We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
146
44
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
44
5
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose to stay at Danube Guest House for our visit to Budapest, definitely the right choice. We stayed for 4 nights loved Budapest it is a fantastic city 10 times better than Prague. We are a young couple in our mid twenties found Budapest to be so diverse with something for everyone, and our accommodation toped off an overall great stay. The host's Zoltan and Bob are both extremely helpful giving us a map and taking time to show us what to do from sites to see, places to go for a drink and some fantastic restaurants that you would never find on your own. They also helped us book the activities we wanted to do while we were there. Location is very central, everything we wanted to see and do was all within short walking distance from the Guest House. When we go back to Budapest we will not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to anyone planning a trip to Budapest

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcowlishaw_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights. The location is very good and safe. It is behind the beautiful synagogue. When you check in you recieve a map of the town with a lot of good tips and advice. Indeed, Zoltan and Bob are very helpfull with everything. The room was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable. Really, if i go back to Budapest i will stay here again! By the way, a very good value for money i have to say!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Located between the Keleti train station and Pest old town, in the heart of the Jewish quarter, this guest house is well located and beautifully refurbished. The rooms are all great with tasteful decor and good beds and showers. Zoltan and Bob were knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and accommodating. The immediate neighbourhood is full of interesting architecture and is really buzzing at night, without being crowded or noisy. Budapest is a great city with a wide variety of things to visit and do. We had a great time. Breakfast is by way of vouchers round the corner, and you may want to get there early unless you like fired eggs - but also ask for the yoghurt and muesli which is delicious. Thanks again Zolly and Bob!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Zoltan and Bob were fantastic and made our visit both fun and memorable. Throughout our stay they were both helpful and friendly.

Our room was comfortable, although it was hot in the day time (need some bigger fans when it is over 80 degrees) but by the time we got in each night from our exploits not a problem. We slept with the windows open without a problem, but some might not like the noise (we are from a city and are used to street noise). I would however replace the ceiling lights with ceiling fans which would be great when it is really hot!

The breakfast situation is a little strange in that you have to eat down the street at the "Bocadillo." The meals offered there are not the best but are adquate, but again the staff is great. Be sure and go early as the Bocadillo tends to run out of "the good stuff" the later you are into the morning. All in all, because of Zotan and Bob, we would stay at the B&B again, they truly make the "visit" memorable and we were thankful for their help and friendliness.

Room Tip: Street noise can be a problem (several bars outside the windows) so if you are overly sensitive I would suggest talking to Zoltan and Bob when you book your room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickLori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Danube Guest House. Everything was very well organised by Zoltán previous to our arrival and him and Bob helped orientate us very well. They always had interesting little tips and good suggestions of what to see, do and where to eat. They seem genuinely enthusiastic about the city which as a first time visitor was really nice. They are also very friendly and help you feel at home.

The location is perfect, close to a metro and tram stop though much of the city is walkable from the guest house. I'd definitely stay again and am sure I'll be back in beautiful Budapest.

Room Tip: Room 4 faces the street so there can be some noise issues. However, they've put new shutters in which actually eliminates most of it. Room 2 looked like a much larger and overall nicer room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews