We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, decent and efficient”
Review of City Hostel Pest

City Hostel Pest
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hostel Pest
Ranked #451 of 673 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for one night .. The service was quiet good.. The room was spacious but the shared bathroom with another room was a bit inconvenient.
As for the noise, our room was really quiet because we were on the 3rd floor.
A huge bonus is the free WiFi in the lobby .
For the relativly cheap booking the hostel exceeds expectaions and highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxj988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights at this hostel. It is cheap and you get what you pay for.
Had a room at the 6th floor so it was extremely hot and it was full of mosquitoes.
The place is clean and they don't assume any responsibility if someone steals from your room.
I liked very much the location, which is central and on a rather small street, so I found it rather quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristi_atreides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at the hostel for 4 nights, during august, at the 6th floor. It was extremely hot and I had a hard time getting to sleep because of the mosquitoes. However, for a 2 star hotel it was rather clean and the personnel was nice. Note that they don't assume any responsibility if somebody steals from your room and you share the bathroom with another room, so make sure you lock the bathroom door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zupper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at this hostel in July for 2 nights. It was very cheap so we didn't expect much. It was university halls used as a hostel in the summer, so just expect university style rooms and bathrooms.
There weren't any lockers so if you are traveling take a chain and lock, to tie to the cupboards to put valuables in.
I wouldn't say it was dirty, however I wouldn't say it was exactly clean. The location was good though, near the metro and you could walk to the bridges etc.
Overall worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalouiselaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A regular room, not quite big with a private bathroom and a fridge,We just wanted to stay one night to rest and this room was enough for that. Many people and many luggage always around the reception. The bathroom was not clean before our arrival. They accept the payment in euros.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichiPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were a group of 3 travelling through budapest, we stayed one night.
We paid 28 euros for a triple room with a shared bathroom -- a very good price for a hostel located so close to the city centre.
We loved the fridge in the room, but it needed another hour of cleaning. We found some hair on the bedsheets, which means the bedsheets were not changed.
There was no toilet paper and the towels cost 5 euros to rent.
There is a fridge inside the room, which was great, but it needed a good wash.

The bathroom is incredibly small -- if you want to sit on the toilet properly, you cannot close the WC door. The bathroom was not really dirty, but did need a bit more cleaning.

There is one bathroom for every two rooms, so your neighbours can walk into the bathroom while you are using it.
You also have to remember to lock the door to the bathroom when you leave the room, otherwise the neighbours can get into your room -- not very safe for your luggage.

I would consider returning if they clean the rooms properly -- it has good prices for its central location!

Room Tip: Tip: make the online reservation prior to arriving there. The prices are much higher without a reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The building is used by students as a dormitory and it's hostel during the summer season (as I remember well). The hostel is very good located, near the Kalvin square subway station (blue line). The Raday street is full of bars, restaurants and dives. Very nice neighbourhood. But the hostel is not clean and the staff isn't very helpful. When there some discrepancy between our previous booking (made by phone) and the reservation in hotel has occurred, the lady wasn't very nice and she told us that we have to move out... In the end was everything fine, but we felt disgust "a bit". However: if you don't have a lot of money and if you would like to stay in a good location and if you don't need perfect cleanness - choose this place :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaZielinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,205 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 335 in Budapest
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Pest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Pest

Address: Raday utca 43, Budapest 1092, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 673 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Hotel Class:1.5 star — City Hostel Pest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hostel Pest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing