We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
146
44
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
44
5
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 197 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our host, Zoltán was waiting for us at the front door to welcome us to his B&B, you realize that your stay will be a good experience. He explains where to eat and where not to eat. He steers you away from the pricey tourist traps and to restaurants that are welled priced and the food delicious. The rooms are nice sized, modern and clean. A nice touch is they bring you a pitcher of ice water when you return to the B&B from touring. I would like to return to Budapest some day and when I do I would stay at the Danube Guest House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. Great location and very helpful and accomodating hosts. Good recommendations for places to see and things to do. Especially the ruin bar. Very funky place. Thanks very much guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best guest homes ever! From the moment we walked into the Danube Guest House and were welcomed by Zoltan and Bob we felt right at home. We were impressed by their support given to us as first time tourists to Budapest and their attention to details about the local scene such as info about a "ruin" bar which we visited and enjoyed.As mentioned in other reviews the room, amenities, and location were great. Zoltan and Bob seemed to anticipate any problems that we might experience in Budapest and we really appreciated their advice in exploring the wonderful central location of their guest house in Budapest.We especially enjoyed sitting outside mornings in the solarium at a local cafe around the corner eating the free breakfast that Zoltan and Bob had arranged for their guests.We had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soocouple155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoltanPatkos, Owner at Danube Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks so much for you kind review!
It was a great pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Guest House is well located in the heart of Budapest on a quiet courtyard. Zoltan and Bob were delightful hosts. They were extremely helpful in planning our stay sharing information about sights to see, restaurants, transportation, etc. They were always available, hospitable, and accommodating. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in a nearby cafe was OK but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bob was the perfect host, friendly and attentive. Gave us a map and other info on Budapest. Each time we came in he provided us with a jug of cold water directly from the fridge. Much appreciated in the heat of summer. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. We slept very well. The fan was much appreciated at night. The wifi had a strong signal. The building itself is very interesting and it felt like going back in time in the hallway. Loved the old lift and staircase etc.

We walked from the Keliti railway station (about 20 minutes or so), and walked into the city every day. Close to the Synagogue so you can't get lost. Had a taxi to the Deli railway station, but it was cheap. Bob rang the taxi for us and allowed us to leave our luggage there until it was time to leave.

The breakfast was served at a cafe around the corner. We enjoyed it - a drink plus a choice of sandwich (it was bread roll with choice of fillings) or muesli which came with fruit and yoghurt or egg and bacon (not a huge breakfast but perfectly adequate - we enjoyed it). Enjoyed sitting outside eating breakfast before walking into the city.

Had a lovely stay and can recommend the Danube Guest House for a stay in the beautiful Budpest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavender128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoliBudapest, Owner at Danube Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, It was a great pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews