We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moving”

Shoes on the Danube Bank
Book In Advance
More Info
$183.53*
and up
Budapest Jewish Customised City Walk
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Budapest City Walk in Jewish Quarter
More Info
$55.00*
and up
4-hour Guided Grand Walking Tour of Budapest
Ranked #4 of 467 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“moving”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were determined ti visit this memorial after reading about it in the Lonely Planet, but found it difficult to get to as there was construction work happening along the riverfront and no locals seemed to know about it (or maybe we just asked the wrong ones!). Finally arrived and found it to be a very moving statement commemorating a very sad event in history. An excellent place to prompt reflection on life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,376
    3,453
    911
    123
    42
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique and Chilling Memorial”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a memorial to victims of the Holacaust. It consists of bronzed shoes of victims that were lined up on the shore of the Danube, were asked to take off their shoes and clothes and were shot, causing them to fall in the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hs10314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carrollton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poignant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I approached from too far up the Danube and had some very busy streets to cross, actually very dangerous. So it is important to approach as directed in the travel books. The shoes are silent, mute reminders of the evils of anti-Semitism, the Arrow-Cross, inhumanity. Sometimes these shoes are 'decorated' with pig trotters--a sign that anti-Semitism is not dead. They were simply there on my visit, with flowers tucked inside as kindnesses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very moving”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We saw this at the end of the day...very moving. Sat on the benches watching the sun go down which provided me the opportunity to sit back and think about what was lost by those who weren't in "the right mold". It made me appreciate how lucky I am. I have thought about those shoes along the Danube quite a bit since seeing them. A must see to pay respects and think about others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knuknuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very poignant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very moving site - a had read a lot of information about the massacre before I visited which made it much more of an experience. A pleasant place to contemplate and remember.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janric55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoes on the Danube Bank also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Shoes on the Danube Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing