We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
146
44
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
44
5
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The accommodation is very central (2 minutes from the largest synagogue in Europe) and close to the metro. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants nearby if you don’t fee like going too far.

On arrival were given a drink and talked through the main sights and attractions on a local map.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Cold water was available (as well as hot drinks) and there is a communal computer to access the internet if you don’t have your own facilities (free wifi is also available) Breakfast was at a lovely local café two minutes away.

We would also recommend the free walking tours. These were fun and informative and a great way to find out more about Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinzGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We chose the Danube having read the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. The guest house is immaculately decorated and spotless. Our room overlooked the street but double glazing and the very comfortable bed meant we slept very well. Breakfast is at a small, delightful cafe just round the corner where you can sit outside and watch the world go by. Our hosts, Zoltan & Bob, were most welcoming and friendly and provided all the assistance you could want: an umbrella if it rains; jugs of cold water from their fridge; help with car hire; organise taxi to airport. On arrival we used the half-hourly Weekend Bus from the airport that stops just down the road from the Danube which was one of the suggestions on their web-site. We have rarely felt so "at-home" as we did at the Danube. We can unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DestinySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

When we arrived at Danube Guest House we were greeted by ostensibly kind and helpful hosts - Zoltan and Bob. We were allocated a room with a defective bathroom and were given instructions on using the bathroom. While we followed these instructions precisely, the pump in the bathroom burnt out during our stay. At the time the pump broke Zoltan and Bob did not intimate that they intended to charge us for the cost of repairing the pump that, in hindsight, was obviously inadequate given the detailed instructions provided upon arrival and the care taken when using the bathroom.

When paying our bill for the room at the end of our stay Zoltan and Bob sprung this on us and refused to discuss rationally. They justified charging us for the cost of repair on the basis that "in the past other guests had broken things, such as windows, and had not paid for the repair". Flawless reasoning. Extortion.

It left us with a bitter sentiment towards Danube Guest House.

Room Tip: Look for a different place to stay!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bruceyxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoliBudapest, Owner at Danube Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Your low rating is only because we asked you to pay for damages as stated by your partner in the review below. This reviewer was not here when the damage occurred on the 2nd day. Until then the toilet was working perfectly.
We have signs in the room that say, " if anythig is not working right let us know immediately" She did not notify us of any problem even when the electric power went out more than once and when asked said I didn't touch anything I am just reading.
You dont have problem with us until we ask at check out for pay the damage you caused! What you paid was only the service call for the plumber.
The sign in the room clearly says you are responsible for any damage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Zoltan and Bob were great hosts, they provided us with suggestions about where to go, what to do while we were in Budapest. During our stay, the Costa we were supposed to have breakfast at every morning shut down, so we were refunded the value of the breakfast we were going to be missing out on. This was not a big issue for us - although it made it a little more inconvenient, it did not make our stay any less enjoyable.

The rooms themselves were awesome - clean and definitely comfortable. Because we were at the room right at the end, the internet was sometimes a bit unstable/slow, but not a big problem as we could use it in the common areas. The building is quite scary, and there isn't really a large sign that says "Danube Guest House", but this is not really an issue after you find the B&B the first time. Overall, an enjoyable stay and I would return if I was back in Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stripeytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoliBudapest, Owner at Danube Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Hi,

This is a 1 year old review. It was less than a week before we made arrangements with Bocadillo caffe to provide breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was a great place to stay. Zoltan and Bob were extremely helpful even before we got there. They filled us in on the best way to get from the airport and the second we got there they sat us down with a city map and told us where to go and what to see. Extremely convenient location, right near the Great Synagogue, nothing was a far walk. Rooms were very nice and very spacious. Breakfast was at a cafe around the corner from them, but don't let that scare you away, the food at the cafe was a great. Also, don't let the appearance of the building when you first walk in the bottom floor worry you, once you get into the Guest House its very nice. Definitely would recommend to everyone to stay here, can't beat the price, location and service you get here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews