We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lion's Garden Hotel
Ranked #78 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Modern rooms with LED lights and all the necessary equipment you expect from a good hotel. From the 6th floor the view from the terrace is pretty neat, though not spectacular.
The continental breakfast buffet has a very large selection, which can satisfy most everyone and the staff is very helpful and speak English at a level way above average people i Budapest.
I did not try the pool and spa, but it looked great from the road!! ;-)
The only downside is the location, which is a little far from the center of the city, though you can walk the distance if you are able to find a nice place afterward, to rest your feet and enjoy a glass of the very delicious Hungarian wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinTripPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 734 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

For a two-night visit to Budapest, I could not have asked for more. The rooms were very comfortable and the amenities are outstanding. Internet is fast and easy, and the breakfast buffet is expansive. Staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and proficient in English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Room: parquet or laminate floor, big enough, good mattresses, internet for free, lean at the first glance but at second you find dust which should not be; insufficient hangers
Bathroom: somehow not smelling well, could be cleaned better (e.g. sink)
Gym: bike, treadmill, stepper, multifunctional tower, nice pool
Reception: super friendly and helpful staff
Breakfast: variety quite ok but unkindly arranged, unfortunately no wholemeal bread, a bit unclearly structured buffet, tables were empty but not cleaned from breadcrumbs etc from previous guest - room to be improved!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lions Garden hotels was strictly average, however the price they charge is a bit higher than what they offer for. Firstly the hotel is not located in the downtown area, as a result, you need to add 12-15 minutes communicating time back and forth. Secondly, the staffs of the hotel are not nice. We found them somewhat rude, especially those who are serving the breakfast. The breakfast was nice, however. Thirdly the air conditioning in the room was not functioning properly and we had to open the window in the middle of the night to sleep comfortably, which introduced noise which interrupted our sleep quite often. With the price they are charging, you may find a better hotel with service close to the downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shonchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre K, General Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Shonchoy,
thank you for taking your time to help our work with your feedback.
I am glad that you were satisfied with our breakfast which is one of the most important service in a hotel. Regarding my staff I am a bit confused as 90% of my employees have been working in the hotel for several years. I can imagine that the restaurant was packed and they didn't had the time to give you special attention.
You have right the hotel is not in the downtown, but what is there? Budapest is a big city with a lot of attraction all around and our Hotel is next to the Hero square which is one of the most attractive tourist point and visit by all the tourists.
I would like to take the chance to say thank you once more for your review and really hope that we will welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards
Imre Kövér General Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were on a family vacation 15 people for four nights. The hotel was much more than we had hoped.
The rooms were excellent and very well equipped with all necessary.
The indoor pool and spa are very high quality. Delicious food. The Chef of the hotel is very professional and the meals could be served in fine restaurants. We ate every night in the hotel.
Best of all - the hotel's staff : They did everything to make our stay pleasant and to fulfill all our requests.
It was simply superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great hotel, with the increase of my trips to Budapest for business reasons this is becoming my first choice, nice price/quality level, in a quiet area with a nice relaxing facility as pool and gym, nice breakfest and the rooms are more than fine!

the only 2 appointments would be the rooms flooring (laminate in such a nice hotel??), and the location, a bit far from the downtown, but with public transports nearby...

If it keeps the same level, and someday with a flooring improvement, i'll stay there 4 trips a year meaning 7 to 10 nights a year at least...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Lion's Garden Hotel for 8 nights. It was very convenient for the purpose of our visit and within 10 min. by taxi to the downtown Budapest. Breakfast was good, we enjoyed the pool and the sauna. Rooms were clean. There was a strange odor in the corridor. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,551 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#125 of 336 in Budapest
377 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 336 in Budapest
2,351 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Garden Hotel

Address: Chazar Andras utca 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Zugló
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $52 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion's Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Garden Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel in Budapest, with stylish and friendly atmosphere, professional staff, near to all the 'must-see' sights in Budapest, like City Park, Heroes Square, Museum of Fine Arts, Hall of Art, Millenium Memorial, Zoo and the Széchenyi Thermal bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lion's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing