We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #35 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the right vibe”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Lovely room and bathroom with high ceilings, fantastic breakfast, great location. Went for the balcony room but perhaps the corner rooms would have been better at this time of year. Lovely staff with excelllent restaurant recommendations and local knowledge. You could stay in a big hotel, with an attached spa, bigger flat screen and more powerful shower but you would miss out on all of the little things that make this place so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    150
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
502
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Budapest. The hotel is in walking distance of most of the main attractions.

The room was lovely, as was the bathroom with a beautiful claw foot roll top bath. The bed was very comfortable and beautifully decorated.It was also warm which was great given how cold it was there.

The free mini bar was a lovely touch, and free wifi greatly appreciated. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The breakfast is served in the restaurant, and is all cooked to order rather than the standard buffet style you get in most places.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Gerloczy Rooms de Lux for our Thanksgiving holiday week. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The complimentary mini bar was a welcome treat after a day of sightseeing. Free WiFi was an extra bonus. We were pleasantly surprised to have wonderfully hot showers each morning which is not always the case in small European hotels. The staff was courteous and helpful with our questions.
We enjoyed breakfast in the Cafe each morning. The food was well prepared and tasty. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. My only complaint is the 12Euros per person breakfast charge which is a mandatory charge to your hotel bill. Between the two of us we rarely ate more than 16 Euros of breakfast. I think the breakfast charge should be adjusted downward as the food is not expensive.
We would definitely stay at Gerlocy Rooms de Lux again. It was easy walking distance to all the major downtown sights.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grannyinbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We loved the hotel we had a short winter get away in late November. The room was a warm haven: great designs, clean, with comfortable bed, the bathrooms are as pictured, clean with Lush lovely products. The attentive service and the tasty food and wine served in the cafe made for a comfortable stay. The location is ideal easy to even walk to nearly all the sites on the Pest side. The metro and buses are all within easy reach too

It's the small things that made our stay, The hotels spiral staircase is also a features, helpful and friendly staff, free wifi, minibar was a bonus,beautiful thought out room designs.

It was our first time in Hungary and in cafe Gerloczy and we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenyanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After spending 3-days in Amsterdam and 2-weeks on a river cruise, I can't think of a more enjoyable way to conclude our vacation than to spend a few days in Budapest at the small Gerloczy Hotel. The Gerloczy would definitely be my choice and recommendation to any of our friends and family visiting Budapest. The hotel truly exudes old European charm, and is complimented by its adjoining French-style bistro restaurant. The location is great and within walking distance to many of the sites of Pest, and only a few blocks to the Underground. The front-desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and the hotel manager (who is also the restaurant maitre d') could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. High recommendations!

Room Tip: Our room (#24) was on the second floor with windows along two walls. It was near the lift and stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David70471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late November with spouse. 3rd floor corner room very clean with windows facing two directions. Only 1 mirror over sink, high up. Free (included) mini bar; 1 each small bottle sparkling wine, coke, coke light, orange juice, beer, plain water, sparkling water, candy bar, and two containers, one with mini cookies and other with tasty cocktail snack.

Room was very hot and hard to control so had to open windows. Bed low to the floor but did provide comfortable rest. About three blocks to largest synagog, and easy walk to major shopping. Christmas markets being built while we were there so couldn't hop there. Did find another shopping district between Elizabeth and "green" bridge.

Did 2 separate free walking tours, one Jewish neighborhood and other major tourist sights. We tipped the tour guide well.

Had delightful dinner in the cafe the first night with excellent harpist. Breakfast deal was 12 Euros worth of food per person (required addition to your room rate). This converted to about 3,600 HUF. Omelet, coffee, juice, croissant and fruit bowl just about used up allowance.

We would stay again and recommend it for the fairly central location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I honestly think this is the best place to stay in Budapest. Not only are the rooms charming, but you can stay in the hotel for brekkie and dinner too. Bang in town, helpful staff, lovely decor. Love it.

Room Tip: The square is not busy so any room and any floor seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,128 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
166 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,137 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing