We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade City Hotel
Ranked #78 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location for this hotel, right on the vaci utca, the main shopping street of Budapest, but in no way did the hotel suffer from external noise. Rooms in very good state of order, very comfortable. Breakfast had everything you expect from a continental breakfast, no bacon and eggs of course, and weirdly no toast, but plenty of it, and was replenished through the breakfast period. Breakfast room was a bit tight for space but certainly no queues as seen by other reviewers. We booked as a flight plus room package from Jet2 so can't comment on hotel cost, but the total deal was very reasonable. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Part_time_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Promenade City Hotel and for your kind comment.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the location, the hotel room and the breakfast as well.
It was our pleasure to have served you. And we are very proud of your opinion as a senior contributor on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards from Budapest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    412
    105
    30
    11
See reviews for
139
380
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was taken to Budapest for a big birthday and loved it. I suppose I was expecting a river view (silly me) but a view of the lift we had just come up in and a wall were not really what I anticipated. I should add that I only knew at the airport where we were going !! But other than that it is a spotless well run hotel - modern furniture - good quiet airconditioning and substantial breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel if you want to see outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryWeakTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Veryweaktea,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and for choosing Promenade City Hotel for this special event. Delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel in general, with the room facilities and breakfast as well. I hope that we could participate to have a nice memory of Budapest.
I am sorry to hear that the view did not meet your expectation, unfortunately the number of those rooms are limited.

I hope that we can welcome you back in one of our street facing rooms in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good location in the main touristic and pedestrian street, close to the Danube.
The rooms are simple, modern, well equipped, comfortable.
Hotel employees were nice and helpful.

Two weak points :
- From the rooms on the outside corridor, you can't see the sky and barely the daylight
- The breakfast room is so little compared to the number of sleeping rooms, that you have to queue in the morning before having breakfast

Room Tip: From the rooms on the outside corridor, you can't see the sky and barely the daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafalda591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us and sharing your honest feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, the staff and the room of the hotel as well. We truly apologize for the inconveniences because of the awaiting time at breakfast. Our staff always try to do their best but this weak point due to the architectural facility of the building. I hope that the service compensated your negative experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Promenade City Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotels' greatest value is its location, is it literally located in the city center where you can find everything in 100 m. Rooms were nice and clean and stuff is helpful. It is great place to stay for young couples, seeking no luxury but convenient location and nice rooms. Next to the hotel is a great Italian restaurant where we were eating every day. Also, there is a great traditional restaurant at the riverside where you can find very nice traditional meals. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlemsnocturne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive comments regarding our hotel We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the personal service of the hotel staff and with the restaurants nearby. Your comment is very important to us and I will share it with our team.

We really hope that we will see you again at Promenade City Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a stay during the July heat..

First room the air con didn't work at all, it was a very warm sweltering night! We then got swapped to a street room with windows which was better but still very hot - at least we could open the windows... I think the air con is old and struggling to cope in the weather - which is not great as it gets extremely hot in Budapest!.

The hotel staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpfull whilst we were there.. Clean place with good facilities and fab location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in early June 2013. The hotel is located on the pedestrianised Vaci Street and is excellent value. The room are spacious if a bit basic but you have all you need. There is a very good breakfast choice on the sixth floor and the staff are friendly and helpful. The Vaci Street tourist area in Pest is still being developed and improved as does all of Pest it seems.
You may need to check your restaurant bill if you choose to eat on this street. The food was quite good but I really couldn't tally up what we were charged in a couple of places, and the violinists who come to your table expect a generous tip. Try Cyranos round the corner. A bit dearer but probably works out the same after the dubious bills you get on Vaci. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in June.

Hotel location is excellent - walking distance to most sites and close to 3 metro stops. On the main pedestrianised shopping street.

Presented with a welcome pack on arrival containing attraction leaflets, vouchers etc.

Room was small (single room) but extremely well designed to make the most of the available space - all furniture was modern, air-con, fairly priced mini bar and even real hangers in the wardrobe, (rather than those permanently fixed things!) Free wi-fi also worked well.

Room window looked out onto an internal area, not really an issue though - Cleanliness of room, bathroom and hotel throughout the stay was excellent - though bigger towels in the bathroom would have been nice.

Breakfast room on top floor with a decent continental offer - could perhaps be improved by providing a toaster and a slightly bigger choice of cereals, but was certainly more than adequate for the price.

Staff were excellent thoughout - happy to make suggestions as to transport / attractions to visit.

Well worth visiting - if all the budget hotels were this good, we wouldn't need the expensive ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#54 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Property: Promenade City Hotel
Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing