We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Budapest”
Review of Goat Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goat Hostel
Ranked #155 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place to stay in Budapest”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Goat Hostel for three nights. The hostel is located close to the old markets which was great for buying our food and cooking in the kitchen. The rooms were large and clean, the common room large and clean, and the breakfast was good. Steve was very helpful in explaining the city and a friendly person to be around. I would recommend this hostel to people wanting a comfortable and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisehenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed here on a weekend trip to Budapest booked on a whim. It was super central, easy to find, secure, clean and the staff were great. The guy we met on the way in made us a coffee while he sorted out the booking and payment and we were soon off out into Budapest. The people staying ranged from long term and young travelers to older people who were on a trip like we were. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place was awesome !!! It was literally just a tiny little hostel with a few rooms in an apartment but this really meant that the owners and staff could give a whole lot more personal attention to their guests than in larger hostels. I would have thought that with such a small place that the atmosphere would be lacking a bit, but this was not the case at all, and it was very easy to meet with all the travellers staying here. The location was really good and I was easily able to see most of the cities major attractions with just a simple stroll out the front door. It was very clean and was decorated in a really cool style, it really felt like a home a home from way and it was of course a great base to explore the amazing city of Budapest !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice size dorms; I stayed in the largest with a group of University friends and the room was fine and we each had a locker to store our bags.
Two separate showers (one more of a bathroom with toilet also and the other a small shower room) as well as a separate toilet in the hallway.
Toast/ cereal / juice for breakfast is really great; help yourself and plan your day in the kitchen area.
Nice social space/ living room area with big sofa and beanbags - perfect to meet others or if in a large group already (as we were) to chat and share drinks/ snacks.
Very helpful staff; always willing to show you on a map where things are etc. and make you coffee!
In general; good low-cost yet comfortable hostel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucretia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's a nice place with a nice location, we had no problems at all finding it. The receptionist was really nice, he helped us carry our stuff to our room (there was no lift and the hostel is on the 2nd floor) and recommended us many interesting places to visit. The breakfast was simple but good (cereals and toast) and the receptionist also made coffee for us, which was great. It's a clean, friendly place. The only bad thing was our room's window was turned to a busy main street, which can get pretty loud.
Would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wonderful service -we had the appartment, ideal for us, including the sleeping loft. Good breakfast at the main hostel including barista duties by the owner. Close to transport or easy to walk.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlín, Zlinsky Kraj, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I think I'd go back to Budapest just to stay in this hostel again. Thanks Steve, Gabriel, and that girl who made me coffee. Social environment but not too noisy, not the partyhard type. The common room is better than Ikea, such a cozy place to socialize and chill. The outer appearance (building) may throw you off a bit, but once you step into the property you'll be pleasantly surprised! (Last time I went there, they were repainting and renovating the building so hopefully it looks better now). Only 5 mins away from Liberty Bridge! And there's Burger King nearby, also a 24hr convenience store right across just in case you need something in the middle of the night. Def recommending this to everyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czfny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#106 of 333 in Budapest
418 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 333 in Budapest
1,473 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 333 in Budapest
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#97 of 333 in Budapest
638 reviews
White Rabbit Hostel
#168 of 644 in Budapest
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goat Hostel

Property: Goat Hostel
Address: Vamhaz koerut 15 | 1st Floor 8, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Goat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing