We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy traditional Hungarian stay.. Value for money... Good Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #27 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoy traditional Hungarian stay.. Value for money... Good Location.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Good location, great friendly staff, they would go upto any extent to help their guests in the best way possible for them. Traditional rooms with complimentary mini bar which gets replenished everyday.. contains sparkling wine, soft drinks, beer, fruits, chocolates.
At start faced problem related to cooling of room but then manager himself came to the room to make sure that our stay becomes comfortable..
That day in August 2013 one of the hottest day was recorded in history of Budapest climate. Our Room was changed without any problem and manager made it sure personally that we do not face any more problem during our stay.. I appreciate the kind of hospitality they provide to their guests.
For the Bathing Soap they use LUSH brand soap bars( very rarely used by any of the hotels i guess) with an interesting idea that the more your stay, the bigger soap bar each day u r provided with.
Compulsory 12€ breakfast will suit you with lot of variety in their menu.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    146
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
490
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here prior to river cruise for 3 nights and totally enjoyed it. Very reasonable price and have a quirky way of including breakfast. The breakfast is €12 each which is compulsorily added to your stay, if you spend more than the price then you pay extra. Believe me when I say that it is unlikely you will eat more than the 12€ each. Room was wonderfully decorated and bed was firm which suited us. Non smoking establishment which was excellent. Special mention to Steven at reception, always very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was over the restaurant but the noise was very minimal and didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue. My wife and I had such a good experience here that we wanted to add our positive thoughts to all those already shared. This hotel can be described as very quaint and beautiful. Our room was very nicely appointed and had a wonderfully traditional feel to it. The entire hotel, including the room was overflowing with architectural wonder and detail. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and actually tempted us to eat in the restaurant every night. Of course, we resisted this temptation for the sake of variety. We were very pleased to have chosen this restaurant and would select it again in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank britromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found Budapest to be an exciting city, as good as any city in Europe to visit, and better than most. The Gerloczy is the jewel of the center city. It's small and intimate, but very comfortable and modern, though it beautifully gives a taste of "old Europe," the Hapsburgs and all. The restaurant is outstanding. The staff made us feel as old friends. We would recommend highly the Gerloczy to anyone, and wish we had been able to stay longer.
j&n

Room Tip: Balcony room, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j-n108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I can definitely recommend Gerloczy as a good place to stay in Budapest. The building and the rooms are stylish, the staff are kind and helpful, the price is very reasonable, and the breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is full and delicious. It is a quiet location, and 15 minutes walk from some of the main sites of the city including the Buda hill, the Opera and the Turkish baths.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great rooms, ideal location, friendly and helpful staff a lovely hotel full of character. We were given lots of helpful advice by the reception staff who were also happy to book tickets for trips and make reservations for restaurants. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0nM0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iraq
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the Gerloczy Rooms de Lux. Positives: Very nice and responsive staff, terrific location, more than decent value for the price. Nice breakfast, free mini-bar(!) although selection limited. Negatives: Bed pretty hard, no coffee maker in room. Overall, we'd certainly stay again and can enthusiastically recommend to couples looking for a pleasant place to stay in the fascinating city of Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 of any floor. These are supposeldy somewhat bigger (we didn't get it) but are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSOIraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
2,338 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
1,068 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 342 in Budapest
269 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing