We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in Pest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #28 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel in Pest”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Gerloczy in April and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great location on a quiet street. The only drawback was that there was some remodeling going on in a neighboring building which created a bit of noise every morning. The coffee house restaurant was very nice with a good breakfast. The breakfast allotment of 10 euro was plenty for a good morning meal. The coffee house has a terrific outdoor seating area where we enjoyed crepes filled with cherries and mascarpone cheese and covered with creme anglais one day for lunch -- yum! Walking distance to all the major sights, restaurants and shopping Big rooms with enormous bathrooms. A terrific place for a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v3rmont3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    149
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
497
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Great Hotel, beautiful design, intelligent and helpful staff, nice cafe, great location, romantic, would highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is stunning, I cant write a bad word against it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were pristine, and beautifully decorated. The food in the cafe below was delicious, we enjoyed breakfast there every morning. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed in Gerloczy Rooms de Luxe for six nights. I loved the style in which the room was furnished, as well as the high ceiling. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, too, although the way they charge for it was a bit confusing (Hotel residents pay 10€/person for the breakfast which they command from a menu; you have to pay extra if that is exceeded). On my next trip to Budapest I know where I want to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korrigane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Great service, friendly staff, enjoyable restaurant, and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Upon our arrival by fast taxi (Zona) from the airport, we were taken aback by the location. We were shown to our third floor room and upon entering the sun filled room we were well pleased, modern but refined in that certain style. Proximity to the city and close to a laundromat, we had it all. The breakfasts and dinners were superb. Three days later we departed and the lift had been put into service so that the luggage was of no concern to get it down to the waiting taxi for the next part of our trip via the railways of Hungary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1955Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I spent three enjoyable nights at Gerlóczy recently -- nicely appointed rooms, good service, and an excellent restaurant. Plus, it's conveniently located in Pest for walking, even into Buda, also pretty close to the metro. And there are plenty of other restaurants/bars close by. Gerlóczy comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#9 of 333 in Budapest
1,095 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#13 of 333 in Budapest
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing