We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #25 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Axel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hotel full of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is perfectly located. The room was beautiful and full of character. The staff was very helpful, pleasant and friendly. Gerloczy has also an excellent restaurant and we enjoyed our meals there. We will definitely be staying there again on another visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    146
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
492
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by a person in the Hungarian Tourist Bureau in New York who sai that she always stays there. We could understand why. It has a perfect location to walk to all the tourist stops. The rooms are not modern but very nice. It is on a side stret so it was very quiet at night. Best of all was the restaurant. We don't normally eat in our hotel, but in this case the meals were so good that we took almost all our meals there. The menu is international with a good selection of east European dishes. They have a lovely outdoor cafe which we used when the weather cooperated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had read a lot of positive reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The building is full of character and charm. The room was lovely and clean, small but had everything we needed - we didn't spend too much time in it. We were able to walk to most of the sights and the transport system was fabulous. Staff were helpful but in particular the receptionist. She was very helpful, pleasant and friendly. The cafe was wonderful. Food delicious and breakfast was very tasty. I found it easy enough to figure out the 12 euro limit and for that you get plenty. Staff in the cafe were also very good and I will definitely be staying here again on another visit to Budapest.

Room Tip: Reception advised us to book a room with a balcony early next time as they are the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We heard about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux through a friend in Canada who had stayed there and highly recommended it. I'm so glad we went with the recommendation. We had planned to stay there only 2 days, but instead stayed a full 5 days, because we were so happy with our room, the ambiance and the location. The staff at Gerloczy were great, very helpful and professional. They helped us book tours, a concert and helped us get access to one of the amazing Budapest Turkish Baths (not to be missed). Gerloczy has an excellent restaurant that serves an awesome breakfast as well as dinner. We ended up eating dinner there twice, it was so good. Anna, who runs the restaurant, is a gem. Anyone looking for an intimate, small European style hotel with old world charm, yet plenty of amenities will be very happy at the Gerloczy. We also felt that the room rate was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We can't praise Gerloczy enough--it was perfect for us. It's a beautifully restored hotel, with impeccable workmanship in the renovated decor. Stained glass, etched glass, Art Nouveau details--every touch done with exquisite taste. Staying at this hotel and eating in the cafe you could believe you've been transported back a century in time, except with all the modern conveniences including free wifi. The entire staff in both the hotel and cafe is friendly and helpful. The location is prime and all attractions are easily reachable; the Danube is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. It also had a wonderful restaurant on location which was delicious. The breakfast was part of the hotel fee and was so good, but at dinner be sure to order a lemon tart..yum! There is also a piano player there 2 nights a week. We loved our room..small hotel with class, and a very helpful staff! If we come to Budapest again there is not doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucysofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This small hotel has a lot of charm and the location is excellent. On a traffic-restricted, quiet side street, it is near Deak Square from which you can take a bus to the Castle Quarter or a metro to just about anyplace else. It is an easy walk to Vaci Street, the Jewish Quarter and the Danube. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. All of this and the price is a very good one. If you are arriving by train don't count on being able to find one of the reliable (honest) taxis like City Taxi or Taxi 2000 at the station. Try to make arrangements with the hotel to be picked up or call the taxi company. Most, if not all, taxis at the station will charge you more than double the fair rate. We knew which taxis to look for and we were expecting to find them among the choices - wrong. The ride to the hotel is a very short one and should not have cost near the 5000 Forints we paid. The hotel can also arrange airport transportation for a fixed rate.

Room Tip: The bathtubs are luxuriously large but the next time I will ask for a shower. It you are not planni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing