We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully remodelled.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #27 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautifully remodelled.”
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Great service, friendly staff, enjoyable restaurant, and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    149
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
497
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Upon our arrival by fast taxi (Zona) from the airport, we were taken aback by the location. We were shown to our third floor room and upon entering the sun filled room we were well pleased, modern but refined in that certain style. Proximity to the city and close to a laundromat, we had it all. The breakfasts and dinners were superb. Three days later we departed and the lift had been put into service so that the luggage was of no concern to get it down to the waiting taxi for the next part of our trip via the railways of Hungary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1955Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I spent three enjoyable nights at Gerlóczy recently -- nicely appointed rooms, good service, and an excellent restaurant. Plus, it's conveniently located in Pest for walking, even into Buda, also pretty close to the metro. And there are plenty of other restaurants/bars close by. Gerlóczy comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed at the Gerloczy recently with friends. We were made to feel very welcome, rooms were clean and spacious, breakfast was adequate and we had a good evening meal in the restaurant. Everything recommended by Henrietta was spot on. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We were delighted with our recent visit to Budapest and our stay at the hotel Gerloczy. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Henrietta, the Manager. We had room #3 on the 1st floor and it was equivalent to a 5-star Ritz Carlton, with high ceilings, elegant decor and a lovely balcony. The only set-back is at night the restaurant on the ground floor can get a little noisy rather late, so I would recommend room #3 on the 2nd. floor (same decor and layout). Definitely worth a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Gerloczy is a contemporary French style hotel built in art nouveau style, with a bohemian ambiance and a very cozy atmosphere.
This hotel is perfectly located at the edge of the downtown shopping area at a mere 50 m distance to from the boutiques and fashion brands outlets.
The restaurant of the place has recently become one of the hidden good places to eat in Budapest, where people come for a very tasty lunch or dinner and a moment of relaxation.
Rooms are nicely decorated with a classic design wall-paper and classic but tasteful furniture. The rooms with the view on the façade of the 3 stories building have a nice small terrace shadowed by the old tree that grows from the terrace and adds a touch of romance to the whole place.
Breakfasts are tasty, though the choice is limited to the French and continental breakfasts. I missed my cereal and fruits breakfast, but it was not bad to change a bit for two days.
I recommend it as an alternative to the international brands, and especially if you are on a private visit in the city.
The wi--fi is complementary and works quite well. Definitely, a good choice and good value for money. I paid EUR 87 for the room and EUR 10 for breakfast. ENJOY!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristianionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This is a hotel with individual character in an excellent location. Some may find the stairs a trial, especially if you are on a higher floor, and the breakfast arrangement is somewhat odd, in that you are obliged to spend at least 10 Euro at the cafe but charged for anything over this. However, there is a great charm to the place, and the staff are helpful, albeit not overwhelmingly so. Easy walking distance to the metro and tram for major sights and in a pleasant location with a neighbourhood feel. We dined in the retaurant one night and found the food quality variable - there are better options very close by.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#9 of 333 in Budapest
1,095 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#13 of 333 in Budapest
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing