We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #43 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Here is what you get at Gerloczy: a small but quiet and beautifully decorate room, great pastries and coffee to start the day, and helpful staff to help plan the day. In addition, the location is perfect for those who want to explore the city by foot and/or public transit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sqies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 805 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed two nights at this small hotel. It was very well located in Pest old town & only two blocks from the pedestrian mall which is full of cafés, high end clothing stores & restaurants. The hotel is four blocks from the river so if you like walking this is a great venue. The staff, especially Istvan was so very helpful, spoke excellent English and was most willing to look up things on the net or print out information for us. Our room was on the first floor and was large and seemed huge because of the 15 foot ceilings & 10 foot doors. It had a balcony which overlooked the cafe. A free mini bar in the room was stocked with water, soft drinks, snacks & beer and was replenished every day. We had a very pleasant time here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrygirl6841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this wonderful city, a break that was only enhanced by this fantastic hotel. I have no idea why it is described as a cafe with rooms!!! The restaurant was full of guests/non-guests, locals and tourists for every meal of the day. It's a vibrant, lively place with wonderful attentive staff and delicious food.

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of all the main sights, the room was beautifully furnished, with bathroom fittings etc entirely inkeeping with the buildings elegant style. The staff are friendly, helpful and I can honestly not fault any aspect of the service provided by the hotel.

It was simply a pleasure to stay there, it added to our break and it is one of the few hotels i've visited where I would absolutely relish the opprtunity to stay there again.

Not to be missed!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (now fiance after the weekend) stayed at this hotel weekend 20 - 22 september. Room was amazing with super comfy beds, excellent bathroom and products and daily refilled mini-bar.
Great central location with 10 mins walk to chain bridge and also 5 mins from jewish quarter.

The bar was also great with very diverse menu. The breakfast system I feel a little complicated as we were allowed 12euros per person per morning for breakfast but menu was in forints - so made it difficult for us non-euro users to figure out.

The staff were helpful and polite and able to get us tickets to the Gellert Spa which was easier than buying at the spa itself.

I would recommend the pastries and scrambled egg for brekkie. We had the peasants breakfast and also big breakfast on the first day and were disappointed. But the second day we choose hungarian scrambled eggs and granola and freshly baked products and they were spot on.

Would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a wonderful stay for a very special weekend away!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Gerloczy rooms deluxe & it was just as good as our first..the Gerloczy is an experience that we have thoroughly enjoyed & leaves you with a wish to stay just a few more days..the reception staff are always eager to please and even helped us pay our taxi when we were a bit short on the fare..tell me what other hotel will do that..we love the Gerloczy and will have no hesitation in recommending..cheers

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Gerloczy for 6 nights. Just a wonderful place...an incredible staff from top management through the housekeeping staff. Marvelous choices for breakfast through dinner. Great location for walking to all points of interest and attractions. Easy access to public transportation and other restaurants. The staff of the hotel and cafe went above and beyond to be helpful to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guppy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great hotel with a good restaurant. We spent 3 nights of our three week vacation in Europe here. This was one of the two best places we stayed. We enjoyed our breakfasts - got to choose from the breakfast menue. We also had lunch and dinner here - great food and a harp player for the dinner. The free mini bar was welcomed after being away touring each day. The staff was helpful and our room was really nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with two large windows. Really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jockbaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#21 of 335 in Budapest
397 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 335 in Budapest
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,506 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 335 in Budapest
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing