We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving”

Shoes on the Danube Bank
Book In Advance
More Info
$186.49*
and up
Budapest Jewish Customised City Walk
More Info
$203.22*
and up
Budapest City Walk in Jewish Quarter
More Info
$55.00*
and up
4-hour Guided Grand Walking Tour of Budapest
Ranked #4 of 471 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very moving”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We saw this at the end of the day...very moving. Sat on the benches watching the sun go down which provided me the opportunity to sit back and think about what was lost by those who weren't in "the right mold". It made me appreciate how lucky I am. I have thought about those shoes along the Danube quite a bit since seeing them. A must see to pay respects and think about others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knuknuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,550
    3,528
    931
    124
    42
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very poignant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very moving site - a had read a lot of information about the massacre before I visited which made it much more of an experience. A pleasant place to contemplate and remember.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janric55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Very touching. We went to see it by ourself , since it was not included in any tours. Must see it when in Budapest

Helpful?
Thank inna m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A small but moving rememberance”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Could easily have been missed but was informed of the shoes on the Big Bus tour. This is not just art but a very moving remembrance to the second world war and you have to understand the history to appreciate the shoes.
Not for me to be the historian but read about it and stand in the spaces and think what this means.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shoes on the Danube Prominade.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A poigiant reminder of human depravity, this time it was the Nazis (German), but later there were the Russian Comunists, ok they did not murder Jews but they murdered Hungarians.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoes on the Danube Bank also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Shoes on the Danube Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing