We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, ideal location, pleasant staff -- amazing value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #25 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great decor, ideal location, pleasant staff -- amazing value!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Gerloczy for our first trip to Budapest, and it was a perfect visit. I loved the ornate but simple decor in the room -- it made me feel very chic. The staff was very prompt, friendly, and helpful when we had a minor lighting glitch in the room our first night. As we headed down to the cafe jet-lagged after our flight, the front-desk clerk made sure we got a table right away. The cafe ambiance was lovely -- twinkly lights overhead, seaside images projected on a wall next-door, and a relaxed French vibe. Breakfast was included in our room charge, and it was delicious -- the Hungarian omelette, the smoothies, and the fresh green apple juice were a great start to our days out sightseeing. And the location was perfect -- very close to museums and touristy areas, but quiet and low-key.

When I go back to Budapest, I'll definitely stay here -- and book far enough in advance to be able to get a room with a balcony!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieBeckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    150
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
501
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed on the 3rd floor in a wonderful corner room overlooking the outdoor patio restaurant. Both the room and the bathroom were very spacious and it came with a tub and hand spray. We enjoyed the restaurant so much we ate there 2 of our 4 evenings in Budapest. The breakfast arrangement of selecting up to 12 Euro worth of food from the menu allowed us to also order a sandwich. The Hungarian omelette was excellent as well as the pastries. The maitre d' at the restaurant was extremely helpful getting us information for traveling to the Formula 1 race at the Hungaroo.
All round a excellent experience and we won't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you don't like using a bath tub you may want to stipulate this as there was only a hand spray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holten
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

sometimes you arrive at a hotel and all is better than expected, this is one of them. It's a french twist which is given to this hotel and restaurant. We had dinner most of the days and it's really fantastic food, staff is helpfull although also here a bit French twist sometimes if it comes to speed . Rooms are basic but stylish and big. They have only some rooms, guess it's 15 or so , good as a change on the big chains.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan-wout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here after a family wedding in the countryside. Recommended by someone living in Budapest, It's off the beaten track and likely not known to the typical tourist. It's in a residential area, but close enough to walk to all you want to see in Budapest. If you're not in to walking they will call a taxi for you. Do not try to deal with hungarian taxi drivers on your own.The hotel is beautifully restored with a gorgeous winding wood staircase. It feels more like an apartment than a hotel. The rooms are small but tasteful with soaring ceilings and hardwood floors. There was construction going on next door while we were there - so it was a bit noisy, but the bed linens were very comfortable with super plush feather pillows. The bathrooms are "quaint" . They go worth the theme, but are not what a western traveler is used to. I hear some rooms have a shower and I'd advise requesting one of those. Otherwise, you've got yourself a workout trying to bathe in a short tub with a hand held shower spray. The price is totally reasonable and includes an excellent breakfast. Coffee was outstanding and the croissants delicious. We had dinner there as well and it was excellent. The service was worth noting. The waiter even went to buy us a newspaper at breakfast! If you want to experience what it would be like to live in the old pre-communist Budapest, this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very good room and restaurant. Good location, too. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed three nights and Cafe Gerloczy was great! The old building is beautifully renovated and the rooms are elegant and spotless. Firm mattresses, mini bar, and TV. Take stairs or lift. The location is good with easy walks to the Pest waterfront, market, main pedestrian street, city sights, and restaurants. The cafe downstairs has a wonderful ambience, delicious fare and you can sit outside in the shade of the big tree out front. Cafe G is a small, green, welcoming oasis in the midst of the city. Breakfast omlets and fruit drinks are good! We highly recommend Cafe Gerloczy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shemblackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place was beautiful! Newly redone, very stylish, nice location, quiet, good price, with terrific staff and an exquisite restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billingstwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
153 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#14 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing