We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, peacefull, safe and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Promenade City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Location of this hotel is marvelous! One can walk in 10min to the market hall, Gellert spa, metro, bridges and almost everythings is near - even the post office is round the corner!
Rooms were very clean, nicely furnished (cleaned every day) quiet, air conditioning was good exept at the hallway and easy to use. Wlan worked almost all the time(had own laptop with me) and was free, even the reseptionist said that they don't have wireless internet :) . Showercurtain was missing, but that was the only "problem". Beds were quiet hard, but okay.
Breakfast was varied: bread x3, cerials, fruits, sausagesx1-3, cheesex3, coffeemachine, tea, juicex2, yogurt, eggs, pastry etc.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull and the taxidriver they recommed for us spoke good english and was also helpfull. And the sightseeingtour they advertised (bus+boat) was really nice even though we like to explore the city on our own.
Really good hotell for us for 4night stay (two married couples round 40yrs old) !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jooppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 910 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2010

First time in Budapest. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was in the heart of the pedestrian street Vaci Utca but no noise in the hotel. The breakfast room was not big enough to accommodate all the guests of the hotel and we had to wait 30 minutes to get a seat. Also a shower curtain would have been nice in the bathrooms but apart from that had a wonderful time. The rooms were very modern and very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblescalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

First of all i was really impressed with the fact that the room was warm, as i got there in a cold rain, the ac unit could really heat the room up to a nice 25+ degrees. Secondly the bath was roomy, and nice. the rooms were spacious. Location is excellent just in the middle of the pedestrian shopping street
free wireless
good breakfast (for a meat eater, unsure what a vegetarian would eat).
I did not know if the hotel has a parking space.. one should ask

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Andrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Visited The Promenade on 4th April for 1 week and as with other reviews we agree the location of the hotel to be right in the heart of everything that happens on Vaci Utca the main street in Budapest.
The beds are a bit firm but that did not stop us having a decent sleep at night and as we were in room 308 and not over looking the main street, it was very quiet.
The staff at reception we found to be very helpful and pleasant.
The down side we found the breakfast to be the poorest we have ever come accross and if we never see scrambled eggs again it wont be to soon in fact one morning we arrived for breakfast at 09:30 to find that there was little or no food on display and there were othe guests coming in after us and as the breakfast ends at 10:00 it looks like we were all to late.One guest seemed to comment on this only to be answered with a grunt.
One morning we were all wakened at 07:00 with a fire alarm and ended up down at reception our out on the main street of course it ended up a false alarm due to a faulty smoke alarm but the anoying thing was that there was no apology from management for the disturbance.
On the food front we found the dishes to be very rich but very tasty in fact there is a little resturant as you leave the hotel and turn right, at the top of the street before the square called Planet Cafe and for 750HUF you get an excellent bowl of goulash soup and the rest of the food you get massive portions it definately worth eating there.
During the day as you would expect very touristry but at night the prostitutes walk up and down the street propositioning any male not with a female partner.
But all in all we enjoyed our time there would we go back to the Promenade probably not, if we want something other than location

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jones19553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and could not fault the hotel for price, location or the helpfulness of the staff.
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main metro interchange station so getting there from the airport is really easy. Take a train from the airport then a short trip on the metro and a 5 minute walk and you are there all for about £4 rather than an expensive taxi.
The hotel serves a good continental breakfast with the addition of scrambled eggs and hot sausages which can set you up for a good days sightseeing. Most places of interest are no more than a 20 minute walk away e.g. Parliament, Buda castle, the central market. Should you need to go further a field then it’s under a 5 minutes to metro stops and bus/ tram routes.
The rooms a freshly decorated with a flat screen TV, minibar but no tea/ coffee making facilities. The bath room looks very nice but if you like a long shower with plenty of water you might have a very wet floor as there was no shower curtain. But a part from that it is a very very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andychem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We chose this hotel because of its central location on Vaci street, close to underground stations and river Danube. The hotel is not big, however it occupies eight floors, including one technical floor. Beware of the fact that only minority of rooms has windows facing the street, most of them have windows facing the extremely small inner yard (patio) under the glass roof or might evenhave no window. Our room was with inner yard window and located near the elevator, however the window was sound-proof and noise did not disturb us at all. The staff was friendly and helpful during our whole stay.

Bed was wide and comfortable. There was LCD TV, hairdryer, and plenty of electric outlets. Lighting equipment was good, allowing us to turn on as much light as we wish. However ... sink was bit broken, and could not resist every time we increase water flow. Also the shower ... was broken, and there was no shower curtain that was inconvenient. WiFi was free and reliable, but not very fast. Breakfast room is located on the 6th floor, and it is relatively small. Buffet breakfast was average, however there was good coffee and tasty bread. Close to the entrance of the hotel there is good and inexpensive Italian restaurant. Also there was good shopping center just on the other side of street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Promenade Hotel. We found check in quick and easy, and the staff quite friendly. Our room was basic - minibar, TV, wardrobe, desk and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and well equipped with a heated towel rack. However the shower head over the bath tub was a little inconvenient because the bath tub was small and the water sprayed all over the ground as there was no shower curtain. Not a major issue though.
Breakfast was basic - a couple of cereals to choose from, juice, coffee machine, yoghurt and bread. There was also scrambled eggs and sausages however we didnt find these very nice.
Location of the hotel was perfect - right on Vaci Utca where there are plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from. Free Wi-Fi was also quick.
If you are after a basic, cheap and comfortable hotel, we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 336 in Budapest
1,554 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#50 of 336 in Budapest
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#53 of 336 in Budapest
1,231 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $59 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing