We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay in a good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lion's Garden Hotel
Ranked #77 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Conveniently located hotel in a pleasant district but outside of the main centre of Budapest. Friendly and attentive staff made this excellent value for money hotel worth visiting again when I am visiting the office of our business based in Budapest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Lion's Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 715 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

As I say in the title, it's not in the thick of things, but that makes it quiet and it's only a 5-10min ride on the bus to the main town area - and we only ever waited about 4 mins for a bus. it's also a short walk down the road to the park and Hero's Square. We went in the winter with snow everywhere and all the roads were cleared- even in the snow.

The hotel is beautifully cleaned, beds feel very comfy and clean and the bathroom is modern with a great shower over the bath.

Breakfast is the usual help yourself stuff, not totally to my taste the cooked was ok but have had better - but certainly not the worst. Staff are very helpful and the bar is well stocked. We had a club sandwich when we arrived as we were hungry and we asked to share and they split it in 2 plates - plenty for 2!

I think my only minor complaint was that the bar area was very hot in the evening - but then I don't like heating up high, but that's all I could complain about if I tried - didn't try the spa, my husband didn't tell me there was one so didn't have a swimming costume with me :(

Some great restaurants in town - really recommend treating yourself to Cyrano - wonderful food, beautifully served.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in February 2013 and was pleasantly surprised. The room and it's bath were very clean; there is a nice restaurant and a good breakfast buffet, as well as an outdoor sitting area (not much use in cold, slushy weather, but probably really nice once spring arrives), plus its own spa. Free WiFi. Prices are very fair and the staff is quite helpful. The hotel is not in the center of the tourist area, but is a few blocks from the Geological Survey and only a few blocks further from the Stadium. Public transport options abound, including the door-to-door airport shuttle. I would definitely return if I had business in this part of Budapest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equitraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

All you need is here: very clean, breakfast is delicious, pool and spa is vrey nice, position is close to everything, good price, all recommendations! Friend of mine Borka Kitic a travel manager for Budapest, Wienna and Prague takes tourists there and all of them are very very satisfied!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlucic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arudinszky, Front Office Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your laudative lines!
It is our pleasure to hear that you are satisfied with our services!
Hope to welcome you soon again in Lion's Garden Hotel!

Front Office Manager
Lion's Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The rooms were lovely and very big, the bathroom was massive. Clean and well kept. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Also lovely having a swimming pool and a sauna.

Only downside is the location, it's a bit out of the centre. A good half an hour walk to the river and downtown where most of the restaurants and bars are. 10 mins in a taxi-worth keeping an eye on the taxi drivers. We paid between £5-£15 for the same taxi journey simply because some taxi drivers were fiddling the meter and others werent. The guide book said to watch for this. Near the park though which is nice.

Overall would recommend it though.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natrat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arudinszky, Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback!
The guests satisfied response is the trophy of our work, that we did well!

Hope to host you and your friends soon again in our hotel!

Kind regards from Budapest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

Good points

• Room is clean
• stayed on 6th floor which has a balcony
• location was great for the city
• helpful staff
• bus top for city centre just outside
• food is OK
• heroes square nearby
• free WiFi

Bad points

• small room
• only shower in bathroom
• no tea or coffee making facilities

Room Tip: Get a room on the 6 the floor with a view towards Buds.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_gadget_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arudinszky, Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, for the good and bad points also!
All response are wellcome to keep the standard of services and do that even better!
The rooms on the top floor have balcony, but the rooms are smaller than the others due to balcony, so the bathrooms have shower not bath tub!

Hope to host you again soon!

Kind regard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at the Lion's Garden Hotel for a city break in Budapest. A great, 4* hotel - albeit quite a walk from the city centre, I definitely recommend getting buses into town! The rooms were spacious and cleaned to a high standard, and the staff very friendly and answered all of our annoying questions. The breakfast was mixed - the continental side was enjoyable, however the quality of the hot food could have been improved. Coffee machines were broken, and there were missing items, such as milk. However, as this was included within the hotel price, we could not complain. The hotel stay included use of the spa facilities, which we didn't have a chance to enjoy but wished we had. Overall, a good stay and we would definitely use the LGH again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayymanduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#115 of 332 in Budapest
1,355 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#126 of 332 in Budapest
355 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 332 in Budapest
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 332 in Budapest
4,373 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#23 of 332 in Budapest
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Garden Hotel

Address: Chazar Andras utca 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $57 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion's Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Garden Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel in Budapest, with stylish and friendly atmosphere, professional staff, near to all the 'must-see' sights in Budapest, like City Park, Heroes Square, Museum of Fine Arts, Hall of Art, Millenium Memorial, Zoo and the Széchenyi Thermal bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lion's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing