We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
274
365
118
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
365
118
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelspa area isswimming poolheroes squarebus stopkeleti stationbusiness triphot and cold foodquiet areanice roomcomfortable roomsnice breakfasthotel is situatedpublic transporthotel stafffour nights
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 798 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was staying in this hotel during a business trip to Budapest last month and I had a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated next to Budapest city park so it is basically a 10 min walk to the Hero Square, the Museum of fine arts or a stroll in the park itself. The surrounding area is quiet as it is a bit laid back from the center although still very close. The service was ok, meals in the restaurant good, conf. room where we had our meetings was bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batakoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is a bit out of town but is good value and very comfortable, within walking distance of City Park one way or the main station the other way where you can get the tube or tram into town no problem. The food is fine, a good breakfast is included and if you want an evening meal its very reasonably priced and nicely served. Yes, the spa facilities didn't look up to much but to be fair we didn't have time to use them, we were too busy exploring the wonderful city of Budapest. Wish we had more time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueallenKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in March 2012 and had a really good stay. The staff were friendly, the room was excellent and the restaurant served great food. I thoroughly recommend Lion's Garden

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumBob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

quite well situated hotel, easy to hop on hop off buses round corner at Heroes square.
Room was comfortable , however a bath would have been preferred after long days sightseeing.
When booking this hotel it was listed as full spa facilities etc , on arrival were told its an extra €5 per person to use the spa which is not stated on any of their advertising.
After a fraught exchange with reception they agreed it was misleading and the fee was waived, however on using the spa, the infra red sauna was out of service, the other sauna was switched off, the pool was far too cold to use at easter and the jacuzzi supoosedly was 34 degrees, it was freezing cold.
The elevators advertised cocktail happy hour between 6pm-8pm daily, we decided to take this up one evening but the bar staff denied any knowledge of offer until dragged to lift to show them the public signs.
day bar staff were serving half cups coffee, giving wrong change etc and very very rude, avoided this area after first day.

Room Tip: good location if you just want a place to sleep, but the spa is misleading and no where near luxury you'd expect from there glossy pictures.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arudinszky, Front Office Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Madam.

We are very happy that you were satisfied with our rooms, cleanliness and with sleep quality. We are also greatful for your feedback about coffee. We have changed the company who provide us the coffee machine. We checked the the temperature of the water and we were realized that the thermostat was broken so we fixed it. We hope despite all of this you had a wonderful time in Budapest and next time you will give us another chance.

Mr. András Hódi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hotel is in quiet area close to City Park and Hero Square, well connected to City Centre by bus and metro. Hotel is new, well managed with garage and free internet in rooms. Rooms are spacious well equiped. Room service and cleaning is good, sometimes have problem with communication.
Breaqfast served is modest and always something missing, and if one will ask for staff will not be so happy, coffe is one of the worst served in hotels I ever tasted, so forget about.

Room Tip: Bring your coffe and ask for tee and coffe set to help your self with
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikimiki70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews