We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7x24 Central Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Enter Privates(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capital Hostel(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
31
22
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
22
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig living roomlounge areatwin roomcentral locationgreat locationruin barsmetro stationwould definitely stay here againstayed here for nightsroom was cleanagnesdentistwifielevatorpestprosprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 60 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at 7x24. A warm welcome, good location and clean, cosy environment will guarantee a return visit if we find ourselves in Budapest again. I cannot speak highly enough of the facilities and layout of the hostel, not to mention the extremely reasonable price.

The only minor point of annoyance was being told as we were leaving that we would have to pay for a broken standard lamp. No one in the group knew anything about the minor damage, and on closer inspection the thread that held the stem into the base had worn down meaning the lamp was on a slight slant, but still in working order. The damage was clearly a result of long term 'wear and tear', rather than an incident involving our group.

We were told the cleaner had spotted it the day before and had told the management immediately. It would have been good to have been informed straight away that this was an issue, rather than at the end.

Also the amount requested for a replacement was €20 as opposed to the full cost of the lamp which was €25. I said to the manager if we had broken it we would expect and be happy to pay the full amount. €20 was conveniently the amount left by each person as a security deposit and the cynic in me suspects that this lamp is never replaced, its just a way of squeezing out extra cash from groups during the quiet season who don't think to check everything upon arrival.

All in all this incident did not sour a lovely stay, but worth a check of equipment on arrival in case the management do routinely charge guests for damage they haven't caused.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurotraveller873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7x24CentralHostel, Owner at 7x24 Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

They were a few nice young people.
I found the broken nut of the lamp on the ground, while this group was the only guest in the hostel. Then we could not bring it to an upright position, but a wall has been supported.

Obviously someone did not admit that he/she made the injury.

This is not a real problem, of course, welcome them next time!

(All our efforts are working to hold this little hostel clean and pleasant in a very low price.
To illustrate: leave luggage at the airport is 10 EUR/day, one night in the hostel is 12Euro/person. The heating bill in December was 270 EUR.
So we must collect the cost of damage if we don't want a run-down hostel.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

It is the best hostel I have stayed out of 11 hostels!
Very nicely decorated you felt like at home. A kitchen with everything necessary to cook your own meals and free coffee, tea and MILK thorough all day.
The room was big and since there was no one in the room across the bathroom was only for us.
We loved the contact cards that serve to operate the elevator and to open the doors.
Really excellent! And it is the middle of Pest so you can go everywhere walking.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 3 because is in front of the living room and it could get a bit noisy
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainisil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I just stayed three nights at this hostel and it was sad to leave. We arrived after an arduous train trip from Prague and were quite tired. Our host quickly made us feel at home and comfortable with hints and tips about Budapest and a free shot on arrival.

The shower was very good, the communal laundry and kitchen facilities were entirely adequate, the WiFi reached our room and the hole vibe was comfortable and relaxed. When we left I even got a free t shirt!

I cannot recommend this place vehemently enough for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The central hostel we stayed in met us in all our needs. The hostel is located in the centre of Budapest and was close to the Metro station. The room itself was furnished with good beds, and, which I valued greatly, there was a proper shower. And even though the hostel is in the middle of a noisy city, it's nicy and quiet inside. Furthermore, every time we got home we could sit in the communal space, which was very comfortable.

Concluding, this hostel was perfect for me and my friends to stay in. And in combination with the reasonable costs I can do nothing but recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewout_hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We (4 young men) visited this hostel on our road trip through Central/Eastern Europe. Of all the hostels we have seen during our holiday, this one definitely was the best. It offers a decent room with a nice and clean bathroom at a very low price (€12 p.p. only). Next to the private area, there is a large kitchen area and a comfortable 'living room' with good computers. Due to top of the bill protection systems, we had a very safe feeling during our stay. The only complaint we could think of, was the fact the LED lights would not turn off entirely, so we recommend guests to ask how it is done.
It is near to the city centre of Pest and a supermarket is only about 500 metres away, as well as many (cheap) restaurants and monuments. Even the Budapest Metro stops at the same street.
We were very surprised that we were the only visitors at that moment and we can only wish that this hostel and the friendly people that run it get a lot more attention!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews