We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budapest was a BLAST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Made Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Made Hostel
Ranked #88 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budapest was a BLAST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was travelling alone to Budapest and was a bit nervous to come to such a big city as a solo female during one of the colder, darker months. I was constantly charmed by the employees and fellow travellers here; not only was it a comfortable, fun space, it was CLEAN and safe! I stayed in a 8-bed room and had no problems sleeping even in the middle of the day. Everyone was quiet and respectful. The kitchen was well-stocked and there was even a free-bin in the fridge for left-overs. Bathrooms always clean. Staff always willing to help guide you to your next location, and to just have a conversation. Also the location is unbeatable - I felt like I knew my way around by the first night. Really wonderful place! Thanks!

Room Tip: 8-Room is right next to common area, but beds are clustered away into individual areas. 4-Room is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roooomebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    26
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
32
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from 5 nights at the home made hostel and the staff and other guests really did make it feel like home. Met so many great people here and if I go back to Budapest I will have no hesitation to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Home Made is really the right word for this hostel. I reached almost at midnight and spent just the night, and it was absolutely wonderful. There was home made Hungarian dinner waiting for me, free tea and coffee and no bunk beds! Washrooms were clean and had good hot water. Zoltan checked me in and he was wonderfully friendly and warm. Really felt like home. Great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suryabhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hostel was a great first hostel at the beginning of a solo trip and set the bar fairly high.
Very Clean bathrooms, bedrooms, kitchen and common area. Staff are really helpful, this felt like a chilled hostel where people respected others sleeping habits. I slept in the largest if the dorms. A little noise can be heard from the street but peaceful if you have earplugs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best hostel I have ever been ! Great staff, really friendly and helpful. They organised an amazing pubcrawl, cooked hungarian food etc... Always smiling and always ready to answer your questions / to give you many advices. The hostel is really nice, the dorm is confortable and cosy. You will find many ideas in the " living room " for your trip, like restaurants, activities, informations about free walking tour... the bathrooms are tidy, and the kitchen is really nice too, particulary if you want to meet new other travelers!
You can really feel like at home in this place... I will go back for sure !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Been traveling Europe for 2 months, this hostel definitely was the best one of all. It's right on the main street, close to metro, wonderful kitchen, awesome staff, free internet and off course, PRICE.
My bed was on the mezzanine floor and it's a little bit awkward bcoz I literally had a bed mate as our bed were next to each other. But the bed was cozy so it didn't bother me. They gave clear directions and it's easy to find the hostel. I stayed 4 days 3 nights and when I left, it felt like I left home. I had wonderful stays there.
My most fave things would be the kitchen and the staff. I left Budapest at night and the staff let me store my luggage while I was walking around, used the internet/wifi and cooked at the kitchen for free. It was amazing! And the hostel was close to cheap supermarket, low-price restaurant and stalls. It's a perfect trip in Budapest and really really affordable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRahayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The best thing about this hostel was the staff they were very helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, especially if you're more keen on exploring the party districts of the Pest side of the city. The hostel is well named because it did feel like a home rather than a hostel. I really loved the kitchen area which was really homey with free tea and coffee and good facilities. The hostel itself is quite charming, however, it was tiny so don't book here unless you're happy to be bumping shoulders with people constantly. I felt that there weren't enough bathrooms - only three among 22 people and you were always having to wait. Also, the bathrooms didn't all have windows so they had a tendency to be a bit smelly. They were all cramped together even though technically they were in different rooms, so everyone could hear each other doing their business which was a bit awkward. Also a bit weird was the fact that the staff members seemed to often take up all the space in the common room and even slept on the couch every night. But overall, it was a nice place to stay and I couldn't fault the staff they were great. The street noise was fairly loud so bring earplugs and there is no air conditioning so be aware it can get quite got in summer and there's no outdoor area to sit.

Room Tip: Maybe splurge on the private room with its own bathroom so you don't have to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Avenue Hostel
#25 of 649 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baroque Hostel
Baroque Hostel
#98 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#28 of 649 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hostel One Budapest
Hostel One Budapest
#102 of 649 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#30 of 649 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Made Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Made Hostel

Property: Home Made Hostel
Address: Terez koerut 22 | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Made Hostel. If you are a traveller looking for a friendly, well-located, home-from-home place, you’ve found your hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Home Made Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing