The apartments themselves are fairly stylish, spacious and clean. Everything one really needs is available, definitely would go again and will recommend it repeatedly to anybody thinking about spending some time in Budapest. The apartment is extremely close to the nearest metro station and has many places to eat around as well as many supermarkets. Definitely the place to live when in Budapest!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are quicker to get in and out of, also genreally you can catch Csaba if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umhera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived to be picked up at arrivals from the airport and taken swiftly to the hostel.
Greeted by Csaba and given a really good description of the area and lots of details on where to eat, hang out and drink!
The service was awesome and truly friendly.
Highly suggest trying some of the local places to eat as Csaba suggested as we have just got back and was impressed!
Location is amazing and walking distance from all the things you would want to see.
Bali cafe was worth a try for the goulash soup!
Accommodation is clean and tidy and good facilities provided. Nice showers, kitchen and living area. Feels really secure and safe and although being so close to everything is chilled out and calm in the courtyard.
Csaba is a great host and we get the feeling nothing is too much trouble!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieljgrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our stay in Budapest was incredible thanks to the generosity and welcoming we got form Csaba (the hostel owner). He constantly went out of his way to help us and give is valuable information about what to do and what to see. Not to mention the accommodation was clean, spacious and safe. Awesome stay we would reccomemd to everyone.
Thanks Csaba!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7kinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#131 of 334 in Budapest
519 reviews
District V / Inner City
Colors Hostel
Colors Hostel
#112 of 652 in Budapest
128 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#7 of 652 in Budapest
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#55 of 652 in Budapest
67 reviews
District V / Inner City
Downtown Oasis
Downtown Oasis
#79 of 652 in Budapest
61 reviews
District V / Inner City
Best Choice Hostel
Best Choice Hostel
#90 of 652 in Budapest
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hostel-Happyflat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hostel-Happyflat

Property: Happy Hostel-Happyflat
Address: Ground Floor (Happyflat Varoshaz utca 8/C | 1.a, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Hostel-Happyflat 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happyflat located in the most city central of Budapest!We awaits all those looking for happy, family-friendly, vivid accommodation in the heart of the city with a well knowledge staff who ready to give you all information’s about day and night life of Budapest! You can be sure not get lost in the city in any way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Happy Hostel-Happyflat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing