We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Nearby Hotels
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$101
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$102
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$554
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
613
164
34
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
164
34
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomfree mini barthe cafe downstairscharming hotelsmall hotelhigh ceilingsjewish quartersmall squaresparkling winemain sightsthe ground floorfirst flooreach morninga wonderful stayroom rateperfect locationside street
Filter
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 824 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Hotel Gerloczy was EVERYTHING it promised. The period renovation is exquisite--our room was beautiful, cool and comfortable. The weather was very hot during our August visit, and the central air conditioning was perfect. The hotel is on a small street, a short block between main thoroughfares with public transportation: metro, bus, and tram. A myriad of restaurants, bakeries and coffee shops are within a minute or two walk. But you'll love the hotel restaurant with both patio and indoor seating. Our room was directly over the restaurant patio, and we were never disturbed by noise--even though this is a very popular and busy restaurant. The food is great, the wait staff friendly and attentive. The only awkward experience we had was sitting near some people from a tour group staying at another hotel who assumed the wait staff didn't speak English. (The waiter took it in stride.) Breakfast is a treat. There are extensive menu choices, and it would be difficult to choose enough items to exceed the 10 euro allowance for breakfast included with the room. The only difficulty is the menu is priced in florints and the allowance is in euros--so we did some math early in the day. We also had lovely dinners there a couple times. The hotel reception staff is attentive and highly qualified. They are all young professionals and very interesting to talk with on history and international matters. There is a safe in the room, a wardrobe to unpack, free in-room WiFi with a very strong signal, decent TV selections including CNN and CNBC. Great location, great value--look no further!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarasotaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Budapest and Kosovo. We stayed at the Gerloczy the night before we left for Kosovo and for three nights when we returned. The location couldn't be better,in the center of Pest just a few minutes' walk to the river, but in a quiet location. It's a small, charming hotel. Both our rooms were spacious; one had a shower and the other had a claw-footed bathtub. As if the hotel weren't enough, its cafe is excellent. There is an indoor seating area and one outside. At night, eating delicious Hungarian food on the little square under the stars is unbeatable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hated to leave and if we ever find ourselves in Budapest again, we'll certainly stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellencmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have spend only one night in this hotel (unfortunately), but I am sure that it will be my next choice again if we go to Budapest again. The hotel is located in the new hart of the city, on the Pest side. The receptionist was really kind and helpful, even though we arrived quite late (around 21:30) at the hotel. The hotel is located in a very nice building built in the19th century (I guess) and it has been beautifully renovated maintaining its original character: you feel like in a palace during the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy. We also had breakfast the next morning, which is a little bit tricky: 10 Euro/person consumption is included in the prepaid room rate, and if you eat more, than it will be charged to your CC. BUT: we have ordered a Croissant menu with fresh orange juice, plus extra croissant with jam, plus 2 caffe latte, and we did not reach the limit at all. So this should not scare you, it was a wonderful place for a great price. I truly reccomend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lallil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed 5 nights recently and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is well located in a lively area, just a short stroll to the beautiful Danube.
The interior of the place is nothing short of stunning. From the huge spiral staircase to the spacious bedrooms with high ceilings, the hotel has a wonderful fin-de-siecle feel to it. Similar quality accommodation in other European cities would be much dearer.
We ate there on three evenings and the food was good. Friday night they have a fish night and we enjoyed one of the best meals we've tasted anywhere, and at a very reasonable price.
The service and staff are generally very good and professional and the ladies at the desk very friendly and helpful.
If we return to Budapest would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valleysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

With our flights to Europe threatened because of the volcanic ash situation, we almost canceled our trip to Budapest. But it was the kindness and helpfulness from the staff at Hotel Gerloczy that persuaded me NOT to cancel my plans. A finer hotel staff could not be found anywhere at any price.

The hotel is an example of old world European elegance.....in immaculate condition, artfully styled and well-maintained. Located in a very convenient residential neighborhood, it is within easy walking distance of tourist sights and necessities: banks, atm's, grocery store, shopping, cafes, restaurants. Walking to the sights of central Budapest was EASY.

The bedroom area was in excellent condition, stylish and elegant. Beautiful furnishings and fabrics. Even the flooring was impressive.

The attached Cafe Gerloczy was very convenient, a comfortable, attractive place to sit serving delicious food at reasonable prices.

As I said, the wonderful staff deserves high praise.

The price per night is extremely reasonable....a great value.....BUT there are some important compromises that prospective guests might want to consider:

CONS:

There were no drawers in our room. We had to keep our clothes in the suitcases for 3 days. There was a wardrobe closet where we could hang a few things.

There was no mirror in the room. The only mirror was over the bathroom sink, hung very high on the wall so that a person at my height (5'4") could see only from the neck up. (Sometimes that's a good idea.)

The bathroom had, in my opinion, major deficits. As beautiful as the bedroom area was, the bathroom was in dire need of updating and upgrading. Everything was clean and in good condition. But nothing was convenient or comfortable.

There is no bathroom counter.....only a washstand. There is a tiny glass shelf on the wall under the mirror...but not very practical for use. There was a tiny, low table in the corner for placing some small items. But you had to reach across the toilet to get to it.

There was not even one hook on the wall to hold a piece of clothing or a toiletries bag. Without any counter space in the bathroom, it would have been very helpful to just hang a toiletries bag on the wall. But even this was impossible.

There was no shower curtain and just a very low rim around the base of the shower so that showering created a veritable lake in the bathroom.

The biggest problem for ME was the early morning noise caused by cafe staff arranging the cafe furniture outside. Every morning, between 6 AM and 7 AM, 24 tables and 48 chairs are DRAGGED across the concrete patio.....one at a time....to set them up for the days' customers. The sound was like fingernails on a chalkboard. I don't know how the residents of the neighborhood put up with it. (I don't know if this would be a problem if your room faced a different direction.)

Also, I do NOT recommend signing up for the 10 Euro per person breakfast package. There is absolutely no advantage for the guest to do this, other than to have the charge conveniently billed to the room.

We never ate 10 Euros worth of breakfast. But you don't get any refund. And if you eat more than the 10 Euros, you pay the difference anyway. So there is no advantage to arranging this in advance, in my opinion. And as we walked around the city, we noticed lots of nice cafes where we would have liked to try breakfast, but we had already arranged this with the hotel.

Lastly, a word about the Cafe Gerloczy: the hotel information booklet in the room INVITES guests to charge meals at the cafe. "Just show your room card." I double-checked this with the hotel receptionist when we first arrived, starving for lunch and without any Hungarian money. She reassured me that this was absolutely fine.

Our waiter at the cafe.....a short man with dark hair and thin, black-rimmed glasses.... started out very politely, with good English. When we asked for the bill we told him we wanted to charge it to the room and showed our room card. That's when things got VERY UGLY. He became the rudest, nastiest waiter I have ever encountered anywhere.

He refused to accept anything but CASH. I saw other diners paying with credit cards with no problem. I could only assume this waiter wanted to be assured his tip would be in cash. (360 fts....about $1.80 USD)

He REFUSED to charge it to the room. He REFUSED our credit cards. I tried to tell him I'd bring his tip later in cash. I was willing to say almost anything to calm him down. I told him to put his tip on the room charge or on the credit card charge. Nothing satisfied his angry outburst. The cafe manager was useless. He watched this whole thing and did nothing.

I ran back into the hotel and explained the problem to the hotel receptionist. She immediately jumped to my aid and spoke with the cafe manager. After an animated discussion in Hungarian, we were told by the waiter, without any apology for his temper tantrum, that the bill would be charged to our room. We fled ASAP.

My first instinct was to check-out immediately. But that would have used up our few precious hours in Budapest with making new hotel arrangements. Instead, we wanted to go out and enjoy ourselves....though terribly shaken and upset by this incident.

What a shame that this man feels he can terrorize cafe customers at his whim and that the manager watches and does nothing. They certainly do not fit in with the rest of the staff at Gerloczy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pacosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews