We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Charming and Welcoming"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #38 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at Gerloczy. Felt like we had travelled back in time to a more hospitable world. The room was lovely. Breakfasts were delicious, as was lunch and dinner. I had the best goulash ever there. The front desk staff were wonderful. Loved the song of their resident canary. Very convenient location, right in the middle of everything you'd want to see in Budapest. I think this was my favorite hotel I've stayed at in all of Europe, considering how reasonable the price was.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 801 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Warm and kind welcome, extremely nicely furnished rooms with high ceilings and good daylight, charming bathroom, this hotel, well locatd in the center and yet quiet, on a beautiful little square, is a precious adress. Good breakfast, too, in the restaurant, which also has fun atmosphere in the evening. A pearl in its jewel case, Budapest.
E. Corrigan

Room Tip: Rooms with corner windows offer a nice shape and loads of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Gerloczy. Everything about it is perfect: The location, the interior design, the great food in the charming café, the chocolate in the free-refill-minibar, and, best of all, the friendly people who work here. The attention to detail is amazing: Thank you for the lovely pre-birthday surprise - you made the last evening of our stay even more special. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My son and I found the Gerloczy a perfect fit for our overnight stay. The reviews on TripAdvisor lead us to the hotel and they did the rest. Great hospitality, well-kept rooms with fitting style, delicious and enchanting restaurant, exceptional location. We will be back to Budapest and the Gerloczy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HattiesburgZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Gerloczy is simply wonderful. My room was a corner room overlooking the square. It was charming with high ceilings and beautiful drapes, chocolates on the pillow, stocked mini-bar, good soap products, etc. The location is great - within walking distance of many places. The staff was at the ready to meet all your needs - calling taxis, giving good advice on the sites, wonderful restaurant service, etc. They have a lovely restaurant (complete with a harpist at night!). It's upbeat and elegant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Negroni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Gerloczy is a little gem. The very central location puts it in walking distance of the retail heart of Budapest and many of the major sites. Metro and tram stations to the other sites of the city are within a 5 mins walk of the hotel. What sets the Gerloczy apart from the traditional chains are the little personal touches. The staff are, without exception, friendly, efficient and helpful. The generous 12 euros breakfast budget (3500 florint in local terms) covers a hearty and varied choice from the menu and the complimentary mini bar is a very nice touch. Alot of thought has gone into the decor and furnishings of the bedrooms and, as has been mentioned before, the spiral staircase is a splendid feature of the place. There is, however, a fully functioning lift which accesses all floors, including the recently opened attic rooms which are very light and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very attractive, older hotel, with a lot of charm. The rooms are fine, on the small side, but comfortable. And, a surprise for us, the bathroom floor is heated. Breakfast at their own restaurant is excellent, with a generous allowance for food ordered from the menu. We also found dinner to be quite good, with a charming harp player. The location is excellent, just 5 minutes from a subway entrance and a short walk to Vaci Utca (street), the river, or the magnificent St. Stephens Cathedral. A bonus is that everybody at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
389 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
356 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
210 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 334 in Budapest
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $88 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing