We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historic beauty in the heart of Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danube Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danube Guest House
Ranked #23 of 186 Budapest B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historic beauty in the heart of Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here over Thanksgiving 2012, and I came across this place on the internet. After communicating with the establishment, I decided it was a much better choice for me. The owners (Bob and Zoltan) are warm and resourceful. Not only they gave me the origination after I check in, but also provided additional information that I needed (i.e. finding the office for train ticket sales).

The guest house is located in a beautiful historic building, and the exterior is gorgeous. Inside the guest house if full of modern amenities, stand in shower, towel warmer, secure room (with lock inside via a key). I stayed in a single room with a small bed, and it was sufficient. They provided me a kettle as I like to make tea from time to time.

Guest house also offers a shared fridge to use for food storage. The place is a bit hard to find, but once there, it’s pretty easy to get around. 5 min walk to public transit (bus, subway and tram), and plenty of eateries around. It is two subway stops away from the main station (where you can take a bus to go up to Buda Castel area). Easy bus ride to the Ruda Bath for the best Turkish Bath in Budapest.

Guest house provides breakfast in a nearby cafe (included in the price of the room) which is a nice touch. You have a choice of sandwich or eggs with ham with coffee or tea. Free Internet connection all over the facility, and you can elect to pay in either USD, Euro or local currency.

It's quite a bargain compare to hotels, and an inexpensive alternatives to regular hotels. I would stay here again next time when I visit Budapest.

Room Tip: * Spend the extra to get a double bed even for solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    44
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
105
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for new years
Fantastic place, right in.the middle of.action next to synagogue
Good rooms - well decorated
Price is decent for Budapest
The owner/staff friendly and quite helpful
They hook u up with good deals for cruises and baths and give you good advice
Just two complaints
1. I had a friend stay with me for 1 night cause of a flight mishap - and they charged.me 25 E for that and no features for that - no comforter/bed
Then.why charge that money ?
2. The breakfast - both in. House one on.new years day and the one at bocadillo.cafe don't even come.close to what other bed and breakfasts offer during my stay in central Europe around the same time

Other than that, no complaints and I don't think you can go wrong with this nice place

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoliBudapest, Owner at Danube Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Sorry you were not 100% satisfied. Most people are happy with the breakfast. We try to do the best we can afford while keeping our room rates low.
As stated on or rates page a doube room is for a maximum of 2 persons. There is one bed in each room and there are no extra beds.
When you asked if a third person could stay in your room for one night we made an exception for 25 euro which you agreed to. The additional charge to cover hot water, towels, internet access and breakfast (bought in advance) for the third person.
We do not have extra comfortors since we do not have extra beds but there are plenty of extra blankets and pillows. Another room had become available by the time you arrived but you declined to take it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Though The Danube Guest House was a bit tricky to find at night (the doorway/sign is set in), but once we found it, we were so glad we did! Just be sure to have the street address - it is part of an apartment building - you ring the buzzer and they will come down to let you in the first time. After that you are given an entrance code to get inside. Zoltan and Bob are the most hospitable hosts offering suggestions, tips, answers to questions, etc. as they are on-site/available when you need them! (Bob even helped us buy opera tickets online and printed them out for us! What service! and with a smile!) They don't have breakfast there, but provide breakfast vouchers to a small, well-run, near-by cafe which you just use when on your way for the day. Plus there are tram and metro stops right there making it all very convenient. The rooms are clean and varied in size and priced accordingly, so you can choose the one that fits your budget and needs; the best prices we saw in all of Europe! They are all on the one floor, so no stairs to climb other than getting from the building lobby to the antique elevator (fun and working!) The area has some great restaurants and clubs. We enjoyed it all so much our original reservation for 3 nights turned into 5! So, what are you waiting for - Budapest was our favorite city of our month-long European trip and you won't find a better accommodation anywhere!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms: the first room right (#1) off the entry was large; the second roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed for four nights at Danube Guest House and loved it. I had requested a single room -- which was small, but was well equipped with everything I needed, plus I was only there to sleep -- at 39 Euros it was great! If you want a larger room -- ask for a double room. All rooms are nicely decorated, neat and clean. I even had a duvet while I was there. Bob and Zoltan were the best hosts that I had on my visit to Eastern Europe over three and half weeks. They gave me a warm welcome and offered tips on what to see, where to eat and some little "gems" nearby. This guest house is centrally located, with the little restaurant where you have breakfast right around the corner -- again with welcoming, lovely staff and a good choice of breakfasts including bacon and eggs with toast, breakfast sandwiches, or a croissant if you want to eat light -- all choices included coffee or tea.

While there, every evening, Bob would make me tea while I accessed my e-mail messages. I had many lovely conversations with Bob and Zoltan while I was there. The last day there, I had a small problem with my next flight out of Budapest -- when I went to confirm my flight, my airline could not find it! While on the phone with the airline, Bob stayed right by my side and assisted me to straighten things out, offering some great "tips" on how to deal with the airline rep. Bob and Zoltan are both well traveled..Thank-you Bob and Zoltan for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Single rooms are small, but very well appointed. If you like more space, even if you're on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaineandree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October and were thrilled with our choice! Zoltan and Bob are so friendly and helpful - it made us feel like we were staying with family. They were so helpful with recommendations of things to do and see, and gave us the best restaurants to try for dinner! The location is wonderful and the rooms were beautiful! We will definitely stay here again if we return to Budapest!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80noodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent an excellent four days in Budapest recently and stayed at this hidden gem. We had looked at numerous places to stay but all had hidden taxes to add into the price or no breakfast or quite far out of the city and yet this was all in the price and we could also pay in Euros. Our double room was spacious with en suite facilities and all guests seemed to observe the quiet rule so we were not disturbed late at night. The hosts could not have been more helpful and their directions and restaurant recommendations were spot on. It is so central that we walked everywhere except to Heroes Square and the baths. The free wi fi was useful too to keep in contact at home and you could use their Internet keyboard for 30 minutes for free too. Would recommend this to other travellers and if we return would stay there again. Thank you for such a great time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

it was difficult to find in the first place, but once you are there, the location is great, breakfast is served in a cafe around the corner, sitting outside a street cafe people watch and taking breakfast is great. the room is tiny, but i was there for 8 hours a day to sleep only, so it was fine. the hosts are very nice, they made me a cup of tea every night before i go to my room, thank you. great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blkman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#83 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Centrooms Apartments
Centrooms Apartments
#179 of 646 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Centrooms House
Centrooms House
#25 of 186 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House
#22 of 186 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
No. 7 Guesthouse
#28 of 186 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amazing Hostel
Amazing Hostel
#71 of 646 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danube Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danube Guest House

Property: Danube Guest House
Address: Dohany utca 16-18 | 1/2 Floor 1a, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in central Pest 50 meters from the Great Dohany Synagogue.You can easily walk to most everything you may want to see!​The hop-on hop-off bus can be boarded at the Great Synagogue 50 meters away.We are 10 minutes walk from the Danube River!One block away is the most popular "ruin" bar, Szimpla!There are number of restaurants and coffee shops in our block.The public transportation system is outstanding and easy to access from Astoria subway stop just one block away.All rooms have quality heating all ensuite private bathrooms with showers, and central hot water system! Free high speed wireless internet (Airport Extreme) if you bring your laptop. Or you can share our Mac.Hair Dreyer in all rooms.Free breakfast LCD flat screen TV in all rooms with cable channelsThere is a full size refrigerator/freezer for guests shared use.We have free maps and brochures and will give you all the directions and help you need.The building has an elevator so you dont need to struggle with your luggage on the stairs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing