We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in Hungary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Okuyama No Sushi

Okuyama No Sushi
Ranked #854 of 3,088 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Hungary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

11 of us of 8 nationalities had lunch there today. We easily found the place in the basement and found the simple Japanese decor adequate. We got good, friendly, efficient service from the 1 waitress, and we all agreed that it was the best sushi in Hungary, all freshly made. A favorite was #40.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Idonotcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most authentic suchi place in Hungary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This place (you like it or not) exactly looks like a typical izakaya in Japan. Yes, it is not fancy, it is in the basement (just like in Japan), but who cares if you get the best sashimi on Earth and nicest service ever: close to haven.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treznorottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nah... food itself was good, everything else...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

first of all, this is not very easy to find for us, but eventually we arrived...

first, the NEGATIVE points:
- so, the restaurant itself doesn't look very clean and as some other people said it's placed in a basement...
- the menu is not very elaborate and the pictures are already yellowed.
- the prices are NOT that low!

the POSITIVE points:
- the food itself was totaly fine.
- the waitresses were really nice!

so, it depends on what you are looking for, but in my opinion it was just average.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank majorlee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Abysmal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Upon reviews we have decided to try this restaurant out. What a disappointment! It is situated in a cellar! Dirty dingy ! Imagine 'photos' on the wall are from 2008's (or earlier) calendars (with the calendar part still on it) not framed and fixed to the wall with brown packaging tape! the toilet is right next to the tables - no door - division made by curtains ! don't serve other drinks than tea! the whole place is very small with kids running around everyones tables-now the food part : I highly doubted even the origin of the 'sushi rice' - just normal overboiled cr...p. Very low quality food. After ordering a 'plate' of different fish nigiri it came out with a few nigiri and maki sushi (rice with avocado) upon questioning they just shrugged the shoulder and said that they ran out of the rest! yet still charged the full price - BEWARE - you definetely cannot turn up with some business quests there!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wk1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a charm!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

what a place! it took us 20 mis going around the neighborhood to find the place because it is in a basement!! Literally a basement, that gave me the impression that used to be a warehouse! Minimal and amateur decoration, basic equipment, just a few tables...a restaurant you will surely love because it is a Cinderella! Sushi prepared by the Japanese chef was AMASING! waitress was so nice and attentive. We felt as if we were seating in our home having sushi!
And the prices... well... it was the cheapest sushi I had ever, but perhaps also the best!
Before leaving we signed our names, as all guests do, on the partitions between tables...and had a picture with the friendly chef! do not miss to do that!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank costas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okuyama No Sushi also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Okuyama No Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing